![]() |
|
|||
Resumption Of Play Procedure ...
10.1.5 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled by B1 during an unsuccessful try and is
awarded two free throws. Team B requests and is granted a charged 60-second time-out. Team B disregards the 15-second warning signal and the signal ending the time-out and is still huddling with their coach at the end of the charged timeout. RULING: The official shall administer the first free throw using the resumption- of-play procedure and a violation occurs if it is missed. If two B players are not in the required position when the official is ready to put the ball in play for the substitute throw, a delay of game technical foul will be assessed. If the first attempt is good, the same procedure is used for the second. (9-1-2; 10-1-5b)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Quote:
This is a lane space violation and the rules regarding lane spaces is what would apply. It is pretty clear that they only want the first of those is to be penalized. Assuming the teammate of the shooter is not already there when the ball is made live, the lack of a defender being in the first space occurs the moment the ball is live and all other lane space violations are ignored. If the teammate of the shooter is there at the time the ball is made live, then it is a simultaneous violation and both are penalized (and the referee is slapped).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 28, 2013 at 03:31am. |
|
|||
I'm going to disagree. 9-1-2 makes it absolutely clear that the lane spaces must be properly occupied as in 8-1-4 which says during a free throw, the first spaces shall be occupied by opponents of the free thrower and no teammate of the free thrower can occupy these spaces. Essentially, the situation is the same as the casebook play where the defense and offense are in the wrong spaces 9.1.2: the defense is not in the first spaces and the offense is and should be ruled accordingly to that caseplay IMO.
Last edited by billyu2; Wed Feb 27, 2013 at 10:21pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If, in the RoP situation, the shooting team was in the wrong when the ball was put at the disposal of the shooter, I'd agree as both violations occur at that time. However, in the OP, the teammate of the shooter changed spots after the shooter had the ball. The opponent already violated, then the teammate left his original spot and violated. That case is no different than stepping in early but it happened to be into a neighboring space. It could have been into the lane or up one space. It doesn't really matter where they go....they have violated by leaving the space they were in and not so much by going into the specific space reserved for the defense. Only the first violation (the defensive violation) is penalized.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Feb 28, 2013 at 03:40am. |
|
|||
If both offenders are in a marked lane-space, the second violation is ignored, as in penalty item (2).
Quote:
Therefore, what we have is more akin to a defender outside the 3pt line committing a violation by entering the 3pt area, then an offensive player in a marked lane space leaving his space too early. That is a double violation. I'm going with Bob's original answer in post #2. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by billyu2; Thu Feb 28, 2013 at 09:16am. |
|
|||
Quote:
I think the "ignore the second" is in place because the committee thinks it's unreasonable for someone in a lane space NOT to react to someone else moving in early -- it's similar to the "only the fake is penalized" reasoning. In this play, there's no reason for the offensive player to react. So, I'm penalizing him/her, too. |
|
|||
Quote:
In this case, leaving one of the bottom spaces open is NOT a violation by the defense, but would still be a violation by the offense should one of its players step into there. So according to this ruling, even if Team B players are not there, it is a violation for a Team A player to go into there. Of course, in this particular case, there would not be a first violation for anyone to consider how it impacts the second one. 2003-04 NFHS BASKETBALL RULES INTERPRETATIONS SITUATION 2: Team A started the game with seven team members in the scorebook. All team members foul out but one, A1. Team A is leading by eight points with 38 seconds left in the game with a chance to win. A1 fouls B2 with Team B in the bonus. A1 occupies one of the first marked lane spaces for the free throw, with no teammate to occupy the other required space. RULING: By rule, a team may continue to play with one player if that team has an opportunity to win the game. Accordingly, since Team A can only put one player in the required free-throw marked lane space, it cannot be penalized. Further, Team B may not occupy the first marked lane space left vacant by Team A. (3-1-1 Note, 8-1-3) |
|
||||
Quote:
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree. In fact, if I remember, the rule use to be it was a double violation if B violated first followed by A. Isn't that correct? |
|
|||
Correct. This changed about six seasons ago to the current ruling.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Anyway, I am taking back my change of thinking on this and going back to what I said earlier. Nevada and Bob reconvinced me. Penalize both of them as it is not a situation of both players being in marked lane spaces. Can't believe I forgot Rule #3 of this forum: Always listen to Bob! ![]() |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Resumption of Play | jdmara | Basketball | 12 | Thu Nov 19, 2009 08:26pm |
Resumption of play | jdmara | Basketball | 7 | Sat Nov 01, 2008 01:18am |
Resumption of Play???? | joseph2493 | Basketball | 27 | Fri Feb 15, 2008 10:27am |
Resumption of play | Mendy Trent | Basketball | 6 | Wed Oct 11, 2006 08:34am |
Resumption of play?? | ref4e | Basketball | 7 | Tue Jan 22, 2002 11:14pm |