The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal Dribble? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95375-illegal-dribble.html)

BillyMac Fri Jun 28, 2013 04:21pm

It's A Question, Notice The Question Mark ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898727)
A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted ...

... and if said player steps on, or over, a boundary line, then it isn't an out of bounds violation, according to 4-15-6-D (During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble)?

BillyMac Fri Jun 28, 2013 04:23pm

Better ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898710)
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898727)
Not true. A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted.

Once he dribbles the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.

BillyMac Fri Jun 28, 2013 04:27pm

Closure ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898667)
The player involved with the interrupted dribble cannot be called for an out of bounds violation.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898674)
Considering the section heading (Out of Bounds), it seems that the illegal action listed in article three makes your above statement false.

So who's right, Nevadaref, or BillyMac. I say BillyMac, but of course, I always side with the handsome, intelligent guys.

Adam Fri Jun 28, 2013 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898782)
So who's right, Nevadaref, or BillyMac. (deleted the fluff)

I think Nevadaref was misreading the OP.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 28, 2013 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 898794)
I think Nevadaref was misreading the OP.

Nope, I read the OP just fine.
However, I never responded to it or commented on anything in it.
What I did was take exception with a statement that BillyMac posted and wrote a reply to that. You are the one who misread my post as evidenced by your first reply in this thread.

Adam Fri Jun 28, 2013 09:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898796)
Nope, I read the OP just fine.
However, I never responded to it or commented on anything in it.
What I did was take exception with a statement that BillyMac posted and wrote a reply to that. You are the one who misread my post as evidenced by your first reply in this thread.

Not the first time that's happened.

Nevadaref Fri Jun 28, 2013 09:42pm

Billy, let me try to clarify this for you. The only rule which a player involved in an interrupted dribble is exempt from is the Note directly under 9-3-1 and that is because he simply is NOT a dribbler! All other rules apply to this player as normal.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898675)
4-15-6-D: During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.

I guess it was unclear to some folks back in the day, if a player violated per 9-1-3 Note during an interrupted dribble, so the NFHS attempted to clarify by crafting this. Of course, this language was written long before 9-3-3 was added to the books. As you know it was previously a technical foul to deliberately leave the court during playing action. So the wording has now gone from poor to very poor. The NFHS should never have written that the player isn't subject to an OOB violation. We have given several examples which demonstrate that he is. What they should have written was that the provision listed for a dribbler in 9-3-1 Note does not apply to a player involved in a interrupted dribble. That's it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898712)
9-3-1-Note: The dribbler has committed a violation if he/she steps on or outside a boundary, even though he/she is not touching the ball while he/she is out of bounds.


Nevadaref Fri Jun 28, 2013 09:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 898797)
Not the first time that's happened.

And not a big deal. Just wanted to clarify for you that all of my comments in this thread pertain to BillyMac's sentence which I put in red.
I think that I need a nap now.

BktBallRef Fri Jun 28, 2013 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898710)
Once he touches the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898727)
Not true. A dribble is an action done by a player in control of the ball. If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898781)
Once he dribbles the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off.

Nobody is disagreeing with this. But that's NOT what you wrote. Read your original post. You wrote, "Once he TOUCHES the ball..."

Touching the ball does not automatically constitute a dribble NVRef and Camron have both previously pointed this out.

BillyMac Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:01pm

Corrēctiō ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 898803)
But that's NOT what you wrote. Read your original post. You wrote, "Once he TOUCHES the ball..."

Agree on the original post. Maybe you missed the title of the second post in which I stated, "Once he dribbles the ball the dribble is no longer interrupted, and all bets are off". The title: "Better ???", meaning, is the correction an improvement from the original post?

BillyMac Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:06pm

Closure ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898798)
The provision listed for a dribbler in 9-3-1 Note does not apply to a player involved in an interrupted dribble ...

... because an interrupted dribbler is no longer a dribbler. So 4-15-6-D (During an interrupted dribble: Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player involved in the interrupted dribble.) is correct.

Are we in agreement?

BillyMac Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:17pm

Closure ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 898727)
If the dribbler loses control and then touches the ball once or more in an attempt to regain control, that player is not dribbling again and the dribble is still interrupted ...

... and if said player, an interrupted dribbler, contacts the ball, and touches out of bounds, at the same time, that player has committed an out of bounds violation.

Are we in agreement?

BillyMac Sat Jun 29, 2013 12:28pm

The Rain In Spain Stays Mainly In The Plain ...
 
Player A1, while dribbling near a sideline, touches the boundary, but not at the same time that he is touching the dribbled ball. Violation 9-3-1 Note.

Player A2, while dribbling near a sideline, bounces the ball off his foot, becomes an interrupted dribbler, and while attempting to regain control of the ball, touches a boundary, when he is not in contact with the ball. No violation 4-15-6-D.

Player A3, while dribbling near a sideline, bounces the ball off his foot, becomes an interrupted dribbler, and while attempting to regain control of the ball, touches a boundary, when he is in contact, but not in control, of the ball. Violation 9-3-2.

"By George, I think she's got it."

Nevadaref Mon Jul 01, 2013 03:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 898847)
Player A1, while dribbling near a sideline, touches the boundary, but not at the same time that he is touching the dribbled ball. Violation 9-3-1 Note.

Player A2, while dribbling near a sideline, bounces the ball off his foot, becomes an interrupted dribbler, and while attempting to regain control of the ball, touches a boundary, when he is not in contact with the ball. No violation 4-15-6-D.

Player A3, while dribbling near a sideline, bounces the ball off his foot, becomes an interrupted dribbler, and while attempting to regain control of the ball, touches a boundary, when he is in contact, but not in control, of the ball. Violation 9-3-2.

"By George, I think she's got it."

I concur.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1