![]() |
Player control during throw-in
Louisiana study guide: Team control, but not player control exists during a throw-in.
answer key says false 4-12-1 says A player is in control of the ball when he is holding.....a live ball What say you? |
Quote:
I think it used to say inbounds. I think they mistakenly deleted it when they adjusted the team control rule. If there was player control during a throwin, it would have not been necessary to add item "d" a couple years ago to ART. 2 of the control definition as item "a" would have already covered that. ART. 2 . . . A team is in control of the ball: a. When a player of the team is in control. b. While a live ball is being passed among teammates. c. During an interrupted dribble. d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in. |
Quote:
A1 is attempting a throw in. B1 is guarding. A1 reaches out and pushes B1 back so A1 has room to complete the pass. Ruling: PC foul (not that it matters whether it's PC or TC in terms of any enforcement) The "disposal" part is needed in case the official needs to place the ball on the floor. |
I'm listening to bob
|
It's hard for me to blame them for getting the answer key wrong when I mistyped the situation here. :o
The answer key said T. I said F. I agree with Bob. There is PC now since that word inbounds was removed. This same question was discussed here a couple of years ago. I was making sure nothing had changed with some new interpretation. This has also been asked before. In this situation, what possible difference could it make whether there is player control or not? |
After Thirty-Two Years, It's Not The Rules That Are Difficult To Remember ...
... it's all the accumulated rule changes that have occurred over the years.
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Definition: A player is in control of the ball when he/she is holding or *dribbling a live ball. Definition: A team is in control of the ball: d. When a player of the team has disposal of the ball for a throw-in. |
Quote:
Does TC exist? Yes. So the answer to the question "Team control, but not player control exists during a throw-in" is False. (Understanding Camron's point that if the old definition of PC exists, the answer would be True.) |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42pm. |