![]() |
Video request Ohio State/Purdue
11:20 second half. Block/Charge.
No possible way this is a block. |
<iframe src='http://www.snappytv.com/snap/pur2_dc9t1v?w=640&h=390' width='640' height='390' frameborder='0' scrolling='no' webkitAllowFullScreen mozallowfullscreen allowFullScreen></iframe>
|
Stupid new rule making refs default clear charges to a block. The upward motion in this play doesn't even occur until after contact!!
Charge or nothing. |
If anyone has a good explanation for why this is a block, I'd love to read it. I can't see it.
|
CHARGE!!
MTD, Sr. |
The only – and I mean only – thing I can think of is the L saw P #5’s right foot move just before contact and thought P #5 hadn’t obtained LGP before O #10 began his upward shooting motion. Of course, that would mean the L was watching the ball as it came to him as opposed to watching P #5 but that’s all I’ve got.
|
Not a block in any ruleset in any game.
|
I've got a block.
JK. |
Quote:
They aren't JK. |
No way is this a block.
These guys had a rough couple of minutes. Right before this OSU player (#3) stole ball then lost it around midcourt. Purdue player started after loose ball and basically was hugged by guard (#3) that had lost the ball to start. Foul called on Purdue player. |
Adam's not kidding.
On a rather large Facebook group we're both part of, there is a sizable contingent saying this is a block. I just can't imagine how. Let's just call this the missed call it is and move on. |
This is why it is called judgment. We all do not share the same level of judgment. I think this is clearly a PC foul based on any rules set. But I am not getting paid what the guy was that made this call.
Peace |
Quote:
|
During the many years I've officiated, I've had many discussions with those who read 4-7-2 b - "If contact occurs on the torso of the defensive player, the dribbler is responsible for the contact." who insert "on the front of the torso" and even more narrowly, "in the center of the front of the torso" into their play-calling on such a block/charge call.
Such narrow interpretation seems to disregard the immediately preceeding sentence stating "If a guard has obtained a legal guarding position, the player with the ball must get his/her head and shoulders past the torso of the defensive player." This call seems to fit with that perception. That said, I see this play as unquestionably a charge. |
Quote:
Peace |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14pm. |