APG |
Wed May 29, 2013 11:25am |
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeschmit
(Post 895832)
The travel call is a tough one because I've seen NBA (and even NCAA) players get away with MUCH worse than that before. By rule, its the correct call though.
|
Only correct under NFHS and NCAA rules...that was a legal play under NBA rules.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams
(Post 895836)
I tend to feel the same way about the travel. I know there are a couple of travels there in any other rule set. In the NBA its close a couple of times. If this is called a travel all the time I've got no problem with it, the difficulty occurs if this is a rare or isolated incident. Probably the correct call but a tough call at this level in this situation.
|
Like noted earlier, nothing illegal about this under NBA rules...if that play was called a travel all the time, that would be a problem (under that rule set).
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
(Post 895852)
Maybe APG can clarify this, but I am not so sure that is the mechanic at the NBA level the same way it is at the NCAA level. I could be wrong, but I would like to know for sure. I know I do not see the NBA officials pointing like they do at the NCAA level requires us to do.
Peace
|
For block/charge plays that involve the RA, the calling official will point to the RA if it's the sole reason for a blocking foul (as in the defender did get in the path and beat the player to the spot, but the RA applies and he's in it). Otherwise, if it would have been a blocking foul regardless, they won't point (e.g. defender gets to the spot late). Besides telling partners that they had a block for a particular reason (and thus can give help if needed), block/charge plays, in the final two minutes, that involve the RA are reviewable so they have to make the distinction.
Finally, I don't believe this is an RA play as the defender alights in a legitimate attempt to block the shot.
|