The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Trip on a rebound (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93892-trip-rebound.html)

just another ref Fri Feb 08, 2013 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 877931)
To me it is not important how they got there. I just don't like the rule as the FED interprets it.

What gets called if B1 flops backwards as A1 goes airborne and then A1 lands on some part of B1's body and A1 trips and falls? I know from the time I've been officiating I've been told to call B1 with a block.

How can it be a block on a defender whose only movement was backward, whether he falls to the floor or not?

Raymond Fri Feb 08, 2013 03:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 877931)
To me it is not important how they got there. I just don't like the rule as the FED interprets it.

What gets called if B1 flops backwards as A1 goes airborne and then A1 lands on some part of B1's body and A1 trips and falls? I know from the time I've been officiating I've been told to call B1 with a block.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 877933)
How can it be a block on a defender whose only movement was backward, whether he falls to the floor or not?

Are you saying you've never heard this?

just another ref Fri Feb 08, 2013 03:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 877934)
Are you saying you've never heard this?

I have heard it. I don't see how you justify it.

ColeTops25 Fri Feb 08, 2013 03:35pm

Found something interesting you guys might appreciate. Seems as though this debate is nothing new. A search of the records reveals this argument dates back to 2001 on this very forum, with some of the same members.

That case book reference (10.6.1) was alive and kicking in 2001, maybe earlier than that.

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...pot-floor.html

Raymond Fri Feb 08, 2013 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 877935)
I have heard it. I don't see how you justify it.

I'm not trying to justify it. I'm just saying that I know it's something I've always heard, whether doing HS or college games.

As far as prone defenders, 2 of the 3 USA rule sets don't consider those players legal if a ball-handler contacts them. And now, apparently, we have an IAABO interpreter who doesn't think they are legal. So it might be a good idea for the NFHS to put their old interp back into the case book to make their ruling clear.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 08, 2013 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 877931)
To me it is not important how they got there. I just don't like the rule as the FED interprets it.

What gets called if B1 flops backwards as A1 goes airborne and then A1 lands on some part of B1's body and A1 trips and falls? I know from the time I've been officiating I've been told to call B1 with a block.

What you've been told doesn't agree with the rules.

Why should it be a block? If B1 had stayed upright, it would been an obvious and significant charge if the play was such that B1 was able to fall backwards and still get landed on. B1's movement isn't changing that. I can accept not calling the charge when B1 yields the position, but to flip to a block just isn't right.

But that really isn't the case we're talking about.

What we're really talking about is B1 falling across A1's path, not being already in it with LGP and falling back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1