The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Duke-Louisville blocking clip (Hairston 1st half) (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94627-duke-louisville-blocking-clip-hairston-1st-half.html)

JetMetFan Mon Apr 01, 2013 05:33am

Duke-Louisville blocking clip (Hairston 1st half)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 887961)
Block. 2:13. First half.

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/bPkXtdEQBf0?rel=0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JugglingReferee Mon Apr 01, 2013 07:26am

What did B1 do wrong? Did he stand there incorrectly?

Camron Rust Mon Apr 01, 2013 02:55pm

Not a block.

And were the lead and "C" exchanging post game plans? They could have nearly touched each other. Looks like the someone missed the rotation (not that it would have improved the call had they not missed the rotation).

icallfouls Mon Apr 01, 2013 03:38pm

L was in rotation at start of clip. C was ref'ing backwards and had no awareness the L had begun a rotation.

The C would have had to be in rotation immediately as the L started to cross the lane for them not to be that close.

Other than that, the defender did a slight position adjustment to his right. The defender is allowed to move laterally and back once LGP is established, contact was still torso to torso, the offense was in the least advantageous position prior to contact. I would have a hard time calling anything but a PC.

PS. Where are all those travel guys on this play? :)

twocentsworth Mon Apr 01, 2013 03:44pm

A few seconds AFTER this video, CBS showed a replay from the camera located above the basket and CLEARLY showed Hairston illegally moving to his right prior to/during the contact.

This was correctly called.

Keep in mind that each call/judgement an official makes is predicated on his view/his positioning. Doug Shows had a different and much better view of this play (as confirmed by the replay angle from above the basket). The view that an official has is the difference between getting the call correct and getting it wrong.

Camron Rust Mon Apr 01, 2013 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 888387)
A few seconds AFTER this video, CBS showed a replay from the camera located above the basket and CLEARLY showed Hairston illegally moving to his right prior to/during the contact.

This was correctly called.


All fine and good except that nothing about moving right is illegal or makes the defender's position illegal (the shooter was still on the floor up to the point of contact).

Incorrect call.

icallfouls Mon Apr 01, 2013 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 888387)
A few seconds AFTER this video, CBS showed a replay from the camera located above the basket and CLEARLY showed Hairston illegally moving to his right prior to/during the contact.

This was correctly called.

Keep in mind that each call/judgement an official makes is predicated on his view/his positioning. Doug Shows had a different and much better view of this play (as confirmed by the replay angle from above the basket). The view that an official has is the difference between getting the call correct and getting it wrong ~ (obviously and if your eyes are open you will have a much better chance to get it right ) .

A player that has LGP can move left, right or back, not forward. The defender is not required to remain planted.

twocentsworth Mon Apr 01, 2013 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by icallfouls (Post 888397)
A player that has LGP can move left, right or back, not forward. The defender is not required to remain planted.

You are absolutely correct.

Except for the part about the Duke defender having LGP prior to the UL player leaving the ground to shoot.

Adam Mon Apr 01, 2013 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 888409)
You are absolutely correct.

Except for the part about the Duke defender having LGP prior to the UL player leaving the ground to shoot.

Are you watching the same clip? He didn't leave the floor to shoot until after he knocked the defender down.

icallfouls Mon Apr 01, 2013 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 888410)
Are you watching the same clip? He didn't leave the floor to shoot until after he knocked the defender down.

.02worth is in peso's. ;)

icallfouls Mon Apr 01, 2013 04:24pm

The other thing about this particular play is when the UL player pushes off the right leg there is no possible way for him to make contact by going into the defense. As soon as UL puts left foot on the floor again, he changes direction and goes into the defender, UL initiates contact that is not otherwise possible.

JRutledge Mon Apr 01, 2013 04:48pm

I cannot see how this is a block at all. The defender hardly moved.

Peace

Larks Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:09pm

Charge

referee99 Tue Apr 02, 2013 09:32am

Charge.
 
Now, put this same play in a thousand high school gyms across the country. Boys, girls, rural, city. Exact same play.

What percentage of high school officials call this a block?

I would say at LEAST 75%. At least.

Adam Tue Apr 02, 2013 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by referee99 (Post 888558)
Now, put this same play in a thousand high school gyms across the country. Boys, girls, rural, city. Exact same play.

What percentage of high school officials call this a block?

I would say at LEAST 75%. At least.

1. Doubt it. He'd been in LGP since Tuesday.
2. It's really hard to use this clip to denigrate high school refs when it was missed by an Elite 8 level NCAA official.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1