![]() |
Held Ball?
Hey yall, it's been awhile
Interesting debate came up last night at a meeting... A1 is standing out of bounds for a designated spot, non-AP throw in. He holds the ball over the boundary, and B1 grabs it and neither can wrestle it away from the other. What do ya got? |
7.6.4 Situation F
|
Quote:
How does this turn into a long debate? |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
The group couldn't decide if it was a violation or not.
|
Quote:
Does this group have trainers or rules people that can look this up? Peace |
Quote:
No...there definitely was no technical foul discussion related to this play. The rulebooks were out, though, as were the casebooks. I don't think anyone ever found a definitive answer. |
Quote:
|
Couldn't Have Been at an Officials' Meeting
Quote:
What were you doing at a coaches' meeting? :confused: |
Held Ball On Throw-In
Slight tweak-with a AP throw in:
NFHS Casebook, Page 54: 6.4.5 SITUATION B: During an alternating-possession throw-in, thrower A1 holds the ball through the end-line plane and B1 grabs it, resulting in a held ball. RULING: Since the throw-in had not ended and no violation occurred, it is still A's ball for an alternating-possession throw-in (4-42-5). |
For Your Viewing Pleasure ...
Quote:
plane during a throw-in. B1 is able to get his/her hands on the ball and A1 cannot pull it back. RULING: A held ball is called, resulting in an alternating-possession throw-in. If the original throw-in is an alternating-possession throw-in, Team A still has the arrow following the held ball. |
Quote:
How's the veal? And thanks...I missed all of last season while acclimating to a new job in a new city. Itching to get back at it. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:20am. |