The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Team Control Rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96326-team-control-rule.html)

Adam Sat Oct 19, 2013 11:57am

Team Control Rule
 
Got my book yesterday, and I noticed they seem to have reverted the Back Court rule to the way it was before they started messing with team control. However, they have not changed the TC rule at all, so now, by a strict reading of the rule, there are lots of violations that were not intended to by violations.

Such as a throw in that is tipped by A2, standing in the FC, into the BC before it's retrieved by A3. By 9-9-1, this should be a violation.

Am I missing something?

AremRed Sat Oct 19, 2013 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908053)
Am I missing something?

Don't have the new book, could you post the new Back Court language?

APG Sat Oct 19, 2013 01:23pm

ART. 1

A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Adam Sat Oct 19, 2013 01:24pm

Highlighted changes in red.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rule 9-9-1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.


JetMetFan Sat Oct 19, 2013 02:27pm

Adam, take a look at NFHS 4-13-1 – the definition of frontcourt:

Quote:

A team's frontcourt consists of that part of the court between its end line and the nearer edge of the division line, including its basket and the inbounds part of the backboard.
...add in 4-35-2

Quote:

When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds or inside the three-point line, respectively.
…and it clears up the throw-in problem. Of course an edit to the rule book would definitely make life easier but frontcourt – or backcourt for that matter – doesn’t appear to officially include the area outside the boundary lines.

Adam Sat Oct 19, 2013 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 908065)
Adam, take a look at NFHS 4-13-1 – the definition of frontcourt:



...add in 4-35-2



…and it clears up the throw-in problem. Of course an edit to the rule book would definitely make life easier but frontcourt – or backcourt for that matter – doesn’t appear to officially include the area outside the boundary lines.

Right, but that's not the problem. The problem is:

TC established: check, as soon as the throw in starts
FC established: check, as soon as A2 tips the ball (standing in the FC)
Last to touch in the FC before it goes into the BC: Check, A2's tip.
First to touch after it goes into the BC: Check, when A3 retrieves ball in BC.

By rule, this is a violation. By repeated expressed intent, it is not.

BillyMac Sat Oct 19, 2013 05:21pm

Stupid NFHS ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908068)
TC established: check, as soon as the throw in starts
FC established: check, as soon as A2 tips the ball (standing in the FC)
Last to touch in the FC before it goes into the BC: Check, A2's tip.
First to touch after it goes into the BC: Check, when A3 retrieves ball in BC.
By rule, this is a violation. By repeated expressed intent, it is not.

... and also by past history. But how does a rookie know that?

JetMetFan Sat Oct 19, 2013 05:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908068)
Right, but that's not the problem. The problem is:

TC established: check, as soon as the throw in starts
FC established: check, as soon as A2 tips the ball (standing in the FC)
Last to touch in the FC before it goes into the BC: Check, A2's tip.
First to touch after it goes into the BC: Check, when A3 retrieves ball in BC.

By rule, this is a violation. By repeated expressed intent, it is not.

Sorry I ignored some of the elements in my previous answer. Let’s try this:

4-12-2d
A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

4-42-5a
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.

So when the ball is touched by A2 on the throw-in, the throw-in is over. If A2 didn’t gain control of the ball there’s no team control for the purpose of calling violations so if the ball rolls into the backcourt and A3 picks it up the play is legal. The TC rule on the throw-in only covers penalties applied to fouls.

I found this on the web from the NFHS’s 2011-12 rule interpretations. The scenario is slightly different but the essence is the same:

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

Adam Sat Oct 19, 2013 06:08pm

And the rule changed so that "player control in the front court" is no longer required. It was always a clunky way around it anyway. But, the fact is, relying on old interpretations and powerpoint presentations is a horrible way to get proper enforcement. As Billy notes, rookies aren't going to have access to those things online.

Further, veterans don't always pay attention, and some just read the rules to get updates. When they read this rule, they'll rightly consider this a violation.

bob jenkins Sat Oct 19, 2013 07:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 908065)
but frontcourt – or backcourt for that matter – doesn’t appear to officially include the area outside the boundary lines.

It never has. That's why 3-seconds doesn't apply during a throw-in, etc.


Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 908073)
So when the ball is touched by A2 on the throw-in, the throw-in is over.

Sure, the throwin is over, but TC hasn't ended (see 4-12-3).

The_Rookie Sat Oct 19, 2013 07:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 908073)
Sorry I ignored some of the elements in my previous answer. Let’s try this:

4-12-2d
A team is in control of the ball when a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in.

4-42-5a
The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.

So when the ball is touched by A2 on the throw-in, the throw-in is over. If A2 didn’t gain control of the ball there’s no team control for the purpose of calling violations so if the ball rolls into the backcourt and A3 picks it up the play is legal. The TC rule on the throw-in only covers penalties applied to fouls.

I found this on the web from the NFHS’s 2011-12 rule interpretations. The scenario is slightly different but the essence is the same:

SITUATION 5: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2d; 9-9)

We need to distinguish between touching and controlling? A touch does not cause a BC Vio whereas Control would?

JetMetFan Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 908078)
It never has. That's why 3-seconds doesn't apply during a throw-in, etc.




Sure, the throwin is over, but TC hasn't ended (see 4-12-3).

According to the interpretation TC for the purpose of calling a TC foul doesn’t end when a player on Team A tips the ball. However TC for the purpose of calling violations hasn’t started because neither team has established control inbounds.

Believe me, I know it’s convoluted but that’s what I found consistently in all of the online results.

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 908079)
We need to distinguish between touching and controlling? A touch does not cause a BC Vio whereas Control would?

In this scenario, yes. When the ball is touched inbounds Team A has to re-establish control for violations to come into play again.

OKREF Sat Oct 19, 2013 10:54pm

Doesn't the team control aspect on a throw in, (which was changed just a few years back), only really apply to fouls on the offense? We no longer shoot free throws, when at one time we did. A tipped ball on the throw in isn't possession, it just means that the throw in ended. If A2 touches the throw in and the ball goes into the backcourt, and A3 gains possession, the only thing I have is a 10 second count.

Sharpshooternes Sun Oct 20, 2013 02:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 908082)
Doesn't the team control aspect on a throw in, (which was changed just a few years back), only really apply to fouls on the offense? We no longer shoot free throws, when at one time we did. A tipped ball on the throw in isn't possession, it just means that the throw in ended. If A2 touches the throw in and the ball goes into the backcourt, and A3 gains possession, the only thing I have is a 10 second count.

So team control continues after a throwin if a tipped pass by A1 (or B1 for that matter) goes into the backcourt. This is because tema control only ends with a dead ball, a shot, or change of posession, right?

JetMetFan Sun Oct 20, 2013 04:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 908082)
Doesn't the team control aspect on a throw in, (which was changed just a few years back), only really apply to fouls on the offense? We no longer shoot free throws, when at one time we did. A tipped ball on the throw in isn't possession, it just means that the throw in ended. If A2 touches the throw in and the ball goes into the backcourt, and A3 gains possession, the only thing I have is a 10 second count.

Right.

bob jenkins Sun Oct 20, 2013 07:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 908082)
Doesn't the team control aspect on a throw in, (which was changed just a few years back), only really apply to fouls on the offense? We no longer shoot free throws, when at one time we did. A tipped ball on the throw in isn't possession, it just means that the throw in ended. If A2 touches the throw in and the ball goes into the backcourt, and A3 gains possession, the only thing I have is a 10 second count.

That's the intent, but it's not what a lieteral reading of the rules seems to say (according to some).

Adam Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 908082)
Doesn't the team control aspect on a throw in, (which was changed just a few years back), only really apply to fouls on the offense? We no longer shoot free throws, when at one time we did. A tipped ball on the throw in isn't possession, it just means that the throw in ended. If A2 touches the throw in and the ball goes into the backcourt, and A3 gains possession, the only thing I have is a 10 second count.

Agreed, this was the intent. The rule, however, doesn't actually make this distinction anywhere that I can find.

Adam Sun Oct 20, 2013 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 908079)
We need to distinguish between touching and controlling? A touch does not cause a BC Vio whereas Control would?

No, "control" is not required for a violation.

BillyMac Sun Oct 20, 2013 01:44pm

Hey You Kids, Get Off Of My Front Court ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908076)
... Veterans don't always pay attention ...

Agree.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908076)
... Veterans just read the rules to get updates.

Read the rules? Then you've got a better veterans in your association than in mine. In Connecticut, we've just about decided to make the new sleeve rule tougher by saying that both bands (head, and wrist) and sleeves (arm, and leg) must be the same color for all players on the team, in direct opposition to the latest NFHS interpretations. Why? To make it easier for our members, especially our veteran members, to understand.

OKREF Sun Oct 20, 2013 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 908085)
So team control continues after a throwin if a tipped pass by A1 (or B1 for that matter) goes into the backcourt. This is because tema control only ends with a dead ball, a shot, or change of posession, right?

No. The intent for the rule is to have team control for the purposes of fouls during the throw in. The throw in ends when it was touched, however neither team was in possession of the ball. Team control is established after either team gains control of the ball. The way it is written, is what is causing the confusion. It is a very poorly written rule.

bob jenkins Sun Oct 20, 2013 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 908112)
No. The intent for the rule is to have team control for the purposes of fouls during the throw in. The throw in ends when it was touched, however neither team was in possession of the ball. Team control is established after either team gains control of the ball. The way it is written, is what is causing the confusion. It is a very poorly written rule.

Close but not quite. The TC rule also allows for TC fouls immediately after the throw-in, and before A gains PC inbounds.

You are correct that the first year this was in place, if A fouled before the throw-in ended it was a TC foul, but if they fouled after the ball had been tipped it was NOT a TC foul, and if they fouled after A gained posession inbounds it was again a TC foul. That has been cleared up so that all three are TC fouls now.

The problem is with the wording of the BC rule.

OKREF Sun Oct 20, 2013 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 908121)
Close but not quite. The TC rule also allows for TC fouls immediately after the throw-in, and before A gains PC inbounds.

Correct. I wrote team control earlier, but meant player control.

bob jenkins Mon Oct 21, 2013 07:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 908060)
ART. 1

A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, or if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

I think they just dropped "player control" from the part in blue (but I don't have last year's books handy to check the exact wording)

Adam Mon Oct 21, 2013 07:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 908157)
I think they just dropped "player control" from the part in blue (but I don't have last year's books handy to check the exact wording)

That's my recollection, previously they had added "after player control has been established in the front court" in order to try to make up for the earlier start for team control. Instead, that wording removed a few plays from being violations. A few here had advocated returning the BC rule to the original wording and simply adding a throw in situation to the definition of a team control foul. It wouldn't be any different, really, than adding the airborne shooter to the definition of a player control foul (even though there's no longer player control).

Raymond Mon Oct 21, 2013 09:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 908158)
That's my recollection, previously they had added "after player control has been established in the front court" in order to try to make up for the earlier start for team control....

I don't believe the bolded part was in the rule b/c that isn't necessary for a backcourt violation. PC could be established in the backcourt followed by any number of events that could lead to a BC violation without there ever being PC in the FC.

bob jenkins Mon Oct 21, 2013 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 908167)
I don't believe the bolded part was in the rule b/c that isn't necessary for a backcourt violation. PC could be established in the backcourt followed by any number of events that could lead to a BC violation without there ever being PC in the FC.

I think it was, and yes, that led to some of the confusion. Even the current wording could cause some of the same confusion because you need TC, and you need the ball in the FC but you don't need "TC-in-the-FC" (as some would interpret it)

Adam Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 908167)
I don't believe the bolded part was in the rule b/c that isn't necessary for a backcourt violation. PC could be established in the backcourt followed by any number of events that could lead to a BC violation without there ever being PC in the FC.

They had added it to the book because without it, that throw in play we keep bringing up would have been a violation. To "fix" that effect, they added the requirement. It inadvertently changed the rule even more, eliminating some violations (by rule) that didn't require FC PC.

Scrapper1 Mon Nov 11, 2013 10:21pm

The Rules Committee could eliminate ALL this confusion by simply removing team control from the throw-in. They've screwed this up seven ways to Sunday, from the very first attempt they made to eliminate free throws for fouls committed during a throw-in by the throw-in team.

Last year, they finally got the Team Control Foul definition correct. This year, they finally got 9-9-1 correct. Now, if they will just revert the definition of team control to what it was 4 years ago. . .

billyu2 Tue Nov 12, 2013 01:03pm

offensive fouls
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 910481)
The Rules Committee could eliminate ALL this confusion by simply removing team control from the throw-in. They've screwed this up seven ways to Sunday, from the very first attempt they made to eliminate free throws for fouls committed during a throw-in by the throw-in team.

Last year, they finally got the Team Control Foul definition correct. This year, they finally got 9-9-1 correct. Now, if they will just revert the definition of team control to what it was 4 years ago. . .

I agree. IMO it would be less confusing if the rule read "all fouls by the team on offense (-INT and FLAG) will result in no free throws." A team would be considered "on offense" when a player gains control of the jump ball, when the ball is at disposal on a FT and TI or on a change in possession. A team is no longer on offense when there is a change in possession, the ball is dead or on the release of a try.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1