The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2014, 07:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
A1 has the ball for a throw-in and is guarded by B1. A1 looses his/her balance. Leans forwards and places his/her hand through the boundary plane and places the hand on B1 to stop from falling and recover his/her balance.
Intentional foul on B1 for making contact with a thrower.

I'm kidding.

I'm going to call a throw in violation on A1.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2014, 08:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
Intentional foul on B1 for making contact with a thrower.

I'm kidding.

I'm going to call a throw in violation on A1.
What is the violation? I can't think of one unless they actually touch the floor inbounds.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2014, 11:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
What is the violation? I can't think of one unless they actually touch the floor inbounds.
I'm thinking.

I think you're right. I would probably have called the violation and then realized it should have been nothing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 09, 2014, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
What is the violation? I can't think of one unless they actually touch the floor inbounds.
Check the note on rule 9-3: The thrower may penetrate the plane aslong as they do not touch the inbounds area or a player inbounds before the ball is released.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2014, 02:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich1 View Post
Check the note on rule 9-3: The thrower may penetrate the plane aslong as they do not touch the inbounds area or a player inbounds before the ball is released.
Interesting. Sort of makes sense if it is a teammate. However, if it is an opponent as is the case in the OP, that will make for an interesting delima since it is also an intentional foul on the inbounds player for contacting the thrower according to 9-3-10 Penalty 4.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2014, 08:36am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Interesting. Sort of makes sense if it is a teammate. However, if it is an opponent as is the case in the OP, that will make for an interesting delima since it is also an intentional foul on the inbounds player for contacting the thrower according to 9-3-10 Penalty 4.
The inbounds player didn't contact the thrower-in, he is standing there motionless with his back turned.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2014, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The inbounds player didn't contact the thrower-in, he is standing there motionless with his back turned.
Quote:
Originally Posted by asdf View Post
Why would you penalize the opponent for contact initiated by the thrower?

If they didn't contact the thrower, then this discussion is moot there is nothing to call either way.

The rule doesn't say cause contact, just that they contact. It don't matter who causes it, they make contact. It is a poorly written rule/interpretation that should have never been written. It simply should not be an intentional foul at all for in inbounds player to contact the thrower, either passively or actively, when the thrower reaches through the plane....but the rule says otherwise. It says if there is contact between the two, it is an intentional personal foul on the defender.

As Nevada said, there has been some very poor rule writing in recent years.

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Jan 10, 2014 at 02:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2014, 03:51pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,950
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
If they didn't contact the thrower, then this discussion is moot there is nothing to call either way.

The rule doesn't say cause contact, just that they contact. It don't matter who causes it, they make contact. It is a poorly written rule/interpretation that should have never been written. It simply should not be an intentional foul at all for in inbounds player to contact the thrower, either passively or actively, when the thrower reaches through the plane....but the rule says otherwise. It says if there is contact between the two, it is an intentional personal foul on the defender.

As Nevada said, there has been some very poor rule writing in recent years.
It says "opponent contacts", meaning the opponent is performing the action. There is no intepretation or case play that say if the offensive players reaches through the plane and makes contact with the defender, that an intentional is to be called on the defensive player.

That how you've chosen to interpret the rule.

(And the rule is 9-2-10, not 9-3-10)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Fri Jan 10, 2014 at 07:26pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2014, 09:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 751
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Interesting. Sort of makes sense if it is a teammate. However, if it is an opponent as is the case in the OP, that will make for an interesting delima since it is also an intentional foul on the inbounds player for contacting the thrower according to 9-3-10 Penalty 4.
Why would you penalize the opponent for contact initiated by the thrower?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 10, 2014, 09:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Zoochy has a history of crafty posting. He is an experienced official who is very knowledgable of the rules, and almost never asks a question to which he doesn't already know the answer. I strongly suspect that he noticed the added language in the rules book and is pointing it out to those on this forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Out of Bounds Throw-In Spot JohnDorian37 Basketball 8 Sun Nov 28, 2010 08:58pm
out of bounds throw in?? kkwil Basketball 2 Mon Dec 08, 2008 12:17pm
Out of Bounds Throw in force39 Basketball 1 Wed Apr 10, 2002 12:13am
Throw-in To Out-of-Bounds Opponent Wondering Basketball 1 Wed Feb 14, 2001 08:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1