![]() |
[Video Request] Backcourt off of halfcourt pass/shot?
Hi guys,
I'm wondering if someone still has a link to the video where the guy passes/shoots at halfcourt then the ball bounces back into the backcourt with the official calling backcourt violation? Thanks in advance to anyone who finds and shares the link! |
Found it:
Kaelen Riley CHS vs Coosa - YouTube <iframe width="640" height="360" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/4HMwDfaWG2o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Quote:
|
consensus should be no backcourt. By rule, the criteria for backcourt violation are not met.
Team control ends when the ball is released on a try or tap for goal. Therefore, there can be no backcourt violation. |
Quote:
|
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/0pQMdZ32nSI" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
Here is a play from an inbound. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Not everyone gets the memo that says "call the BC like you always have, that's not what we wanted to change," and the longer that rule stays the way it is, the more this will be missed. Eventually, the rules committee will likely just adopt and accept the changes if they don't fix it soon. * The additional change is the additional requirement of "player" control in the front court. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now if this happened in the middle of the quarter, that's different. But in an end of game situation, a half court heave in the direction of the basket (that hits the basket as added evidence) ... I'm treating that like a shot. On second look, a couple other thoughts: 1) We can't see the C in the clip. Would his signal (3 pt attempt or not) matter? Perhaps the T saw that the C did not signal a shot, and therefore called the violation. 2) If you're the C and you signal a 3 pt attempt, do you run over to the T and share this with them? Again, not saying this happened since we can't see the C, but how do you administer something like this. If C signaled something that would make the T's call wrong by rule, what do you do? Is it still the T's call to change, even though the key factor (shot or no shot) occured in the C's primary? |
Quote:
The 2nd one was indeed an incorrect call, no question. |
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4HMwDfaWG2o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
On this play I would have to say no team control off the first release. Can't tell if the ball is touched by the defender but you can easily argue this was a shot attempt especially without video replay. It would be a harder sell to call this a backcourt violation. |
Quote:
If it was with 1 second left, I'd tend to consider it a shot. However, when there is plenty of time for 2-3 passes or for the ball to bounce back as far as it did, I'm not assuming it was a shot unless it looks like a shot. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am. |