The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   VID Request duke vs Kansas (Video added) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96540-vid-request-duke-vs-kansas-video-added.html)

maroonx Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:44am

VID Request duke vs Kansas (Video added)
 
4:39 1st half
Jabari Parker travel not called. It was clearly not landing on 2 feet after jumping off one foot.

JetMetFan Wed Nov 13, 2013 03:28pm

Here's the play...

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/lmcyE_KsrEo?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

maroonx Wed Nov 13, 2013 03:36pm

Preciate it

I see a travel.

just another ref Wed Nov 13, 2013 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 910652)
Preciate it

I see a travel.

Get used to it.

Raymond Wed Nov 13, 2013 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 910652)
Preciate it

I see a travel.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 910658)
Get used to it.

Yep, b/c you'll see travels get missed at any level you are observing.

maroonx Wed Nov 13, 2013 04:35pm

Yes they are missed but this one was. Ugh!!!! If there was a foul after the player violated, coach has reason to complain.

SWMOzebra Wed Nov 13, 2013 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 910665)
coach has reason to complain.

I have yet to meet a coach who actually waited until he had a reason to complain to start complaining. :)

maroonx Wed Nov 13, 2013 07:00pm

I know thats right.

ballgame99 Thu Nov 14, 2013 11:02am

Looks legal. Gather occurs after he leaves the floor, so he is allowed a pivot foot when he lands.

johnny d Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 910743)
Looks legal. Gather occurs after he leaves the floor, so he is allowed a pivot foot when he lands.

you must be watching a different video. :eek:

Camron Rust Thu Nov 14, 2013 12:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 910743)
Looks legal. Gather occurs after he leaves the floor, so he is allowed a pivot foot when he lands.

Really????

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 910758)
you must be watching a different video. :eek:

Agree.

It always baffles me that people try to apply a definition that doesn't exist. There is no such thing as "gather". All you have to know is when did the dribble end? And that is when he got his hand under the ball and caught it. If he had put the ball back down at that point, it would have been a carry (which is just a variation of a travel). There is no such concept like in football that requires that a player bring it into their body or any such thing before it can be considered caught.

ballgame99 Thu Nov 14, 2013 01:38pm

Hey I'm not a fan of poorly executed jump stops and think way to many of them are allowed to be no-called, but this one it is not clear when his dribble ends. He does a hard dribble down and then jumps off one foot. Somewhere in there his dribble ends. I can't tell when that is. If his dribble ends when he has already left the ground he is allowed to have a pivot foot when he returns to the floor, which is what he does.

I certainly wouldn't argue if this was called a travel because it is very bang/bang, but I'm not going to argue when it gets no called either.

johnny d Thu Nov 14, 2013 02:22pm

Then we will have to disagree about how close or hard it is to look at this replay and decide when his dribble ended.

As for the crew viewing this play in real time. I think the official that will be the lead has a good look at when he ended his dribble. After that, his look isn't so good. He has 1 other duke player and 3 Kansas players in his way. Probably happened because he was getting beat on the play and was more worried about missing a foul than a travel. By continuing to try to get to the end line, he put himself in a worse position.

I actually think the C has a good look at this play and is in the best position to call the travel.

Adam Thu Nov 14, 2013 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 910765)
Really????



Agree.

It always baffles me that people try to apply a definition that doesn't exist. There is no such thing as "gather". All you have to know is when did the dribble end? And that is when he got his hand under the ball and caught it. If he had put the ball back down at that point, it would have been a carry (which is just a variation of a travel). There is no such concept like in football that requires that a player bring it into their body or any such thing before it can be considered caught.

The dribble ending does not necessarily mean he's holding the ball. Normally, they're at the same time, and I think they are on this video, but it's not always the case.

Edit: I was answering to the wrong video. After watching this video, I can't tell when he actually starts holding the ball. I don't think he starts holding it until he's in the air, as it looks like he bumps it into the air while trying to grab it, but doesn't actually grab it immediately.

Either way, since I can't tell, I wouldn't make this call.

JRutledge Thu Nov 14, 2013 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 910771)
Hey I'm not a fan of poorly executed jump stops and think way to many of them are allowed to be no-called, but this one it is not clear when his dribble ends. He does a hard dribble down and then jumps off one foot. Somewhere in there his dribble ends. I can't tell when that is. If his dribble ends when he has already left the ground he is allowed to have a pivot foot when he returns to the floor, which is what he does.

I certainly wouldn't argue if this was called a travel because it is very bang/bang, but I'm not going to argue when it gets no called either.

This is my take. I think he ends the dribble in the air. It is not about the last foot that was on the ground that only matters, it is when they dribble stops and that occurs when he grabs the ball. And it is not obvious, it is not a violation. I am always going to give a player the benefit of the doubt. In a real game we cannot slow it down and see when the exact moment something happens all the time. And when you might not have the angle it makes it harder.

Peace

Camron Rust Thu Nov 14, 2013 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 910776)
The dribble ending does not necessarily mean he's holding the ball. Normally, they're at the same time, and I think they are on this video, but it's not always the case.

Edit: I was answering to the wrong video. After watching this video, I can't tell when he actually starts holding the ball. I don't think he starts holding it until he's in the air, as it looks like he bumps it into the air while trying to grab it, but doesn't actually grab it immediately.

Either way, since I can't tell, I wouldn't make this call.

When he scoops the hand underneath, that is when he is holding it.. There is no gap between dribbling and holding unless they lose control of the ball. If there comes a point where you are not going to let them put down another dribble without it being an illegal dribble or a carry, they're holding it. It doesn't take two hands to hold the ball as some would have you believe. The "hold" begins at the same moment the dribble ends, even if it is just one hand.

Looking at it another way...if they fouled someone at that very moment, would you have a PC foul? If you answer yes, you must then be saying they are dribbling or holding the ball. If the they had ended the dribble, then they were, be it being the only option left, holding the ball.

JRutledge Thu Nov 14, 2013 04:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 910784)
When he scoops the hand underneath, that is when he is holding it.. There is no gap between dribbling and holding unless they lose control of the ball. If there comes a point where you are not going to let them put down another dribble without it being an illegal dribble or a carry, they're holding it. It doesn't take two hands to hold the ball as some would have you believe. The "hold" begins at the same moment the dribble ends, even if it is just one hand.

Looking at it another way...if they fouled someone at that very moment, would you have a PC foul? If you answer yes, you must then be saying they are dribbling or holding the ball. If the they had ended the dribble, then they were, be it being the only option left, holding the ball.

I do not think anyone is suggesting that you have to have two hands on the ball to end a dribble. We can call a carry with just one hand under the ball. But it appears the dribble never really ends until he is jumping in the air. It is also hard to tell as the ball is facing away from the camera angle for the most part, but the ball does not appear to be under his hands until he is already jumped. You will disagree, but it is certainly not "obvious" as some want to make this play out to be. It is very close. And if it is very close, I am giving the player the benefit of the doubt.

Peace

johnny d Thu Nov 14, 2013 05:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 910778)
it is when they dribble stops and that occurs when he grabs the ball.

The bolded part of this statement is not accurate.

Art. 4. The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or carries/palms the ball by allowing it to come to rest
in one or both hands

JRutledge Thu Nov 14, 2013 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 910786)
The bolded part of this statement is not accurate.

Art. 4. The dribble ends when:
a. The dribbler catches or carries/palms the ball by allowing it to come to rest
in one or both hands

That is really not anything different then what I am saying. And it is really in question of the ball came to rest in his hands until he was in the air.

Peace

Adam Thu Nov 14, 2013 05:44pm

I don't always agree with JRutledge, but when I do....
 
When I paused this at the right moment, I see his right hand free of the ball after he jumped. While the second hand isn't necessary, I don't honestly think he was holding the ball in this case until he got the 2nd hand there. I just don't see enough control with the left hand in this play to warrant a call.

Now I need a Dos Equis.

Camron Rust Thu Nov 14, 2013 08:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 910790)
When I paused this at the right moment, I see his right hand free of the ball after he jumped. While the second hand isn't necessary, I don't honestly think he was holding the ball in this case until he got the 2nd hand there. I just don't see enough control with the left hand in this play to warrant a call.

Now I need a Dos Equis.

Yes, but how did he get the ball up there? It didn't just bounce directly from the last dribble. He caught it with his left hand to lift it up and across his body.

The dribble ends by catching the ball even by scooping the ball in one hand and that event is the moment, by rule, that the pivot is also established if a foot is on the floor.

If there is ever a moment when a subsequent dribble would be considered a carry, you have just decided the player caught the ball. Would you have let that player dribble again as he brought the ball across his body before his right hand got to the ball?

Holding the ball is simply not grasping the ball firmly with two hands.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1