The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   LeBron Offensive Foul--video request (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/95192-lebron-offensive-foul-video-request.html)

OKREF Sat Jun 01, 2013 09:46pm

LeBron Offensive Foul--video request
 
Game 6. 4:18 in the 4th.

What do you all think?

JRutledge Sat Jun 01, 2013 09:57pm

Good call. No great call and not called enough at all levels.

Peace

Freddy Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:09pm

I know more about Noah's Ark than the arc under the basket in NBA.
Is it correct by that the offensive player causing contact commits a PC foul if the defender inside that arc maintains verticality?

JRutledge Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 896320)
I know more about Noah's Ark than the arc under the basket in NBA.
Is it correct by that the offensive player causing contact commits a PC foul if the defender inside that arc maintains verticality?

We discussed this before and I am sure someone will reference the actual rule again, but when a player goes airborne the arc is not at play.

Peace

AKOFL Sat Jun 01, 2013 10:48pm

i thought it was very similar to the no call involving the same players just a few minutes before. that was the lay up lebron made. thought there were a couple inconsistent calls by ref number 25. he had a few in a row in the third. the player he had where haslem slid under after the player was airborne. then a blocking foul on haslem when the offensive player was spinning out of control and crashes into him. Does the arc bail out the out of control player in this case? just my initial thoughts. they didnt show a replay of either of those

mutantducky Sat Jun 01, 2013 11:50pm

the tech one?
VIDEO: LeBron James hit with a fourth-quarter tech - CBSSports.com
Should have been a no call. Either 1. The defensive player was not established before Lebron made his move. or 2. Same time- meaning a no call. Instead the ref goes with a charge which was the incorrect call. Unusual play and call. Good one to study. Listen, my preference is for the no call. I understand people who can argue for a charge here. I've called charges here with the Def player jumping straight up. My issue is simply that Lebron makes a move to break down the D. The interior D is a split second late. It would be wrong to call it a bad call but my argument is simply that a no call was preferable.

But overall seems people are ok with the refs this game despite some calls here and there.
I kind of wonder if Wade will retire or take a year off after the season...

JetMetFan Sun Jun 02, 2013 01:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 896330)

1. The defensive player was not established before Lebron made his move.

What constitutes "made his move?"

As long as the call isn't on the defender in this play I can live with the whistle. Regarding the arc, the rule says you can't establish LGP within the arc for the sole purpose of drawing an offensive foul. You're still allowed to play defense, which is what Hibbert was doing.

AremRed Sun Jun 02, 2013 02:43am

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/oLjczxemyFw?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

mutantducky Sun Jun 02, 2013 02:50am

I thought it was good D. But not good enough to warrant a charge.
Lebron picks up his dribble just inside the ft line. Hibbert is still moving to position at this point. Its almost bang bang and I give credit for the ref for making the call. But as I said I just feel it should have been a no-call. I have no problem with someone saying it was a charge. This is a type of play that could have gone either way.
My order
1. no call
2. Charge
3. Block

Camron Rust Sun Jun 02, 2013 03:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 896337)
I thought it was good D. But not good enough to warrant a charge.
Lebron picks up his dribble just inside the ft line. Hibbert is still moving to position at this point. Its almost bang bang and I give credit for the ref for making the call. But as I said I just feel it should have been a no-call. I have no problem with someone saying it was a charge. This is a type of play that could have gone either way.
My order
1. no call
2. Charge
3. Block

Hibbert got to the position about the same time as James picked up his dribble. That was a great call. James plowed through as if he just expected the defense to get out of the way or be gifted a foul. It is great to see an offensive foul called when the defender jumps. Too many official automatically go to a block when the defender jumps. There is just way to much contact on that play for it to be a no call.

APG Sun Jun 02, 2013 03:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 896330)
the tech one?
VIDEO: LeBron James hit with a fourth-quarter tech - CBSSports.com
Should have been a no call. Either 1. The defensive player was not established before Lebron made his move. or 2. Same time- meaning a no call. Instead the ref goes with a charge which was the incorrect call. Unusual play and call. Good one to study. Listen, my preference is for the no call. I understand people who can argue for a charge here. I've called charges here with the Def player jumping straight up. My issue is simply that Lebron makes a move to break down the D. The interior D is a split second late. It would be wrong to call it a bad call but my argument is simply that a no call was preferable.

But overall seems people are ok with the refs this game despite some calls here and there.
I kind of wonder if Wade will retire or take a year off after the season...


Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 896337)
I thought it was good D. But not good enough to warrant a charge.
Lebron picks up his dribble just inside the ft line. Hibbert is still moving to position at this point. Its almost bang bang and I give credit for the ref for making the call. But as I said I just feel it should have been a no-call. I have no problem with someone saying it was a charge. This is a type of play that could have gone either way.
My order
1. no call
2. Charge
3. Block

Your deciding point about whether the defender was late or not is simply too early. Under NBA rules, for a defender to have a legal position, he must have his torso in direct path and at the spot before the offensive player starts his upward motion with the ball to shoot or pass...not simply when an offensive player has picked up their dribble. In the clip, if you pause right when it hits 21 seconds, you can see Hibbert got to the spot before LeBron starts going upward with the ball to shoot. This is the deciding point about whether a defender is late or not...not simply when he has picked up his dribble which happened well before. Also, the restricted area does not come into play here as the defender alights in a legitimate attempt to block the shot.

The only options here are a no call or charge. I personally like the charge here.

BillyMac Sun Jun 02, 2013 08:55am

Maybe "Post O' The Month" ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 896320)
I know more about Noah's Ark than the arc under the basket in NBA.

Great line. My nomination for "Post O' The Week".

rsl Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:48am

I am not an NBA ref and never will be, but this does not look like a simple block charge. Lebron leads with his elbow and uses it to clear his way for his shot.

Great call in my book!

KMBReferee Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:48am

I can't understand how people are saying there wasn't enough to warrant a charge when there was CLEAR DISPLACEMENT. Hibbert was cleared out and landed on his back.

Are you trying to tell me it was a flop? In mid air?!?

OKREF Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by KMBReferee (Post 896351)
I can't understand how people are saying there wasn't enough to warrant a charge when there was CLEAR DISPLACEMENT. Hibbert was cleared out and landed on his back.

Are you trying to tell me it was a flop? In mid air?!?

How about the LBJ flop on the foul George got?

BktBallRef Sun Jun 02, 2013 03:41pm

Great call. Not even close to being a no call or a block.

canuckrefguy Sun Jun 02, 2013 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 896365)
Great call. Not even close to being a no call or a block.

+1

This is a 'play on' - in rugby, maybe.

Gotta say, this has been an entertaining series :D

mutantducky Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:44pm

I wonder if Lebron will try to take over game 7. Wade wants to ball more but the key players are Bosh and Steph. Bosh especially needs to pick it up or the Heat could lose.
I hope there (aren't) ref issues with game 7. Looking forward too an exciting game (just less ads NBA!):mad:

APG Sun Jun 02, 2013 11:10pm

You hope there are ref issues? :confused:

If it's a close game, someone will bit** about something.

mutantducky Mon Jun 03, 2013 02:02am

sorry- edited it

maroonx Mon Jun 03, 2013 08:49am

Block I. Defender just inside marked area.

Adam Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 896432)
Block I. Defender just inside marked area.

It helps to read the entire thread sometimes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 896321)
We discussed this before and I am sure someone will reference the actual rule again, but when a player goes airborne the arc is not at play.

Peace


maroonx Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 896435)
It helps to read the entire thread sometimes.

Lol!!!!

Raymond Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:12am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 896435)
It helps to read <s>the entire thread sometimes.</s>

Fixed it for you.

maroonx Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 896437)
Fixed it for you.

Thank you and have a nice dayb

ballgame99 Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:45am

Another play very similar was no-called earlier. See play #3 below (35 seconds). I thought that one was a charge too, although the defender's verticality could be argued. Seems like too much contact to no call.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/6YVzTkBCfsY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mutantducky (Post 896337)
This is a type of play that could have gone either way.

And that is what is so absurd about the way this rule is written and interpreted. Given perfect knowledge, there should be a right answer. The reason we don't always agree on a call is that there usually isn't perfect knowledge - there are differing opinions about what caused what or what happened first... but on this play, I think everyone agrees on the order of events... yet still the call could go either way. Dumb rule.

OKREF Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:08am

Just my thought, but on that play, it looks like the defender jumps forward and not vertical. I think a block, but not a no call.

APG Mon Jun 03, 2013 11:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 896432)
Block I. Defender just inside marked area.

Pretty sure you just posted this just to troll. This freaking idea was brought up early in the thread and easy refuted well before you posted. Why in your right mind would you then post this?

VaTerp Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 896455)
Just my thought, but on that play, it looks like the defender jumps forward and not vertical. I think a block, but not a no call.

Looks like we are in a clear minority here but I agree.

I thought Hibbert jumped toward Lebron and also slightly brought his arms down causing contact with the shooter.

VaTerp Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 896523)
I think it is all a waste of time talking about this call. Miami as I predicted is blowing the garbage off the floor

Please take this to the fanboy thread. (And if the Pacers are garbage then why is this series in game 7?- and no, I don't want an answer)

This is the exact type of play that should be discussed on this forum.

JRutledge Mon Jun 03, 2013 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 896522)
Looks like we are in a clear minority here but I agree.

I thought Hibbert jumped toward Lebron and also slightly brought his arms down causing contact with the shooter.

The contact was with the chest, not the arms. If anything the contact in the chest completely displaced Hibbert. And Hibbert fell on his behind.

Peace

APG Mon Jun 03, 2013 10:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maroonx (Post 896523)
I think it is all a waste of time talking about this call. Miami as I predicted is blowing the garbage off the floor

You come to a forum dedicated to talking about officiating related topics. By happenstance, there just happens to be a section dedicated to talking about basketball officiating . And pray tell, people are actually discussing a...call made by a basketball official?

If this is a waste of time, then I'm not quite sure why you even post here.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1