The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 02:35am
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Since all others have already correctly informed you that a throw-in by Team A is the proper way to resume the game, I will only add an additional bit of reasoning in the hope that it will help clarify for you how to administer this situation.
Under NFHS rules the POI rule is a 3-step process, you will note that the rules are labelled a, b, and c. You need to start with part a and proceed onward to part c, stopping once you reach the part which fits your situation.

In your case, no team had control when the DTF occurred as the ball was already dead due to the whistle in recognition of the time-out request, so part a doesn't apply. Moving on to part b we realize that a team is entitled to an ensuing throw-in so the text of part b fits and tells us our POI. Since we never reach part c, the AP arrow doesn't become an option in this situation.

Nevada:

I skipped A2a because it does not apply to this play.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 03:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Nevada:

I skipped A2a because it does not apply to this play.

MTD, Sr.
As you should have done, but then after reading A2b you should have ceased your analysis and not continued on to A2c, because A2b DOES apply. So that's it--Stop right there--You have your answer.

I don't know if during your thought process you were conscious that you were progressing through a list and properly passing through A2a or just did it automatically. My post was intended to help you realize the stepwise process logically and clearly, so that you would then be able to easily determine the correct POI application for not only the play at hand, but any future situation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 31, 2013, 11:06am
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
A ball after the time out. No possession arrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1