The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A few questions (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94293-few-questions.html)

Official Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:52pm

A few questions
 
I was curious about a few things.

1) On an OOB throw in if the in-bounder steps onto the court before releasing the ball is this a violation or does the in-bounder have to step completely over the line?

2) Can a time-out be requested by a player in the air falling out of bounds or into the backcourt?

3) My understanding: A player can pivot after a jump if they gathered the ball mid-air but if the player gathered the ball prior to jumping they may not use a pivot after the completion of the jump stop?

4) Traveling related again: How far does a player actually have to roll over with possession of the ball to be considered a travel. I've seen players in college roll over and call a timeout with possession.

5) Does the closely guarded count continue if ANY defender is within 6 ft of the offensive player with the ball.
-Meaning if defender A is closely guarding offensive player A while the closely guarded count is at 3 seconds and then defender B switches over to offensive player A while defender A is no longer closely guarding the offensive player.

Adam Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:09am

1. I'm not sure what your question is, but if the thrower touches any inbounds portion of the court while in possession of the ball, it's a violation.

2. Yes (high school).

3. Correct.

4. Most consider 90 degrees to be traveling, but it's up for interpretation. If he's turning to request timeout, he's likely to get the timeout.

5. In high school, as long as the defense has someone within six feet, the count continues.

JRutledge Fri Mar 08, 2013 12:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883615)
1) On an OOB throw in if the in-bounder steps onto the court before releasing the ball is this a violation or does the in-bounder have to step completely over the line?

The line is out of bounds. You have to step onto the court or not the line to be considered in-bounds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883615)
2) Can a time-out be requested by a player in the air falling out of bounds or into the backcourt?

Yes in NF rules. It NCAA rules no you cannot if the issue is going out of bounds. Not sure the rule applies to the backcourt.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883615)
3) My understanding: A player can pivot after a jump if they gathered the ball mid-air but if the player gathered the ball prior to jumping they may not use a pivot after the completion of the jump stop?

A lot you are asking here. That depends on what you call a jump stop. But if you jump complete a legal jump stop after a dribble being stopped, then yes you cannot use a pivot foot. If you are talking about catching the ball in the air, the first foot or both foot may be used if the right things take place.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883615)
4) Traveling related again: How far does a player actually have to roll over with possession of the ball to be considered a travel. I've seen players in college roll over and call a timeout with possession.

You cannot roll over while on the floor. It is not a matter of length or timing. But of course you must have possession of the ball. And rolling over would not be by many considered simply turning.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883615)
5) Does the closely guarded count continue if ANY defender is within 6 ft of the offensive player with the ball.
-Meaning if defender A is closely guarding offensive player A while the closely guarded count is at 3 seconds and then defender B switches over to offensive player A while defender A is no longer closely guarding the offensive player.

It does in NF Rules. NCAA rules require a different count for a different player.

Peace

Official Fri Mar 08, 2013 01:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 883618)
The line is out of bounds. You have to step onto the court or not the line to be considered in-bounds.



A lot you are asking here. That depends on what you call a jump stop. But if you jump complete a legal jump stop after a dribble being stopped, then yes you cannot use a pivot foot. If you are talking about catching the ball in the air, the first foot or both foot may be used if the right things take place.



You cannot roll over while on the floor. It is not a matter of length or timing. But of course you must have possession of the ball. And rolling over would not be by many considered simply turning.



Peace

For the first question I asked that wrong. If the inbounder steps on the (out of bounds) line and then throws the ball in is this legal? What about stepping completely over the inbounds line and throwing it in?
Thanks for the help.

APG Fri Mar 08, 2013 01:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883620)
For the first question I asked that wrong. If the inbounder steps on the (out of bounds) line and then throws the ball in is this legal? What about stepping completely over the inbounds line and throwing it in?
Thanks for the help.

On the line is legal...if any portion of the foot is touching inbounds, violation.

deecee Fri Mar 08, 2013 01:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883620)
For the first question I asked that wrong. If the inbounder steps on the (out of bounds) line and then throws the ball in is this legal? What about stepping completely over the inbounds line and throwing it in?
Thanks for the help.

If a players in bounds is dribbling the ball and steps on the OOB line then what is that?

So if on an inbounds play the inbounder steps on the line what do you have? You can't have it both ways and have the line be both inbounds AND out of bounds. It's one or the other.

JRutledge Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Official (Post 883620)
For the first question I asked that wrong. If the inbounder steps on the (out of bounds) line and then throws the ball in is this legal? What about stepping completely over the inbounds line and throwing it in?
Thanks for the help.

Keep in mind many out of bound lines can be rather big and it would make little sense if that line was illegal to step on. Others answered the question properly, but I wanted to make it clear that those lines could be bigger than the minimum requirement the rules allow.

Peace

bob jenkins Fri Mar 08, 2013 08:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 883618)
Yes in NF rules. It NCAA rules no you cannot if the issue is going out of bounds. Not sure the rule applies to the backcourt.

An airborne player cannot be granted a TO in NCAA for OOB or backcourt.

Hugh Refner Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 883618)
You cannot roll over while on the floor. It is not a matter of length or timing. But of course you must have possession of the ball. And rolling over would not be by many considered simply turning. Peace

What if you dive for a loose ball and your momentum causes you to roll with it?

MD Longhorn Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 883624)
If a players in bounds is dribbling the ball and steps on the OOB line then what is that?

So if on an inbounds play the inbounder steps on the line what do you have? You can't have it both ways and have the line be both inbounds AND out of bounds. It's one or the other.

It's out of bounds. No one has said differently. The entirety of the line is out of bounds.

MD Longhorn Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 883795)
What if you dive for a loose ball and your momentum causes you to roll with it?

You travelled.

Hugh Refner Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 883797)
You travelled.

Yep - I screwed up. You and Rut are right. It's sliding, not rolling, that's allowed by the "momentum situation".

JetMetFan Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 883795)
What if you dive for a loose ball and your momentum causes you to roll with it?

NFHS 4.44.5 SITUATION B:

A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without *violating?

RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is *traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball.

=======================

NCAA A.R. 135. Is it traveling when a player:

(3) Gains control of the ball while sliding on the playing court and then, because of momentum, rolls or slides, after which the player passes or starts a dribble before getting to his or her feet?

RULING:
(3) No. The player may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a timeout. Once the player has the ball and is no longer sliding, he or she may not roll over. When flat on his or her back, the player may sit up without violating. When the player puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is the first to touch the ball, it also is traveling. When a player rises to his or her feet while holding the ball and moves the pivot foot, it is traveling. When a player falls to one knee while holding the ball, it is traveling if the pivot foot moves.

Camron Rust Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 883795)
What if you dive for a loose ball and your momentum causes you to roll with it?

Legal.

All movements as part of the momentum are legal. Only once momentum has ceased does rolling over become a travel.

bob jenkins Fri Mar 08, 2013 04:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 883796)
It's out of bounds. No one has said differently. The entirety of the line is out of bounds.

I think deecee was using his question to get the OP to see how to answer the OP's question.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 883797)
You travelled.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh Refner (Post 883800)
Yep - I screwed up. You and Rut are right. It's sliding, not rolling, that's allowed by the "momentum situation".

hmm.... ;)

fullor30 Fri Mar 08, 2013 05:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 883802)
Legal.

All movements as part of the momentum are legal. Only once momentum has ceased does rolling over become a travel.



I may have learned something...... really?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1