The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 30, 2003, 03:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
If the rule says "touching the basket", then your scenario would be technically BI, and I admit that I would have a very hard time calling it if the ball were merely touching the outside edge of the ring.
Rule 4-5-1--"Basket interference occurs when a player touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket". Note that it says "on the basket",not "on top of the basket".
Doesn't "on" mean "on top"? If it's touching the side of the rim, it's not on the basket, is it?

Quote:
Now,are you gonna call BI if the ball is going up,is within the mesh going up,and hasn't gone through the ring yet,and someone now touches it?.
Yes.

Quote:
Are you also gonna call BI if someone touches the ball while it is on the way up and the ball happens to be touching,or "on" the mesh or the ring.
No, b/c touching the net is not the same as being on the basket. Just my opinion.

Chuck
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1