The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   inbounds question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/96098-inbounds-question.html)

eltgabs Thu Sep 12, 2013 04:32pm

inbounds question
 
On a full court inbounds pass the ball hits a flag hanging from the rafters and the ball falls to midcourt. The referees determined that it was a dead ball and awarded the ball to the opponent at the same spot (under their basket). This ruling sounds valid to me, but my questions are: A) Was this the correct ruling? B) If the ruling was correct, where in the rule book could this be referred to ? C) If the ruling was incorrect, what is the correct ruling?

Thanks in advance for all responses

bob jenkins Thu Sep 12, 2013 04:54pm

correct. the ball hitting the ceiling is OOB, so it was an inbounding violation and the ball returns to the original spot.

Freddy Thu Sep 12, 2013 05:03pm

A Response
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eltgabs (Post 904865)
On a full court inbounds pass the ball hits a flag hanging from the rafters and the ball falls to midcourt. The referees determined that it was a dead ball and awarded the ball to the opponent at the same spot (under their basket).

Rule 7-1-2a4: The ball is out of bounds when it touches...the ceiling, overhead equipment or supports.

Rule 9-2-2: The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player on the court before going out of bounds untouched.

Rule 9-2 PENALTY: The ball becomes dead when the violation...occurs. ...the ball is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.

Since the violation is the error of the thrower, the administration of the subsequent throw in would be at the designated spot nearest where the thrower inner attempted to make the throw in, unless between the lane lines extended in which case it would be at a location outside the nearest lane line extended.

Sound correct?

eltgabs Thu Sep 12, 2013 05:05pm

Where can I refer to in the rule book?

Freddy Thu Sep 12, 2013 05:22pm

Um...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eltgabs (Post 904868)
Where can I refer to in the rule book?

Cf. multitude of references. These are numbers which correspond to various parts of the rules that apply to the answers to your questions. The rulebook, which goes in numerical order from front to back, will have those references in the locations noted by the numbered references.
It might be tricky at first, but it gets easier to work one's way around in the rulebook the more one does it.
Wish you the best!

BillyMac Thu Sep 12, 2013 05:51pm

Throwin From The Ceiling ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eltgabs (Post 904865)
On a full court inbounds pass the ball hits a flag hanging from the rafters and the ball falls to midcourt.

Hey rookies, let's say that the ball touches B1 (inbounds) before hitting the flag? Where does A1 get the ball for the throwin?

BillyMac Thu Sep 12, 2013 06:09pm

Twist And Shout ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by eltgabs (Post 904865)
On a full court inbounds pass the ball hits a flag hanging from the rafters and the ball falls to midcourt.

Hey rookies, and veterans, let's say that the ball touches B1, who is hanging from the flag. Where does A1 get the ball for the throwin? Stupid? Yes. Good thought provoking question? Yes again.

Camron Rust Thu Sep 12, 2013 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 904869)
Cf. multitude of references. These are numbers which correspond to various parts of the rules that apply to the answers to your questions. The rulebook, which goes in numerical order from front to back, will have those references in the locations noted by the numbered references.
It might be tricky at first, but it gets easier to work one's way around in the rulebook the more one does it.
Wish you the best!

Geez, Freddy. He asked that question just moments after you posted the references. My guess is that he was replying to bob and your post got in before his.

dsavitzky Thu Sep 12, 2013 09:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 904873)
Hey rookies, and veterans, let's say that the ball touches B1, who is hanging from the flag. Where does A1 get the ball for the throwin? Stupid? Yes. Good thought provoking question? Yes again.

9-3-2 says "No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass."

By touching the flag, B1 is considered out of bounds and touching the ball after the throw-in.

9-3 penalty puts the ball in that case at the designated OOB spot nearest the violation, which would be the OOB spot closest to the flag and the player.

Freddy Thu Sep 12, 2013 10:33pm

Confession - Good for the Soul
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 904875)
Geez, Freddy. He asked that question just moments after you posted the references. My guess is that he was replying to bob and your post got in before his.

By golly Cameron, you are correct. For my ill-timed attempt at humor and sarcasm directed at eltgabs I apologize. :o

On the upside, I do have "Better Clock Awareness" on my list of areas for improvement this coming season. :)

HokiePaul Wed Sep 25, 2013 08:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 904873)
Hey rookies, and veterans, let's say that the ball touches B1, who is hanging from the flag. Where does A1 get the ball for the throwin? Stupid? Yes. Good thought provoking question? Yes again.

Sounds like a trick question ... hopefully I have something on the person hanging from the flag first before the ball gets to them. Leaving the court for an unauthorized reason?

ontheway Wed Sep 25, 2013 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dsavitzky (Post 904876)
9-3-2 says "No player shall be out of bounds when he/she touches or is touched by the ball after it has been released on a throw-in pass."

By touching the flag, B1 is considered out of bounds and touching the ball after the throw-in.

9-3 penalty puts the ball in that case at the designated OOB spot nearest the violation, which would be the OOB spot closest to the flag and the player.

IF B1 is touching the flag and is considered OOB then why would the designated spot not be where the thrower was originally?

APG Wed Sep 25, 2013 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ontheway (Post 905993)
IF B1 is touching the flag and is considered OOB then why would the designated spot not be where the thrower was originally?

Where do you put the ball for any OOB violation?

bob jenkins Wed Sep 25, 2013 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ontheway (Post 905993)
IF B1 is touching the flag and is considered OOB then why would the designated spot not be where the thrower was originally?

There's a difference between throwing the ball out-of-bounds untouched and throwing a ball that touches a player who is out of bounds

BillyMac Wed Sep 25, 2013 05:08pm

Always Listen To bob ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 905996)
There's a difference between throwing the ball out-of-bounds untouched and throwing a ball that touches a player who is out of bounds

Bingo. Give that man a cigar.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1