The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   PreGame Rim Grasp and Pull (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93903-pregame-rim-grasp-pull.html)

rekent Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:24am

PreGame Rim Grasp and Pull
 
I know dunking pre-game is an unsporting technical, and I know that during the game grabbing the rim for a reason other than to prevent injury is a technical, but what about grabbing the rim and pulling it down pre-game? (Player doesn't have ball and pulls/hangs hard enough that backboard shakes quite a while)

I quickly went through the rule book and did not find anything addressing it, but a having a brain fart and may very well be missing it.

JRutledge Wed Feb 06, 2013 12:49am

Yes, it is illegal.

10-4-1i

i. Grasping either basket except to prevent injury; dunking or stuffing, or attempting to dunk or stuff a dead ball.

Peace

Bad Zebra Wed Feb 06, 2013 10:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rekent (Post 877300)
I know dunking pre-game is an unsporting technical, and I know that during the game grabbing the rim for a reason other than to prevent injury is a technical, but what about grabbing the rim and pulling it down pre-game? (Player doesn't have ball and pulls/hangs hard enough that backboard shakes quite a while)

I quickly went through the rule book and did not find anything addressing it, but a having a brain fart and may very well be missing it.

T will be served.

rekent Wed Feb 06, 2013 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 877305)
Yes, it is illegal.

10-4-1i

i. Grasping either basket except to prevent injury; dunking or stuffing, or attempting to dunk or stuff a dead ball.

Peace

Thanks.

What I had seen was 10-3-3 which made me wonder if a T for the lone act of rim grabbing was limited to after the game began.

"Grasp either basket at any time during the game except to prevent injury; ..."

zm1283 Wed Feb 06, 2013 01:46pm

Gave a technical this year during warmups for this same thing. One kid shot a three, his teammate went up to grab it after it bounced off the rim but missed the ball. As he came down, he grabbed the rim and popped it. It wasn't that bad, but I couldn't really ignore it. The coach ended up sitting him the entire first half. He was not pleased with him.

ballgame99 Wed Feb 06, 2013 02:29pm

When one of these type of technicals occur, how/when do you inform the team of the technical? Do you whistle it, or just inform the table and the coaches of what you have? Never seen one of these called, so I am curious.

Adam Wed Feb 06, 2013 02:39pm

Line them up for the jump ball, and just prior to the R tossing the ball up in the air, blow the whistle and give the T signal. Then, you ceremonially look angry.

Honest answer:
Whatever feels comfortable. Personally, I would just walk over to the coach and let him know what #25 just did, and remind him that the free throws come with a loss of the coaching box.
Inform the opposing coach as well, and remind him that he can pick any shooter he wants (even from the bench).
Remind the table that this will count towards the player's five total fouls, and will be added as a team foul as well.

WDEvol Wed Feb 06, 2013 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 877500)
Line them up for the jump ball, and just prior to the R tossing the ball up in the air, blow the whistle and give the T signal. Then, you ceremonially look angry.

When this happened in my game last week, I looked angry, but it certainly wasn't ceremonial.

WhistlesAndStripes Fri Feb 15, 2013 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 877490)
Gave a technical this year during warmups for this same thing. One kid shot a three, his teammate went up to grab it after it bounced off the rim but missed the ball. As he came down, he grabbed the rim and popped it. It wasn't that bad, but I couldn't really ignore it. The coach ended up sitting him the entire first half. He was not pleased with him.

If administered correctly, the coach HIMSELF ended up sitting the entire game. Until the game begins, all team members are considered bench personnel so this is assessed as an indirect technical on the head coach and he loses his coaching box privileges for the entire game

zm1283 Fri Feb 15, 2013 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Whistles & Stripes (Post 879741)
If administered correctly, the coach HIMSELF ended up sitting the entire game. Until the game begins, all team members are considered bench personnel so this is assessed as an indirect technical on the head coach and he loses his coaching box privileges for the entire game

Yes, it was administered correctly. The head coach sat for the game. Wasn't my first rodeo.

JimmyJimmy Sat Feb 16, 2013 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 877500)
.
Inform the opposing coach as well, and remind him that he can pick any shooter he wants (even from the bench).
.

Does the shooter of the free throws then have to start the game?

billyu2 Sat Feb 16, 2013 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JimmyJimmy (Post 879801)
Does the shooter of the free throws then have to start the game?

Actually, the shooter did start the game. If you mean does he have to remain in the game following the free throws, the answer is no.

BillyMac Sat Feb 16, 2013 10:06am

Confucius Say ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by billyu2 (Post 879802)
Actually, the shooter did start the game. If you mean does he have to remain in the game following the free throws, the answer is no.

Must sit a tick, don’t have to play a tick.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1