![]() |
Free throws
Free throws. One player lines up on the elbow to shoot her FT's. She stands near enough that the defensive player on the top lane spot can reach out and touch her without leaving her lane space. Nothing happened in the game, but this got me thinking what if... the defensive player reached out and contacted the free thrower?
What if after the shot was released and still on its upward flight, the defensive player blocked the shot? What if the free thrower leaned into the defensive player causing contact and then releasing the throw? |
Blocking the shot is GT (and a T).
Contacting the FT shooter would by rule be treated like any other contact, but I'd be strongly inclined to judge it to be an IP foul. |
Quote:
As for blocking the shot...automatic goaltending (even on the way up) and a Technical foul to go with it. As for the thrower causing contact, probably nothing...that would be dumb for them to do. It would only make their shot more difficult. |
What Bob said. Goal Tending. Your last Q is just plain silly.
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
See the penalty for 10-3-9. |
Quote:
9.12 SITUATION A: On the first free throw by A1 in a bonus situation: B1 leaps above the lane and touches the ball but it falls in the basket anyway. RULING: Delayed lane violation on B1; the ball is still live. The goaltending violation causes an immediate dead ball and an automatic point for A1; B1 is assessed a technical foul. A1 is awarded the bonus free throw. Following the free throws for the technical foul, it is A’s ball for a division line throw-in opposite the table. (4-22; 6-7-9; 10-3-9) |
Where does it say it's goaltending even if it's touched on the way up?
|
Quote:
The definitions are your friend. |
Quote:
This is in the "never seen it, probably never will" category, so I had forgotten the rule, if I ever knew it. That, of course, is no excuse. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45pm. |