The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Mavericks-Timberwolves Final Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96903-mavericks-timberwolves-final-play.html)

APG Tue Dec 31, 2013 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 916425)
I'm not even sure why that's the rule -- cause people want a foul called even if it's just the hand hit. I wouldn't be surprised if the NBA watched the slo-mo, saw the hand hit, and said "that was a foul."

I highly doubt that.

What we need to realize is the NBA league office is privy to many more camera angles than we we're fortunate to see from the TV crews.

OKREF Tue Dec 31, 2013 03:00pm

Marion does hit the ball/hand. Is the contact on the arm after the ball is gone or not. Hard to tell.

jeremy341a Tue Dec 31, 2013 05:39pm

I think the passed not because they ruled he only struck the hand but due to the fact they were both straight lined. IMO the T can't see through Marion and the L can't see because the contact was on the other side of the ball.

Adam Tue Dec 31, 2013 06:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 916452)
I think the passed not because they ruled he only struck the hand but due to the fact they were both straight lined. IMO the T can't see through Marion and the L can't see because the contact was on the other side of the ball.

If the contact on the ball is blocked by the ball, that's a good indication that it's legal contact, IMO.

Ref16 Tue Dec 31, 2013 06:19pm

Judging by the camera angles we were provided, I have no issue with a no-call here....I see nothing that would warrant the whistle, however I would be interested to see if a similiar play earlier in the game was also a no call, or if a foul was called.

Raymond Tue Dec 31, 2013 09:03pm

I'm watching the video in HD quality. At the 0:43 mark Marion's hand is actually on the ball.

jeremy341a Tue Dec 31, 2013 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 916460)
If the contact on the ball is blocked by the ball, that's a good indication that it's legal contact, IMO.

I'm saying the contact on Love's hand and/or arm is on the right side of the ball. Looks like the ball itself is blocking the L's view.

IMO after seeing the replay I think the contact was with the hand.

Adam Tue Dec 31, 2013 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeremy341a (Post 916482)
I'm saying the contact on Love's hand and/or arm is on the right side of the ball. Looks like the ball itself is blocking the L's view.

IMO after seeing the replay I think the contact was with the hand.

Fair enough. My point was that if the ball is in the way here, the contact is likely on the hand or the ball, and thus legal.

I agree with BNR on this, though, I thought the initial contact was actually on the ball. Regardless, I think a no-call is correct here.

That said, if the hiring/assigning body wants this called due to the follow-through contact on the arm, then it should be called in their games.

jeremy341a Tue Dec 31, 2013 09:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 916483)
Fair enough. My point was that if the ball is in the way here, the contact is likely on the hand or the ball, and thus legal.

I agree with BNR on this, though, I thought the initial contact was actually on the ball. Regardless, I think a no-call is correct here.

That said, if the hiring/assigning body wants this called due to the follow-through contact on the arm, then it should be called in their games.

I agree to all points.

AremRed Tue Dec 31, 2013 09:47pm

Minnesota Timberwolves radio call

<iframe width="100%" height="166" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/127270999&color=ff6600&show_artwork=false"></iframe>

Raymond Tue Dec 31, 2013 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 916487)
Minnesota Timberwolves radio call

<iframe width="100%" height="166" scrolling="no" frameborder="no" src="https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/127270999&color=ff6600&show_artwork=false"></iframe>

It's funny that radio guys think the officials are horrible for not seeing a foul, but the radio guys didn't even see that Malloy was standing right there until they saw a replay.

Their eyes are not good enough to see a 6'7" official standing next to Love in real time.

AremRed Wed Jan 01, 2014 02:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 916491)
Their eyes are not good enough to see a 6'7" official standing next to Love in real time.

I love 0:45. D'OH ED MALLOY!!!!!!!

walt Thu Jan 02, 2014 01:14pm

From the angles we have to look at, the Trail appears to be straight lined. I have no issue with the no call from the Trail. As for the Lead, I cannot see his head angle/sight line so I have no idea whether he was even looking at the play or was looking off the play. He shifts out but looks like he is blocked from seeing the side of the play where any alleged foul would have occurred. I know it is a last second play but they all have areas of coverage. Based on what we have seen, I am good with a no call here. Sight angles are critical as we all know.

MD Longhorn Thu Jan 02, 2014 01:14pm

I see no foul.

BryanV21 Fri Jan 03, 2014 12:32am

What I can't stand, and you see/hear it in all sports, is when announcers don't know the rule and "go off" like the official is an idiot.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1