The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team control, throw-in, IW (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96628-team-control-throw-iw.html)

billyu2 Tue Nov 26, 2013 08:05pm

Not sure
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 911989)
Still doesn't matter. Even in the throw-in had ended, you'd still give the ball to A (although the spot might now be different from the original spot). A still has team control.

I'm not sure I understand. Doesn't team control only apply if there is a foul by the throw-in team? My thinking is if the IW occurred after the throw-in hit the bottom edge and before the ball was legally touched then the POI would be a throw-in for Team A not on the basis of team control; but as tjones suggested: the throw-in had not ended. Now, if the ball hits the bottom edge > touches or is touched by a player (throw-in ends) > the IW occurs, POI > go to the AP? Similar to if an IW whistle occurs when a try is in flight > the try is unsuccessful (the try ends) > go to the AP. Help on this would be appreciated.

Adam Tue Nov 26, 2013 08:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 912068)
I'm not sure I understand. Doesn't team control only apply if there is a foul by the throw-in team? My thinking is if the IW occurred after the throw-in hit the bottom edge and before the ball was legally touched then the POI would be a throw-in for Team A not on the basis of team control; but as tjones suggested: the throw-in had not ended. Now, if the ball hits the bottom edge > touches or is touched by a player (throw-in ends) > the IW occurs, POI > go to the AP? Similar to if an IW whistle occurs when a try is in flight > the try is unsuccessful (the try ends) > go to the AP. Help on this would be appreciated.

Honestly, this is a good point. Any speculation on how the NFHS would rule would be, frankly, like rolling dice.

bob jenkins Tue Nov 26, 2013 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 912068)
I'm not sure I understand. Doesn't team control only apply if there is a foul by the throw-in team?

No.

Quote:

Similar to if an IW whistle occurs when a try is in flight > the try is unsuccessful (the try ends) > go to the AP. Help on this would be appreciated.
TC does end when a try is in flight.

See 4-12-3

Rich Wed Nov 27, 2013 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 912069)
Honestly, this is a good point. Any speculation on how the NFHS would rule would be, frankly, like rolling dice.

I agree and some really good officials I know have argued the other side.

Absent written instructions, though, we only have the team control rules to go by.

zm1283 Wed Nov 27, 2013 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 912066)
No way I'm coming in to get this from T, regardless of what I saw. (unless it went straight back)

To be honest, that's why I posted the situation in the first place and it was the same thing I was thinking as he came in and called it. I wish he would have left it alone.

It didn't go straight back, it might have gone at a slight angle toward the endline, but not much. I'm pretty sure it hit the corner of the padding on the bottom of the backboard.

bob jenkins Wed Nov 27, 2013 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 912137)
To be honest, that's why I posted the situation in the first place and it was the same thing I was thinking as he came in and called it. I wish he would have left it alone.

It didn't go straight back, it might have gone at a slight angle toward the endline, but not much. I'm pretty sure it hit the corner of the padding on the bottom of the backboard.

Doesn't matter

Matters

I'm sure it did. If it hit only the back, it would have rebounded straight back (and probably "up" as well, initially.) If it hit only the bottom it would have rebounded farther onto the court. The rule doesn't tell us specifically what to do if it hits the corner -- so most of us use the rule I've outlined above -- if it goes back at all it hit "enough" of the back to be a violation.

imo, of course -- and I agree that it's hard to get from T.

Sharpshooternes Thu Nov 28, 2013 12:56am

AP posession
 
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?

AremRed Thu Nov 28, 2013 01:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 912160)
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?

Your title....alternating possession possession?

Adam Thu Nov 28, 2013 01:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 912160)
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?

In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.

OKREF Thu Nov 28, 2013 01:23am

Team control only exists during a throw in for the purposes of administrating a foul, even though this is a poorly worded rule. If the throw in hits the back of the backboard. Team B gets the ball. If this is on an AP throw in, won't the arrow switch, team A looses the arrow because of a violation?

OKREF Thu Nov 28, 2013 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 912164)
In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.

Yes

Camron Rust Thu Nov 28, 2013 02:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 912166)
Team control only exists during a throw in for the purposes of administrating a foul, even though this is a poorly worded rule. If the throw in hits the back of the backboard. Team B gets the ball. If this is on an AP throw in, won't the arrow switch, team A looses the arrow because of a violation?

Correct. Throwin violation on A for not throwing it directly onto the court before going OOB.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 28, 2013 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 912160)
Let me just add one more dynamic to this. A has AP throwin, it hits the bottom of the backboard and IW before it is touched. Does A retain the arrow or does it switch?

When does the arrow switch? 6-4-4 and 4-42-5

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 912166)
Team control only exists during a throw in for the purposes of administrating a foul, even though this is a poorly worded rule. If the throw in hits the back of the backboard. Team B gets the ball. If this is on an AP throw in, won't the arrow switch, team A looses the arrow because of a violation?

I'm not sure I agree. Do you have a reference? (It's a convenient "shortcut" to remembering the most usual situations, but I don't think it's universal.)

This part is correct. Same references as above, plus 6-4-5

Raymond Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 912164)
In this case, POI is the AP throw in, so the AP arrow would switch after the second throw in is completed.

Question:

AP throw-in; B2 deflects throw-in; ball hits bottom of backboard; inadvertent whistle.

How do we handle this situation?

AP throw-in has ended, so AP arrow changes immediately. But do we still have TC by A, or does TC not apply to throw-in outside of fouls?

BigT Thu Nov 28, 2013 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 912185)
Question:

AP throw-in; B2 deflects throw-in; ball hits bottom of backboard; inadvertent whistle.

How do handle this situation?

AP throw-in has ended, so AP arrow changes immediately. But do we still have TC by A, or does TC not apply to throw-in outside of fouls.

Now I know why you call yourself BadNews...LOL


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:20pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1