![]() |
Illegal sub after time-out vs intermission
Following a time-out, before the ball is made live, the table informs you that a player on the court did not report to the table. I believe it is a substitute technical as in 10-2-1.
Is it the same after intermission or between quarters? |
Not necessarily. It would depend on if they claimed to report the players before the warning horn. I would just play with whomever was last listed to play in the game and not go the T route after halftime. Honestly I am not sure I would give a T in the first situation unless they clearly were trying to pull something.
Peace |
As JRut said, by rule it is. Whether you want to give yourself that kind of a headache is another story.
|
I was thinking about this at last night's game. On a timeout, I see a student check in as the second horn is blowing. Is it my responsibility to enforce the technical foul, or the scoring table's to inform me?
Thanks, Ben |
Quote:
Seems like it would be a lot easier just to not let him come in the game till the next avail opportunity, since he didn't check in on time, if you must take any action. |
No dispute about failure to report. Coach, player, team book and official book all agree and state that player did not report.
There are two parts to the sub technical. One for not reporting and one for not being beckoned. This one is not reporting. If I understand JRut and JMF, it is a technical in either situation. Would it matter if the official has blown the whistle to begin play following the TO or intermission? By rule. I already know the headaches one can get from this situation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
So both. The table needs to let the ref know if the sub has not properly reported, then it is the ref's job to hold them. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41am. |