The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Odd plays... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/94182-odd-plays.html)

egj13 Mon Feb 25, 2013 02:37pm

Odd plays...
 
A couple of odd plays during District tournaments here...

Play 1: Team A inbounding the ball on their own endline, down 2, 4.3 seconds to go. Team A calls time out, which they have none remaining. Officials issue the T, go to the other end and shoot two which the girl hits both. Then for some reason..I still don't get it...they take the ball back to A's endline, give A possesion :eek:, they inbound hit a three and time expires. Luckily B still won by 1.

Play 2:
A1 drives, fouled by B1 team A is in the bonus. A1 shoots the first and misses, B rebounds and starts down the floor and the table hits the buzzer. They tell the officials that B1 has fouled out they just hadn't caught it before the free throw. The officials wipe off everything that happened between the foul and the ensuing possession by B. The girl goes back to the line and hits both free throws.

Welpe Mon Feb 25, 2013 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 881806)

Play 1: Team A inbounding the ball on their own endline, down 2, 4.3 seconds to go. Team A calls time out, which they have none remaining. Officials issue the T, go to the other end and shoot two which the girl hits both. Then for some reason..I still don't get it...they take the ball back to A's endline, give A possesion :eek:, they inbound hit a three and time expires. Luckily B still won by 1.

Sounds like NCAA enforcement to me but I'm not up enough on those rules to know for sure.

Quote:

Play 2:
A1 drives, fouled by B1 team A is in the bonus. A1 shoots the first and misses, B inbounds and starts down the floor and the table hits the buzzer. They tell the officials that B1 has fouled out they just hadn't caught it before the free throw. The officials wipe off everything that happened between the foul and the ensuing possession by B. The girl goes back to the line and hits both free throws.
Oops.

bob jenkins Mon Feb 25, 2013 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 881808)
Sounds like NCAA enforcement to me but I'm not up enough on those rules to know for sure.

NCAAM rule. NCAAW rules include inbounding the ball at POI to the offended team on an excess TO.

egj13 Mon Feb 25, 2013 03:37pm

Ahh...I learned something today. The one official that I knew from the game does do NCAAM so possibly he got confused.

Nevadaref Tue Feb 26, 2013 05:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 881826)
Ahh...I learned something today. The one official that I knew from the game does do NCAAM so possibly he got confused.

That's just sad.

If one can't keep the NFHS rules straight from those of the NCAA, then one should pick a level and officiate just that instead of screwing up games. :(

JetMetFan Tue Feb 26, 2013 06:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 881957)
That's just sad.

If one can't keep the NFHS rules straight from those of the NCAA, then one should pick a level and officiate just that instead of screwing up games. :(

Folks forget. It happens. Not to say it's acceptable but it happens.

Last season I worked with a guy in a GV game in NJ, meaning NFHS rules as opposed to the modified NCAAW I'm used to for GV in NYC. The guy wanted to go POI after a T and I had to tell him - twice - that's not the rule. If anything I figured I'd be the one to forget.

fullor30 Wed Feb 27, 2013 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 881806)
A couple of odd plays during District tournaments here...

Play 1: Team A inbounding the ball on their own endline, down 2, 4.3 seconds to go. Team A calls time out, which they have none remaining. Officials issue the T, go to the other end and shoot two which the girl hits both. Then for some reason..I still don't get it...they take the ball back to A's endline, give A possesion :eek:, they inbound hit a three and time expires. Luckily B still won by 1.

Play 2:
A1 drives, fouled by B1 team A is in the bonus. A1 shoots the first and misses, B inbounds and starts down the floor and the table hits the buzzer. They tell the officials that B1 has fouled out they just hadn't caught it before the free throw. The officials wipe off everything that happened between the foul and the ensuing possession by B. The girl goes back to the line and hits both free throws.

Not sure from your post what was 'wiped out' They did the dreaded 'redo', did they put time back on clock also?

referee99 Wed Feb 27, 2013 01:12pm

Lesson I've learned...
 
... is when working with officials who also do NCAA for an NFHS game, you may need to help them out in spots like this. Prevent them from making the mistake.

Adam Wed Feb 27, 2013 05:04pm

I thought excessive TO was two shots and the ball for all levels.

johnny d Wed Feb 27, 2013 05:29pm

Art. 7. A team shall not be granted excessive timeouts without penalty.
PENALTY: Two free throws awarded to the offended team.
(Art. 7) Penalized when discovered before the ball becomes
live. (Men) The ball shall be put back in play at the point of
interruption. (Women) The ball shall be put back in play at the
point of interruption to the offended team.


NCAA rules manual.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 28, 2013 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 882284)
I thought excessive TO was two shots and the ball for all levels.

Quote:

Originally Posted by johnny d (Post 882289)
Art. 7. A team shall not be granted excessive timeouts without penalty.
PENALTY: Two free throws awarded to the offended team.
(Art. 7) Penalized when discovered before the ball becomes
live. (Men) The ball shall be put back in play at the point of
interruption. (Women) The ball shall be put back in play at the
point of interruption to the offended team.


NCAA rules manual.

You learned something yesterday! ;)
BTW the NCAAM rule has changed since the 1993 Chris Webber play.

Adam Thu Feb 28, 2013 09:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 882380)
You learned something yesterday! ;)
BTW the NCAAM rule has changed since the 1993 Chris Webber play.

I guess it has. :)

letemplay Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 882380)
You learned something yesterday! ;)
BTW the NCAAM rule has changed since the 1993 Chris Webber play.

Wish NFHS would follow suit on this one.

egj13 Thu Feb 28, 2013 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 882206)
Not sure from your post what was 'wiped out' They did the dreaded 'redo', did they put time back on clock also?

the dreaded re-do...yep...not sure about the time question because I wasn't present

Sharpshooternes Thu Feb 28, 2013 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by egj13 (Post 881806)

Play 2:
A1 drives, fouled by B1 team A is in the bonus. A1 shoots the first and misses, B inbounds and starts down the floor and the table hits the buzzer. They tell the officials that B1 has fouled out they just hadn't caught it before the free throw. The officials wipe off everything that happened between the foul and the ensuing possession by B. The girl goes back to the line and hits both free throws.

Why did B inbound after the miss of the front end of a 1 and 1? Just a typo I am assuming.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1