The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FT Simultaneous Violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96710-ft-simultaneous-violation.html)

onetime1 Fri Dec 06, 2013 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913101)
Team A shooting 2 shots. When the ball is bounced to the FT shooter lane space 1 and 2 simultaneously switch spots before the shot is taken. Whistle is immediately blown to identify the violation. What happens next?

The players in lane space 1 and 2 were lined up correctly. Then they switched simultaneously as the ball was being bounced to the shooter for a 2 shot FT sequence as the first of two shots was about to be executed.

Raymond Fri Dec 06, 2013 10:33pm

Ball not yet at disposal when noticed, kill it and fix it.

Sharpshooternes Sat Dec 07, 2013 01:19am

Had this happen tonight. Two players lined up backwards on the same side. Partner and players caught it before we administered.

onetime1 Sun Dec 08, 2013 05:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913242)
The players in lane space 1 and 2 were lined up correctly. Then they switched simultaneously as the ball was being bounced to the shooter for a 2 shot FT sequence as the first of two shots was about to be executed.

Ball was at disposal of FT Shooter. It was about to hit the floor on the bounce of the pass by the lead official.

Camron Rust Sun Dec 08, 2013 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913371)
Ball was at disposal of FT Shooter. It was about to hit the floor on the bounce of the pass by the lead official.

If your second statement is accurate, then your first statement isn't.

It is not at the disposal until the shooter catches the ball (or the ball is placed on the floor for the shooter who isn't there). Until it is, the ball is still dead before the FT and then there can be no violation.

Rich Sun Dec 08, 2013 07:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913371)
Ball was at disposal of FT Shooter. It was about to hit the floor on the bounce of the pass by the lead official.

Like Cameron said...you probably need to brush up on your definition on "at the disposal of"...

bob jenkins Sun Dec 08, 2013 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich (Post 913377)
Like Cameron said...you probably need to brush up on your definition on "at the disposal of"...

Definitions are your friend.

Raymond Sun Dec 08, 2013 08:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 913244)
Ball not yet at disposal when noticed, kill it and fix it.

Yeah, what I said Friday.

onetime1 Sun Dec 08, 2013 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913371)
Ball was at disposal of FT Shooter. It was about to hit the floor on the bounce of the pass by the lead official.

Ok so forget the word disposal. Ball was on the way up to be caught by the free throw shooter when the two players simultaneously switched. How much of a fraction of a second does that give me to "kill" the play? I still don't know how the situation should have been handled correctly.

APG Sun Dec 08, 2013 11:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913391)
Ok so forget the word disposal. Ball was on the way up to be caught by the free throw shooter when the two players simultaneously switched. How much of a fraction of a second does that give me to "kill" the play? I still don't know how the situation should have been handled correctly.

If you're looking for the answer by rule, look at post 9 which is the case book play

Raymond Mon Dec 09, 2013 12:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913391)
Ok so forget the word disposal. Ball was on the way up to be caught by the free throw shooter when the two players simultaneously switched. How much of a fraction of a second does that give me to "kill" the play? I still don't know how the situation should have been handled correctly.

If you notice it before the ball is at A1's disposal, then hit your whistle, get the ball back, then re-administer the free throw.

Adam Mon Dec 09, 2013 01:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913391)
Ok so forget the word disposal. Ball was on the way up to be caught by the free throw shooter when the two players simultaneously switched. How much of a fraction of a second does that give me to "kill" the play? I still don't know how the situation should have been handled correctly.

Frankly, if it's happening as the shooter is catching the ball from the official, I'm killing it to restart. I'm going to lean towards avoiding the violation here if I can. If, however, the defender initiated the entire thing, I'll just call the defensive violation (as Camron notes previously) and move on with the delayed defensive violation.

bob jenkins Mon Dec 09, 2013 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 913391)
Ok so forget the word disposal. Ball was on the way up to be caught by the free throw shooter when the two players simultaneously switched. How much of a fraction of a second does that give me to "kill" the play? I still don't know how the situation should have been handled correctly.

When in doubt whether it happened before or after the ball was at the disposal, it happened before. Blow the whistle even if the whistle is after the ball was caught.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1