| BillyMac | 
			Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:52pm | 
		 
		 
		 
		
			Misty Water Color Memories ...   
		
		
		
	Quote: 
	
	
		
			 
			
				
					Originally Posted by maven
					(Post 884029)
				 
				A tap is still not the same as a try. That's why NFHS rules define both terms. Nor is it a distinction without a difference. You can score on a tap with .3 seconds on the clock. 
			
			 
		 | 
	 
	 
 Good point, I apologize if I confused anybody, especially the young'uns. 
 
I was referring to the olden days when a player fouled in the act of tapping a ball toward the basket was either awarded the ball out of bounds, or a one and one, and was not awarded two shots, because a tap wasn't treated the same as a try in terms of the act of shooting.
 
At least that's how I remember it. I'm sure that Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. will be moseying along shortly to confirm, or deny, my statement.  
	 |