The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Dribbling and Over (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/9489-dribbling-over.html)

polo Mon Jul 28, 2003 03:36am

I've got a question...

A player is dribbling, however, the ball is over his head during dribbling. Is it a foul or not?

A player is dribbling, however, the ball is lastly held while it is over his head. Is it a foul or not?

Thanks ...


Nevadaref Mon Jul 28, 2003 03:58am

It is never a foul; it may be a violation though.
I think your language is too imprecise to give you an answer, but I'll try.
1. If the player is simply dribbling the ball very high, including over his head, it is not against any of the rules.
2.a. If the player is holding the ball over his head and then starts his first dribble from there by throwing the ball down, this is a legal play.
2.b. If the player is dribbling very high, and during a high dribble above the level of his head the ball comes to rest in his hand before being dribbled again, it is a double-dribble violation.

polo Mon Jul 28, 2003 05:41am

Noted with thanks for you detailed answer... however, if the player dribbles normally, and the ball finally rebounds above his head. But he holds the ball and doesn't dribble any more, then is it okay or a violation?

In another wordings, suppose a dribble is defined to be ended, if the player holds the ball by one / two hand(s). Then is it a violation, if the ball is over his head before a dribble ends?

BktBallRef Mon Jul 28, 2003 09:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by polo
Noted with thanks for you detailed answer... however, if the player dribbles normally, and the ball finally rebounds above his head. But he holds the ball and doesn't dribble any more, then is it okay or a violation?

In another wordings, suppose a dribble is defined to be ended, if the player holds the ball by one / two hand(s). Then is it a violation, if the ball is over his head before a dribble ends?

The ball being over his head has ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to do with it. A player can dribble the ball as high as he wants to. This is a common misconception among fans, players, and coaches.

If he holds the ball or touches it with two hands, then the dribble has ended. But there's nothing illegal about a dribble that goes over a dribbler's head.

polo Mon Jul 28, 2003 08:40pm

Well Noted, thanks.

TH_indiana Tue Jul 29, 2003 06:06pm

Just my 2 cents to get in the "flow".
What I have noticed, especially with the younger kids.... once they stop the dribble after the ball has went above shoulder height, the most common violation is a travel as they tend to take a couple of extra steps before securing the ball.

rainmaker Tue Jul 29, 2003 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TH_indiana
Just my 2 cents to get in the "flow".
What I have noticed, especially with the younger kids.... once they stop the dribble after the ball has went above shoulder height, the most common violation is a travel as they tend to take a couple of extra steps before securing the ball.

This isn't a travel until they are "holding" the ball. If it's just sort of "loose" in the air, and the player has not yet "held" it (hand under, or two hands on) he or she can take as many steps as desired. Maybe this is another of those mis-called plays as mentioned in another thread.

TH_indiana Tue Jul 29, 2003 06:37pm

This isn't a travel until they are "holding" the ball. If it's just sort of "loose" in the air, and the player has not yet "held" it (hand under, or two hands on) he or she can take as many steps as desired. Maybe this is another of those mis-called plays as mentioned in another thread.

(can you tell me how I can make the above "paste" of your reply to appear in bold fonts?)

We are in agreement here. A young player trying to gain control will invariably either place one hand under the ball OR contact the ball with both hands. And, almost as invaribly will take an extra step or two or three or four before securing the ball.

BktBallRef Tue Jul 29, 2003 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TH_indiana
We are in agreement here. A young player trying to gain control will invariably either place one hand under the ball OR contact the ball with both hands. And, almost as invaribly will take an extra step or two or three or four before securing the ball.
This isn't traveling. It's certainly an illegal dribble but the player isn't holding the ball, therefore, it isn't traveling.

Wanna take my Traveling Quiz? ;)

TH_indiana Tue Jul 29, 2003 07:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef

This isn't traveling. It's certainly an illegal dribble but the player isn't holding the ball, therefore, it isn't traveling.

Wanna take my Traveling Quiz? ;)

YES!! sounds like I need to take a quiz! (do I have to further embarass myself in front of the whole board?)

ChuckElias Tue Jul 29, 2003 10:10pm

TH_Indiana? When did Tony move to Indy?

And why is he replying to his own posts? :confused:

mick Tue Jul 29, 2003 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TH_indiana
This isn't a travel until they are "holding" the ball. If it's just sort of "loose" in the air, and the player has not yet "held" it (hand under, or two hands on) he or she can take as many steps as desired. Maybe this is another of those mis-called plays as mentioned in another thread.

(can you tell me how I can make the above "paste" of your reply to appear in bold fonts?)

We are in agreement here. A young player trying to gain control will invariably either place one hand under the ball OR contact the ball with both hands. And, almost as invaribly will take an extra step or two or three or four before securing the ball.

Push quote, then type..., Rook.
Welcome here. ;)


BktBallRef Wed Jul 30, 2003 07:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
TH_Indiana? When did Tony move to Indy?

And why is he replying to his own posts? :confused:

Bizarro world. ;)

BktBallRef Wed Jul 30, 2003 07:48am

Here ya go, Rook!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by TH_indiana
YES!! sounds like I need to take a quiz! (do I have to further embarass myself in front of the whole board?)
TRAVELING OR NOT?

Play #1 - A1 is holding the ball. Her left foot is her pivot foot. She steps with her right foot and starts to throw a pass. However, a defender leaps in front of her at the last possible moment. She holds onto the ball put lifts her pivot foot. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #2 - A2 passes the ball to A1. A1 is holding the ball and being guarded by B1. A1 tosses the ball over B1's head and takes off around B1. After the ball hits the floor, A1 grabs it, takes one step, and shoots the ball for a lay-up. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #3 - A1 is dribbling on a fast break. He passes the ball ahead to A2, who is running down the court. He muffs the catch, bobbles the ball but succeeds in securing control before it strikes the floor. A2 took four steps after he initially touched the ball, before securing it. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #4 - A1 is in position for a rebound. He taps the rebound into the air to prevent a defender from gaining possession. He taps the ball into the air 4 times and takes 5 steps while trying to keep the ball away from the opponent. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #5 - A1 dives for a loose ball on the floor. She gains control of the ball but continues to slide before coming to a stop and requesting a timeout. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #6 - A1 falls to the floor and is lying on her back when she recovers a loose ball. She sits up and passes the ball to A2. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #7 - A1 is out of bounds for a spot throw-in. After the ball is placed at her disposal. She runs the baseline. Is this a traveling violation? Why or why not?

Play #8 - A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #9 - Dribbler A1 catches the ball with the right foot touching the floor and then jumps off that foot and alights on both feet simultaneously with one foot in advance of the other. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Play #10 - Airborne A1 and A2 jointly grab the rebound and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other before realizing they are teammates. A1 lets go and A2 dribbles away. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 30, 2003 08:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
[/B]
TRAVELING OR NOT?

[/B][/QUOTE]I know! I know! Pick me! Pick me! :D

http://www.uselessgraphics.com/school2.gif

Back In The Saddle Wed Jul 30, 2003 02:25pm

Travelling or not?
 
Okay, I'll bite :)

1-Not a violation, however it is odd looking and she must pass or shoot before returning the foot to the floor. She may not begin a dribble as she has already lifted her pivot foot.

2-Violation, player may not pass to himself. It is not a dribble because the ball was not sent directly to the floor.

3-Not a violation, A2 did not have control of the ball.

4-Not a violation, A1 did not have control of the ball. Also, A did not have team control...does that matter?

5-Not a violation, as per some case book play, I believe.

6-Violation, as per case book play

7-Not a TRAVELLING violation, this is a throw-in violation

8-Not a violation, this is a legitimate shot attempt, thus no player control and no travelling.

9-Not a violation, this is a legal jump stop since his feet landed simultaneously

10-Violation, if two teammates both have possession of the ball, if either one of them moves a foot, it's a travel.

How'd I do? :)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 30, 2003 02:57pm

Re: Travelling or not?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle

How'd I do?

Not bad,but you didn't get 'em all right. BktBallRef will probably tell you why after a few more people take the test.

TH_indiana Wed Jul 30, 2003 05:13pm

Re: Here ya go, Rook!
 
Questions posted by BktBallRef

TRAVELING OR NOT?

Play #1 - A1 is holding the ball. Her left foot is her pivot foot. She steps with her right foot and starts to throw a pass. However, a defender leaps in front of her at the last possible moment. She holds onto the ball put lifts her pivot foot. Is this a violation? Why or why not?


My Answer: NOT..... not until the pivot foot returns to the floor.

Play #2 - A2 passes the ball to A1. A1 is holding the ball and being guarded by B1. A1 tosses the ball over B1's head and takes off around B1. After the ball hits the floor, A1 grabs it, takes one step, and shoots the ball for a lay-up. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: VIOLATION.....not sure on this one...but I don't think a player can "pass" to himself (this is NOT an honest "try" for a goal as in question #8)

Play #3 - A1 is dribbling on a fast break. He passes the ball ahead to A2, who is running down the court. He muffs the catch, bobbles the ball but succeeds in securing control before it strikes the floor. A2 took four steps after he initially touched the ball, before securing it. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: NOT.....there has to be control before a travel can occur.


Play #4 - A1 is in position for a rebound. He taps the rebound into the air to prevent a defender from gaining possession. He taps the ball into the air 4 times and takes 5 steps while trying to keep the ball away from the opponent. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: VIOLATION.....sounds to me as if these are "controlled" taps, his hand must be under the ball to be tapping (not sure if that has anything to do with it or not)

Play #5 - A1 dives for a loose ball on the floor. She gains control of the ball but continues to slide before coming to a stop and requesting a timeout. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: NOT.....if she makes no attempt to get up or rollover....this is NOT a violation.


Play #6 - A1 falls to the floor and is lying on her back when she recovers a loose ball. She sits up and passes the ball to A2. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: VIOLATION....the player made an attempt to get up....I call travel.

Play #7 - A1 is out of bounds for a spot throw-in. After the ball is placed at her disposal. She runs the baseline. Is this a traveling violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: VIOLATION.....A throw in violation, but NOT a travel.


Play #8 - A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: NOT.....a player may catch his own missed shot attempt (when will players get "savy" enough to make it look like a shot just to get out of a bad situation? I don't care for this rule btw!)

Play #9 - Dribbler A1 catches the ball with the right foot touching the floor and then jumps off that foot and alights on both feet simultaneously with one foot in advance of the other. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer: NOT....as long as the feet alight "simultaneously"...alignment has nothing to do with it.

Play #10 - Airborne A1 and A2 jointly grab the rebound and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other before realizing they are teammates. A1 lets go and A2 dribbles away. Is this a violation? Why or why not?

My Answer NOT.....teammates may have simultaneous control as long as neither travels.


OK...those are my answers without referring to the book....I figure I'll do that when I get corrected! (thanks Bkt)........


TH_indiana Wed Jul 30, 2003 05:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
TH_Indiana? When did Tony move to Indy?

And why is he replying to his own posts? :confused:

Names Tim.....not Tony.....is it wrong to reply to your own posts (is that like talking to yourself??)

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 30, 2003 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TH_indiana
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
TH_Indiana? When did Tony move to Indy?

And why is he replying to his own posts? :confused:

Names Tim.....not Tony.....is it wrong to reply to your own posts (is that like talking to yourself??)

Tony(BktBallRef) posts over on the McGriff board as TH. Make sense now?

Btw,you did good on the test. Not perfect,though! :D

BktBallRef Wed Jul 30, 2003 08:54pm

Well, we have a 60 and a 70 so far, in no particular order. :p

mick Wed Jul 30, 2003 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Well, we have a 60 and a 70 so far, in no particular order. :p

BktBallRef rules.

http://animatedgif.net/devilish/winkingdevil_e0.gif

Back In The Saddle Thu Jul 31, 2003 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Well, we have a 60 and a 70 so far, in no particular order. :p
So I'm dying to know...do I get the C or the D? :D

Back In The Saddle Sat Aug 02, 2003 01:54am

Traveling quiz--Take 2
 
Since nobody else has jumped in, I figure it's fair game to retake this and actually do the homework this time :D

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef


TRAVELING OR NOT?

Play #1 - A1 is holding the ball. Her left foot is her pivot foot. She steps with her right foot and starts to throw a pass. However, a defender leaps in front of her at the last possible moment. She holds onto the ball put lifts her pivot foot. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. 4-43-3 ...After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot: a) The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the floor, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal. See also case 4.43.3 C

Play #2 - A2 passes the ball to A1. A1 is holding the ball and being guarded by B1. A1 tosses the ball over B1's head and takes off around B1. After the ball hits the floor, A1 grabs it, takes one step, and shoots the ball for a lay-up. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. Since A1 allowed the ball to hit the floor before touching it again, she/he began a dribble. See case 4.14.4 E

Play #3 - A1 is dribbling on a fast break. He passes the ball ahead to A2, who is running down the court. He muffs the catch, bobbles the ball but succeeds in securing control before it strikes the floor. A2 took four steps after he initially touched the ball, before securing it. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. Traveling is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball. A2 is clearly not holding the ball during the four steps, nor is he in control of it. See case 4.43 A

Play #4 - A1 is in position for a rebound. He taps the rebound into the air to prevent a defender from gaining possession. He taps the ball into the air 4 times and takes 5 steps while trying to keep the ball away from the opponent. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. 4-15-4 Note 2: A player is not dribbling while...he/she bats a rebound or pass away from other players who are attempting to get it. The player is not in control under these conditions. No control, no holding, no traveling.

Play #5 - A1 dives for a loose ball on the floor. She gains control of the ball but continues to slide before coming to a stop and requesting a timeout. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. Case 4.43.5 B: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble, or call a time-out.

Play #6 - A1 falls to the floor and is lying on her back when she recovers a loose ball. She sits up and passes the ball to A2. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. Case 4.43.5 B: If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating.

Play #7 - A1 is out of bounds for a spot throw-in. After the ball is placed at her disposal. She runs the baseline. Is this a traveling violation? Why or why not?
Not a traveling violation 4-41 note: ...Pivot foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in.

Play #8 - A1 attempts a try after ending the dribble. The try does not touch the backboard, the rim or any other player. A1 runs and is able to catch the ball before it strikes the floor. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. Team control ended with the shot, therefore A1 is entitled to recover the ball and dribble, pass, shoot, etc. Case 4.43 B

Play #9 - Dribbler A1 catches the ball with the right foot touching the floor and then jumps off that foot and alights on both feet simultaneously with one foot in advance of the other. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. 4-43-2-a-3 See also case 4.43.2 A

Play #10 - Airborne A1 and A2 jointly grab the rebound and each alights simultaneously on both feet. A1 and A2 each move one foot in attempting to wrestle the ball from each other before realizing they are teammates. A1 lets go and A2 dribbles away. Is this a violation? Why or why not?
No violation. Neither player has moved his/her pivot foot. Case 4.43.2 B


Jurassic Referee Sat Aug 02, 2003 09:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Many are old enough, wise enough and gentlemanly enough to save the end of a story for the storyteller.

Amen,mick. Especially when the storyteller spends so much time and effort to tell the story.

BktBallRef Sat Aug 02, 2003 06:14pm

:(

Mark Dexter Sat Aug 02, 2003 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
:(
Awwwww . . . . cheer up, Tony!

http://www.uselessgraphics.com/cart96.gif

Nevadaref Sat Aug 02, 2003 11:42pm

Thanks, Mick. Being young, I tend to get overeager sometimes.
With apologies to Tony, the post has been deleted. :(

[Edited by Nevadaref on Aug 2nd, 2003 at 11:47 PM]

mick Sun Aug 03, 2003 07:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Thanks, Mick. Being young, I tend to get overeager sometimes.
With apologies to Tony, the post has been deleted. :(


We live.
We learn.

ChuckElias Sun Aug 03, 2003 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
We live.
We learn.

Wow, mick, I didn't realize you were a fan of Alannis Morissette!

mick Sun Aug 03, 2003 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by mick
We live.
We learn.

Wow, mick, I didn't realize you were a fan of Alannis Morissette!

Gordon Lightfoot
Dianah Ross
Percy Faith
Chase

Mark Dexter Sun Aug 03, 2003 10:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mick
Quote:

Originally posted by Nevadaref
Thanks, Mick. Being young, I tend to get overeager sometimes.
With apologies to Tony, the post has been deleted. :(


We live.
We learn.


And then we get Luvs!

BktBallRef Sun Aug 03, 2003 10:08pm

TH_Indiana and BITS, indeed none of the plays are traveling violations. Most are traveling myths that most fans, many players and coaches and some officials believe to be violations. But now, I'm sure you've got'em down pat! ;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1