![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Eh, looks like very little time left on the clock judging from everyone's reaction to the hail mary. I'm not guessing intent here as to shot versus pass. No BC violation on my part.
|
What I'd like to find out is how does an official reconcile this play if the call is ruled to be an inadvertent whistle? Would you count the basket based on when the official blew his whistle, which was at the point where the offensive player touched the ball?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the whistle blew while the ball was in the air for the last shot, you count the basket. All of this is assuming you want to go back and reverse the call. I think it's probably the right call, by rule. I'm not sure I'd make it, though, as I'm more likely to have judged it a shot. |
Where is the controversy?
In the original play, the player jumps in his backcourt. He attempts a pass to the player in the corner, the ball gets deflected by the defender. There is never player control in the front court, the ball bounces back into the backcourt where the kid makes a tremendous 3 point shot.
Count the basket with great enthusiasm and walk off to court knowing you did a job well done. If my partner blows his whistle on this for a backcourt, we're going POI, which is the ball in mid air, we're still counting that basket. Edit: I guess this wasn't the original play, this was the last second shot. Another Edit: This was the original play that was requested :) |
Quote:
Note: This post assumes the original throw is not ruled a try. Are you talking about the first video, where the official called a BC on a last second shot, or the video where there was a foul on the last second shot? |
Quote:
Shooter had gathered the ball and started his shooting motion. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
However, I can't see going intentional on that in any case. That defender just got caught in the air and was actually trying to avoid hitting him. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Had an offensive player tipped it in the FC on its way back, it would have been a violation under the old rules, and thus by intent of the committee; it would not, however, be a violation under a literal reading of 9-9-1. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51am. |