The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dayton IPFW - Travel (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96515-dayton-ipfw-travel.html)

Spence Sat Nov 09, 2013 05:38pm

Dayton IPFW - Travel
 
Player catches the ball in the air and his body hits the floor. Ball hits the floor as well and never comes loose. Hand not under the ball.

Travel?

Jordan Sibert’s last-second three-pointer pushes Dayton past IPFW (VIDEO) | CollegeBasketballTalk

Adam Sat Nov 09, 2013 06:07pm

I've got a travel, as this is explicitly not a dribble.

Haven't seen the video, though, so I reserve my judgment for the play as it actually happened.

BillyMac Sat Nov 09, 2013 06:26pm

Let's Go To The Videotape (Warner Wolf) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 910287)
Haven't seen the video ...

I've seen the video. I don't believe that the player caught the ball and, thus, didn't have possession of the ball when he fell, so I don't have a travel. Certainly an exciting ending to a game.

OKREF Sat Nov 09, 2013 06:26pm

Man, this is pretty tough, but I don't think he has possession when he falls to the floor.

WhistlesAndStripes Sat Nov 09, 2013 06:57pm

Didn't even look close to possession. I've got nothing.

referee99 Sat Nov 09, 2013 07:00pm

My first impression.
 
Hard to look at that court!
http://www.ruralking.com/media/catal...pper-small.jpg

referee99 Sat Nov 09, 2013 07:04pm

Don't see a travel.
 
Nor do I see an official in a good position to make a traveling call.

The_Rookie Sat Nov 09, 2013 08:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 910291)
I've seen the video. I don't believe that the player caught the ball and, thus, didn't have possession of the ball when he fell, so I don't have a travel. Certainly an exciting ending to a game.

Let me play Captain Obvious...If the player did have possession it would be a travel because he went to the floor with the ball. (Only hand and foot) can touch floor.

Correct reasoning?

bob jenkins Sat Nov 09, 2013 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 910299)
Let me play Captain Obvious...If the player did have possession it would be a travel because he went to the floor with the ball. (Only hand and foot) can touch floor.

Correct reasoning?

Correct in NFHS for sure (and my assumption is that this is the level you do -- and I don't mean to make that sound perjorative)

Mark Padgett Sat Nov 09, 2013 09:17pm

No travel on the play in question, but the blue player traveled just before the release of the final shot attempt. If you listen closely, you can hear a whistle just a microsecond before he releases the ball. The whistle isn't to indicate the clock going to zero because the clock on top of the basket doesn't get to zero until the ball just about hits the board. So, even if that final shot would have gone in, it wouldn't have counted because of the travel call prior to the release.

Here's something to ponder - if the travel was called at the end (like I described), then shouldn't they have reset the clock and given the ball to white to inbound, which could have resulted in something else happening before the game was over, like a foul or something?

The_Rookie Sat Nov 09, 2013 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 910301)
Correct in NFHS for sure (and my assumption is that this is the level you do -- and I don't mean to make that sound perjorative)

Yes I do HS Ball...my goal this season is to understand the "WHY" behind the rules..This will allow me to better explain calls I make:)

Thanks Bob

Raymond Sat Nov 09, 2013 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 910287)
I've got a travel, as this is explicitly not a dribble.

Haven't seen the video, though, so I reserve my judgment for the play as it actually happened.

In NCAA you have to have a pivot foot in order to travel, so catching the ball in mid-air and falling to the ground is not a travel.

In this video, no travel as A1 never established a pivot foot while in possession of the ball.

Howeva, the person who passed the ball to the successful jump shooter most definitely travelled.

Raymond Sat Nov 09, 2013 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 910302)
No travel on the play in question, but the blue player traveled just before the release of the final shot attempt. If you listen closely, you can hear a whistle just a microsecond before he releases the ball. The whistle isn't to indicate the clock going to zero because the clock on top of the basket doesn't get to zero until the ball just about hits the board. So, even if that final shot would have gone in, it wouldn't have counted because of the travel call prior to the release.

...

Yes, the C is most definitely waving off the shot by Blue before the clock ran out. But it is possible that the throw-in occurred with 0.3 on the clock, so he was waving it off b/c a shot attempt is not possible.

Spence Sat Nov 09, 2013 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910305)
In NCAA you have to have a pivot foot in order to travel, so catching the ball in mid-air and falling to the ground is not a travel.

.

Wow. Didn't know that. Thanks.

Can you cite that rule.

Spence Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:09pm

Didn't the player establish his pivot foot when his first foot landed before he hit the ground?

AremRed Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:34pm

I am not 100 percent certain this is a travel. No call.

Raymond Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 910312)
Wow. Didn't know that. Thanks.

Can you cite that rule.

In the NFHS rule book it specifically says that falling to the ground from midair is a travel. (case play 4.44.5 sit A)

In the NCAA rule book it reads:

9-6 Art. 7. It is traveling when a player falls to the playing court while holding the ball without maintaining a pivot foot.


BTW, in response to a longstanding debate, I came across A.R. 190:

After:

(1) Receiving a pass; or

(2) Ending a dribble,

A1 jumps into the air on a try for goal, is contested by B1 and since A1 could not get his try for goal off, he voluntarily throws the ball to the playing court. In both (1) and (2), A1 is the first to touch the ball.

RULING: (1) A1 has committed a traveling violation because he did not release the ball before picking up his pivot foot.

(2) A1's release of the ball, after being airborne, was the start of a second dribble. When A1 touched the ball, A1 committed a double-dribble violation.

johnny d Sun Nov 10, 2013 01:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910305)
In NCAA you have to have a pivot foot in order to travel, so catching the ball in mid-air and falling to the ground is not a travel.

This is not true. A player does not establish a pivot foot until that player steps with one foot while keeping the other foot at its point of contact with the floor. A player who catches a pass with both feet on the floor and does not move either foot has not established a pivot. If this player jumps in the air to shoot but drops the ball to the floor because the defense has prevented him from taking a shot and then is the first to touch the ball, he has committed a traveling violation.

Further, when the player controls the ball with both feet off the court, the first foot that lands is his pivot foot. It doesn't matter if this player is falling while in control of the ball, whatever foot hits first is his pivot foot. If he moves that foot, he has traveled.

The play in the video is not travel because it doesn't look as though the player had control of the ball.

Raymond Sun Nov 10, 2013 02:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 910323)
This is not true. A player does not establish a pivot foot until that player steps with one foot while keeping the other foot at its point of contact with the floor. A player who catches a pass with both feet on the floor and does not move either foot has not established a pivot. If this player jumps in the air to shoot but drops the ball to the floor because the defense has prevented him from taking a shot and then is the first to touch the ball, he has committed a traveling violation.

Further, when the player controls the ball with both feet off the court, the first foot that lands is his pivot foot. It doesn't matter if this player is falling while in control of the ball, whatever foot hits first is his pivot foot. If he moves that foot, he has traveled.

The play in the video is not travel because it doesn't look as though the player had control of the ball.

In the play from the video I agree:
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910305)
In this video, no travel as A1 never established a pivot foot while in possession of the ball.

But, if a player lands on his butt or his back it is not a travel because he never established a pivot, which happened in the very first game I ever officiated (military intramurals using NCAA rules). That is the first rule I ever looked up because the person working with me said I should have called a travel.

There is nowhere in the NCAA rule or case books that says a players falling from midair on any part of his body other than his feet/legs has committed a travel.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 10, 2013 03:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Spence (Post 910313)
Didn't the player establish his pivot foot when his first foot landed before he hit the ground?

Nope. It takes the 2nd foot down before the 1st is the pivot. Otherwise, a jump stop would be a travel.

BillyMac Sun Nov 10, 2013 09:17am

Good Citation BadNewsRef ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910319)
In the NFHS rule book it specifically says that falling to the ground from midair is a travel. (case play 4.44.5 sit A)

4.44.5 SITUATION A: Is it traveling if A1 falls to the floor: (a) while holding the
ball; or (b) after being airborne to catch a pass or control a rebound? RULING:
Yes in both (a) and (b).

4-44-5-A: A player holding the ball:
May not touch the floor with a knee or any other part of the body other than hand or foot.

johnny d Sun Nov 10, 2013 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910324)
In the play from the video I agree:

But, if a player lands on his butt or his back it is not a travel because he never established a pivot, which happened in the very first game I ever officiated (military intramurals using NCAA rules). That is the first rule I ever looked up because the person working with me said I should have called a travel.

There is nowhere in the NCAA rule or case books that says a players falling from midair on any part of his body other than his feet/legs has committed a travel.

I took an informal survey of 5 guys I know who work men's college basketball ranging in level from NAIA/D3 up to D1 working in BCS conferences. None of them said they would not call a travel on the player landing on his butt. None of them changed their mind or opinion even after I read them the rule as you pointed it out about the pivot foot. I know that doesn't make travel the right call and that it is a small sample size, but I would venture to guess you would be in the very small minority of people that do not call this a travel. It would be nice for some clarification on this issue. But I think your interpretation is an unintended consequence of a poorly worded rule.

JetMetFan Sun Nov 10, 2013 05:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910324)
But, if a player lands on his butt or his back it is not a travel because he never established a pivot, which happened in the very first game I ever officiated (military intramurals using NCAA rules). That is the first rule I ever looked up because the person working with me said I should have called a travel.

There is nowhere in the NCAA rule or case books that says a players falling from midair on any part of his body other than his feet/legs has committed a travel.

Right, because if that was the case any time a player dove for a ball, caught it, then landed while still holding the ball it would be a travel and as we know – or should know – that player can land and slide all the way down the floor without committing a violation. The “falling to the floor” deal assumes A1 was upright and holding a live ball before (s)he fell.

johnny d Sun Nov 10, 2013 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 910348)
Right, because if that was the case any time a player dove for a ball, caught it, then landed while still holding the ball it would be a travel and as we know – or should know – that player can land and slide all the way down the floor without committing a violation. The “falling to the floor” deal assumes A1 was upright and holding a live ball before (s)he fell.


I have to disagree with this statement. The exact wording of the NCAA-M case play in regards to this situation is "Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then because of momentum rolls or slides" This is AR 194 in current case book and is not ruled travel. It does not say the player can gain control while in the air, land, and then slide without a travel being called. That is a very important distinction. Gaining control while already on the ground and sliding and gaining control while airborne and then sliding.

Camron Rust Mon Nov 11, 2013 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 910350)
I have to disagree with this statement. The exact wording of the NCAA-M case play in regards to this situation is "Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then because of momentum rolls or slides" This is AR 194 in current case book and is not ruled travel. It does not say the player can gain control while in the air, land, and then slide without a travel being called. That is a very important distinction. Gaining control while already on the ground and sliding and gaining control while airborne and then sliding.

Agree. If you catch the ball before getting to the floor, you're still liable for traveling. The slide cases don't apply.

Raymond Mon Nov 11, 2013 01:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 910387)
Agree. If you catch the ball before getting to the floor, you're still liable for traveling. The slide cases don't apply.

No case play applies at the NCAA level. Haven't read anything in the NCAA books that tells me an airborne players gaining PC, travels if he lands on his butt/back/stomach.

JetMetFan Mon Nov 11, 2013 05:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910391)
No case play applies at the NCAA level. Haven't read anything in the NCAA books that tells me an airborne players gaining PC, travels if he lands on his butt/back/stomach.

Agreed and the next time I see an NCAAW or NCAAM player called for a travel when (s)he dives for a ball, catches it then hits the floor will be the first.

Adam Mon Nov 11, 2013 08:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 910348)
Right, because if that was the case any time a player dove for a ball, caught it, then landed while still holding the ball it would be a travel and as we know – or should know – that player can land and slide all the way down the floor without committing a violation. The “falling to the floor” deal assumes A1 was upright and holding a live ball before (s)he fell.

I disagree, with respect to NFHS rules. No such assumption is made, and any player who falls to the floor with possession of the ball has traveled regardless of his initial position.

Players are only exempt from this if they gain control while already on the floor.

johnny d Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 910400)
Agreed and the next time I see an NCAAW or NCAAM player called for a travel when (s)he dives for a ball, catches it then hits the floor will be the first.

I agree this call isn't made at either NCAA level. Most likely because the officials are not going to nitpick whether or not the player was in the air while gaining possession or on the ground, but the case play I referenced AR194 clearly states this exception only applies to a player gaining possession while sliding on the court.

This type of play is very different from the play BNR is talking about where the player gains possession of the ball while airborne, such as catching a pass, rebounding or intercepting a pass, and then lands on their back, butt, or any way other than standing. This is called a travel every time. BNR is trying to argue that it cannot be a travel because of the way the rule is worded regarding establishing a pivot foot and I agree that the wording is ambiguous at best. I also think he would be in a very small minority that doesn't call travel on those types of plays and that it would be nice if there was some clarification in the rules or a case book play.

potato Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:21am

Does it matter how the player fell, say on his butt? Maybe there was an incidental contact that made him loose balance and fall on his butt?

Also this means if a player dives for a would be out of bound ball and doesn't let go of the ball before his body reach the floor he gets a travel? In this case what if he let go of the ball after getting the ball and let's go of the ball before his body touches the floor and regain possession of the ball after he's on the floor?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 910407)
I disagree, with respect to NFHS rules. No such assumption is made, and any player who falls to the floor with possession of the ball has traveled regardless of his initial position.

Players are only exempt from this if they gain control while already on the floor.


johnny d Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 910427)
Does it matter how the player fell, say on his butt? Maybe there was an incidental contact that made him loose balance and fall on his butt?

Of course this matters. Incidental contact means it has no effect on the play, so a travel would still be the call. Non-incidental contact would be a foul on the offending player, causing the ball to become dead so the travel would not matter.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by potato (Post 910427)
Does it matter how the player fell, say on his butt? Maybe there was an incidental contact that made him loose balance and fall on his butt?

Impossible. If the contact "made him loose [sic] balance" then it wasn't incidental.

Quote:

Also this means if a player dives for a would be out of bound ball and doesn't let go of the ball before his body reach the floor he gets a travel?
No. He "gets" an OOB violation.

Quote:

In this case what if he let go of the ball after getting the ball and let's go of the ball before his body touches the floor and regain possession of the ball after he's on the floor?
If he's still OOB, then it's an OOB violation. If he's inbounds, then it's legal. He might have "used" his dribble.

JRutledge Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:51am

I did not think it was a travel when I saw the replay, I certainly see nothing in video that makes me change my mind. No control or control I am comfortable calling.

Peace

Adam Mon Nov 11, 2013 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 910429)
Of course this matters. Incidental contact means it has no effect on the play, so a travel would still be the call. Non-incidental contact would be a foul on the offending player, causing the ball to become dead so the travel would not matter.

Incidental contact does not necessarily mean it had no impact. Incidental contact could also be contact for which the player who fell is responsible, or contact for which neither player was responsible; even if that contact knocks one or both players to the floor.

OKREF Mon Nov 11, 2013 02:35pm

NFHS. If a player goes to the ground with possession of the ball, it's a travel.

Raymond Mon Nov 11, 2013 06:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 910407)
I disagree, with respect to NFHS rules. No such assumption is made, and any player who falls to the floor with possession of the ball has traveled regardless of his initial position.

Players are only exempt from this if they gain control while already on the floor.

In the NFHS it's clearly spelled out with a case play, so definitely no dispute there.

bob jenkins Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 910466)
In the NFHS it's clearly spelled out with a case play, so definitely no dispute there.

And the rule is clear (at least to me)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1