The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Vid request-Uconn BC First half 1:55 (Clip Added) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96600-vid-request-uconn-bc-first-half-1-55-clip-added.html)

fullor30 Fri Nov 22, 2013 03:08pm

Oh my.....

JRutledge Fri Nov 22, 2013 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 911682)
And yet you still get it wrong.

Oh, based on whom? You? Since when did I work a single game for you?

Thanks for that laugh on that one.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Nov 22, 2013 03:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 911684)
Oh, based on whom? You? Since when did I work a single game for you?

Thanks for that laugh on that one.

Peace

Every single person in this thread except you.

If I were assigning, I probably wouldn't use officials who make up stuff to justify incorrect calls so you would never be working for me.

rockyroad Fri Nov 22, 2013 03:54pm

It is because of blown calls like this one, and the refusal of officials such as Mr. Rutledge to make a call on plays like this one, that we have such strong directives coming down from the NCAA.

And of course, none of us have ever worked anything even remotely close to the level of ball that takes place in that one certain area of the country where things are done in the only correct way.

Oh well.

zm1283 Fri Nov 22, 2013 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 911684)
Oh, based on whom? You? Since when did I work a single game for you?

Thanks for that laugh on that one.

Peace

Since when do we need to be one of your assignors to tell you that you're wrong?

johnny d Fri Nov 22, 2013 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 911699)
It is because of blown calls like this one, and the refusal of officials such as Mr. Rutledge to make a call on plays like this one, that we have such strong directives coming down from the NCAA.

I am just curious as to how you think a call (correct or incorrect) or non-call on this type of play is in any way remotely related to the "strong" directives coming from the NCAA on the men's side? Perhaps the NCAA-W directives are different (I wouldn't know), but this type of play has nothing to do with the directives on the men's side. Your statement above is pure hyperbole.

JRutledge Fri Nov 22, 2013 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 911702)
Since when do we need to be one of your assignors to tell you that you're wrong?

You can tell me whatever you want to tell me. But since I do not work for you or you are not a supervisor or camp director I am trying to work for, what your opinion is on the matter is really irrelevant. I gave my opinion on what I saw on the play. You gave your opinion on what you saw on the play and the official in question did not call what you suggest I am so wrong about. The official called a "block" against the defender. He did not call a push off PC foul. Now what are you going to do, tell him he cannot work anymore?

Peace

JRutledge Fri Nov 22, 2013 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 911705)
I am just curious as to how you think a call (correct or incorrect) or non-call on this type of play is in any way remotely related to the "strong" directives coming from the NCAA on the men's side? Perhaps the NCAA-W directives are different (I wouldn't know), but this type of play has nothing to do with the directives on the men's side. Your statement above is pure hyperbole.

He doesn't know because he does not work Men's College ball. And if anything if this was about the directives from the NCAA Men's side, this was properly called. After all there was contact with a dribbler and you could make a case that the contact was illegal on the defender's part based on the "Freedom of Movement" philosophy. But I do not think RSBQ was affected by the defender and why I think at most this is a no-call.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Nov 22, 2013 05:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 911708)
He doesn't know because he does not work Men's College ball. And if anything if this was about the directives from the NCAA Men's side, this was properly called. After all there was contact with a dribbler and you could make a case that the contact was illegal on the defender's part based on the "Freedom of Movement" philosophy. But I do not think RSBQ was affected by the defender and why I think at most this is a no-call.

Peace

If your understanding of the directives and freedom of movement expressed here were on target the defenders in your game might as well just wait on their end of the court for the other team to take an open layup.

JRutledge Fri Nov 22, 2013 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 911689)
Every single person in this thread except you.

If I were assigning, I probably wouldn't use officials who make up stuff to justify incorrect calls so you would never be working for me.

It is obvious to me based on your comments, you are not in an area that really breaks down plays. We break down plays here. This kind of play is talked about in detail and if the defender did anything wrong and if the arm was illegal. And I am confident that a lot of people would have had different opinions as to the level of contact and advantage. And that is why I used the football example because in PI plays, there is a lot of debate of when or if contact influenced the play and a foul should be called. And in those videos there are situations where officials have been accused of being "too technical" in their calling such fouls. Sorry, you do not understand that fact or even want to discuss. I never said you were wrong, I just said that I do not think the arm was the result of the contact being illegal. Oh well.

Peace

JRutledge Fri Nov 22, 2013 05:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 911709)
If your understanding of the directives and freedom of movement expressed here were on target the defenders in your game might as well just wait on their end of the court for the other team to take an open layup.

In our staff meeting one one ever talked about off hands of the dribbler. But that being said, I have called many fouls with the off hand of the dribbler in my career and I can think of just last year being something I called multiple times. Unless you can remind me of one, I do not recall a single play in the video showing such a call where the dribbler should be called for a play like this one referenced. And I have watched the video about 3 times and the freedom of movement stuff is also not new to this year. This stuff has been in place ever since John Adams took over as the Supervisor of the NCAA. And he in some ways has been preaching this stuff before he got in that post and I went to his camps on about 3 different occasions. Maybe you know better than everyone, but I would like the reference to the video. I will look at the video again, but I doubt I will see this play or kind of play referenced as a foul on the dribbler.

Peace

rockyroad Fri Nov 22, 2013 05:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 911705)
I am just curious as to how you think a call (correct or incorrect) or non-call on this type of play is in any way remotely related to the "strong" directives coming from the NCAA on the men's side? Perhaps the NCAA-W directives are different (I wouldn't know), but this type of play has nothing to do with the directives on the men's side. Your statement above is pure hyperbole.

Contact on/by the ball handler is not one of the directives from the NCAA???

JRutledge Fri Nov 22, 2013 05:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 911713)
Contact on/by the ball handler is not one of the directives from the NCAA???

Show us where this play is in the video? Or show the reference in the rulebook to this kind of action. You say it is there, well I am from Missouri. ;)

Peace

Sharpshooternes Fri Nov 22, 2013 05:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 911709)
If your understanding of the directives and freedom of movement expressed here were on target the defenders in your game might as well just wait on their end of the court for the other team to take an open layup.

I'll second this motion.

Sharpshooternes Fri Nov 22, 2013 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 911712)
In our staff meeting one one ever talked about off hands of the dribbler. But that being said, I have called many fouls with the off hand of the dribbler in my career and I can think of just last year being something I called multiple times. Unless you can remind me of one, I do not recall a single play in the video showing such a call where the dribbler should be called for a play like this one referenced. And I have watched the video about 3 times and the freedom of movement stuff is also not new to this year. This stuff has been in place ever since John Adams took over as the Supervisor of the NCAA. And he in some ways has been preaching this stuff before he got in that post and I went to his camps on about 3 different occasions. Maybe you know better than everyone, but I would like the reference to the video. I will look at the video again, but I doubt I will see this play or kind of play referenced as a foul on the dribbler.

Peace

Jrut, what did the defender do wrong?
He didn't move into the ball handler. He didn't touch the ball handler with either hand. He moved laterally to maintain position. The ball handler never got head or shoulders or anything beyond the defender. If you want to no call this, I could buy into that as there was potentially no advantage gained, but I just can't see a foul on the defender. IMO, this is exactly what the directives are to encourage, actual defense by moving the feet and staying in front without using the hands all of the time. At least answer what the defender did to deserve a foul call. Thanks.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1