![]() |
This one is wacky! Over and back?!
This happened in our varsity game tonight. Team A is dribbling in their front court. B1 tips the ball away from A1, B1 dives to the floor for the ball, gathers it on his back and slides from his back court into his front court (the ball and his body are now in the front court, no part of him is actually touching his back court, but his legs are lifted in the air and his feet are breaking the imaginary plane into the backcourt). He throws the ball to his teammate who jumps both feet from the back court, catches the ball in the air and lands with one foot in the backcourt, one in the front court.
I called over and back. Nobody argued. But we are trying to figure out if he gained front court status even though his feet (part of the three points) were still hovering in the back court. Thanks for your help! |
Quote:
|
Three points are only relevant when a dribbler is dribbling from back court to front court. Your call was correct.
What did you conclude when you looked the rule up? |
Wait, Let Me Figure It Out With My Slide Rule ...
Quote:
|
Depends if he established a pivot cheek or not.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I can't think of a situation where "the imaginary plane" of the division line would ever come into play. Is there even such a thing?
|
Quote:
Timeout request from an airborne player that breaks the midcourt plane. Also, the ball is considered in the frontcourt when the ball breaks the plane of the midcourt line when not in player control |
Quote:
|
DISCLAIMER: Unless otherwise stated, all Bktballref posts refer to NFHS rules.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Unfortunately, I currently have to concern myself with my Constitutional right being taken away from me. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:21am. |