The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   More Block/PC plays from CA...3 of them (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93995-more-block-pc-plays-ca-3-them.html)

icallfouls Tue Feb 12, 2013 02:44pm

#1 - Block
#2 - No Call
#3 - Charge

tjchamp Tue Feb 12, 2013 05:14pm

1. PC
2. Defenders feet are so wide I may have had a block
3. PC

BillyMac Tue Feb 12, 2013 06:40pm

Charge It ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by tjchamp (Post 878865)
1. PC.

Are you sure that the contact wasn't after the pass, and thus, a team control foul? I will admit that it was close, but take a closer look.

OKREF Tue Feb 12, 2013 07:09pm

1. PC. Although I could live with a no call

2. Nothing. Not a lot of contact and defender flops a bit.

3. PC.

BillyMac Tue Feb 12, 2013 07:14pm

Politically Correct ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 878887)
1. PC.

Are you sure that the contact wasn't after the pass, and thus, a team control foul? I will admit that it was close, but take a closer look.

OKREF Tue Feb 12, 2013 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 878889)
Are you sure that the contact wasn't after the pass, and thus, a team control foul? I will admit that it was close, but take a closer look.


Oops. Correct. Like I said might even have nothing.

Welpe Tue Feb 12, 2013 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 878889)
Are you sure that the contact wasn't after the pass, and thus, a team control foul? I will admit that it was close, but take a closer look.

No need to repeat yourself. You made your point the first time.

scrounge Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08pm

I think block, nothing, PC

VaTerp Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:30pm

IMO those of you saying block on play #1 are asking way too much of the defender.

Rich Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 878766)
1) Charge
2) Charge
3) Charge

IMHO, it's no wonder that the only play that had a whistle is when the drive occurred on Leads' side. It's not only easier to officiate when the Play is coming towards you...but it takes the guess-work out of who should have a whistle.

Lesson: Lead...GET OVER TO BALL-SIDE TO OFFICIATE!

I have no clue how you see (2) as a charge. The guy is already flopping when the driving player reaches him -- the contact, if any, is incidental.

And there's no way to know if the L in (1) had time to get ballside as the video started too late. I did go back and look at this a few times myself as I'd want to be over there if I had a chance -- I don't want a C taking this drive if I can get it as the L.

Rich Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 878802)
I posted before reading the responses. I see I'm alone on #1. My first thought live was a charge. After a couple replays, I think the defender moves both toward the offensive player and to the side after the shooter leaves the ground. It is very close and I could be convinced that I'm wrong.

I agree with those who think we're asking too much of the defender if we're calling this a block.

JetMetFan Wed Feb 13, 2013 12:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by VaTerp (Post 878918)
IMO those of you saying block on play #1 are asking way too much of the defender.

Same here. He gets two feet on the floor before A1 leaves the floor and his torso is facing the shooter. It's tough to expect a defender to immediately become a statue.

Camron Rust Wed Feb 13, 2013 01:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 878929)
Same here. He gets two feet on the floor before A1 leaves the floor and his torso is facing the shooter. It's tough to expect a defender to immediately become a statue.


I think it is too much to ask of the offensive player to change direction when a defender comes into their path after they're in the air. The defender doesn't have to immediately become a statue if he gets there in time. He just didn't get there quick enough to meet the requirements.

In addition to having two feet down and having his torso facing the shooter, the defender must also have his torso in the path of the opponent before the opponent jumps...and that is the element on which he failed. It is the position of the torso that dictates when the defender makes it into the path or not. The feet only matter as far as being on the floor, not their position relative to the path.

If you want to allow him to bring his torso into the path after the shooter jumps, then you must also allow a defender to lean their torso out into the path if they had their feet down and facing...it is essentially the same thing.

JeffM Wed Feb 13, 2013 02:40am

1 - Block
2 - No Call
3 - Charge

JetMetFan Wed Feb 13, 2013 04:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 878934)
In addition to having two feet down and having his torso facing the shooter, the defender must also have his torso in the path of the opponent before the opponent jumps.

The defender has to obtain LGP before his opponent leaves the floor. I'd post a freeze if I could - I'm at work - but B1 does meet the requirement in this case. A1 was almost airborne but according to the rule almost isn't good enough.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1