![]() |
Warm-ups to jerseys at bench
All twelve members of team out come out wearing their warmup tops instead of their jerseys. Before the start of the game they all change into their jerseys at the bench. Ruling: Officials assess one technical foul against Team A and an indirect against the head coach.
I have seen this before somewhere. Was this a case play or interp, or has it just been on the study guide before? I say it is true based on 10.4.4B which states that similar multiple infractions at the same time are charged with a single team technical rather than individually and, as is this case since bench personnel are involved it is also and indirect on the HC. But the answer key says false. :confused: |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Dunkin' Donuts ...
Quote:
team member A1 dunks. Two minutes later A2 dunks. RULING: A1 and A2 are both charged with a technical foul. In addition, the head coach is charged indirectly with a technical foul for each act. The two fouls are team fouls for purpose of reaching the bonus. When dunking occurs during the pregame practice period the official notifies the team member and the head coach, but does not sound the whistle. If the game is played in a state which utilizes the optional coaching box, the coach should be informed that he/she has lost the privilege of using the coaching box for the entire game. (10-4-1i) |
The "Tecnical-foul Penalty Summary" on p. 70 of this year's Rules Book, lists "removing jersey/pants" by Bench personnel, and the T is assessed to the Bench personnel, + an Indirect to the Head Coach.
So, it seems that in the OP the game starts with 2 FT for each of the 12, the Head Coach gone, the ball to the opponents, no Coaching Box privilege. WOW! That would be a fiasco to start a game . . . Would anybody volunteer to make that ruling? . . . |
2005 -06 Interps:
SITUATION 4: During the pregame warm-up, the 12 members of Team A are wearing warm-up tops, but not their team jerseys. Approximately one minute prior to the opening jump ball, the 12 Team A members go to the team bench, remove the warm-up tops and put on the team jerseys. RULING: One technical foul is charged to Team A, and it is also charged indirectly to the head coach. COMMENT: In a situation where similar multiple infractions occur at the same time, it is not the intent of the rules to penalize each individual infraction as a separate technical foul. (3-4-15; 10-4-1h) |
Quote:
Bob, how did you find it so fast. (What about the current Answer Key, saying the answer is False?) |
Quote:
Can't help with the answer key. |
Thought I'd seen it here before. Thanks, Bob. Apparently my searching skills aren't what they ought to be. That's 2 mistakes out of 200 on the answer key. 99 percent is normally a good score on anything but in this case..... :o
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24am. |