The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Hypothetical Situation ??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93688-hypothetical-situation.html)

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:44am

Hypothetical Situation ???
 
NFHS 3-3-1-C: During multiple free throws resulting from personal fouls, substitutions may be made only before the final attempt in the sequence and after the final attempt has been converted. EXCEPTION: When a player is required by rule to be replaced prior to administering the free throw(s), then all other substitutes who have legally reported may also enter the game.

Both Team A, and Team B, have one seven foot player, A7, and B7, who both happen to be resting on the bench when the following play occurs. Five foot point guard A1 fouls B1 while B1 is in the act of shooting an unsuccessful two point field goal. It's A1's fifth foul. Substitutes A6, and A6, are already at the table when the official reports the foul. After reporting the foul, and notifying the coach, and A1, regarding the disqualification, Team A sends seven foot tall A7 to the table to replace disqualified five foot tall point guard A1. The official beckons A6, B6, and A7 into the game. Seeing a mismatch about to occur, Team B immediately sends seven foot tall B7 to the table as a substitute.

By rule, may the official beckon B7 into the game, or must the official wait until after the first free throw to beckon B7 into the game?

OKREF Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:48am

I am letting him in.

just another ref Sat Jan 26, 2013 01:50pm

The mismatch is going to occur during the first free throw?

Raymond Sat Jan 26, 2013 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 874504)
NFHS 3-3-1-C: During multiple free throws resulting from personal fouls, substitutions may be made only before the final attempt in the sequence and after the final attempt has been converted. EXCEPTION: When a player is required by rule to be replaced prior to administering the free throw(s), then all other substitutes who have legally reported may also enter the game.

Both Team A, and Team B, have one seven foot player, A7, and B7, who both happen to be resting on the bench when the following play occurs. Five foot point guard A1 fouls B1 while B1 is in the act of shooting an unsuccessful two point field goal. It's A1's fifth foul. Substitutes A6, and A6, are already at the table when the official reports the foul. After reporting the foul, and notifying the coach, and A1, regarding the disqualification, Team A sends seven foot tall A7 to the table to replace disqualified five foot tall point guard A1. The official beckons A6, B6, and A7 into the game. Seeing a mismatch about to occur, Team B immediately sends seven foot tall B7 to the table as a substitute.

By rule, may the official beckon A7 into the game, or must the official wait until after the first free throw to beckon B7 into the game?

Had A7 already legally reported at the time the mandatory substitution took place?

Adam Sat Jan 26, 2013 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 874557)
The mismatch is going to occur during the first free throw?

Exactly. No reason not to wait.

BillyMac Sat Jan 26, 2013 07:27pm

Disqualification Substitution ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 874586)
Had A7 already legally reported at the time the mandatory substitution took place?

A7 replaced the disqualified player.

BktBallRef Sat Jan 26, 2013 07:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 874586)
By rule, may the official beckon A7 into the game, or must the official wait until after the first free throw to beckon B7 into the game?

Yes, A7 may enter.

No, B7 may not enter.

What does one question have to do with the other?

Raymond Sat Jan 26, 2013 08:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 874624)
A7 replaced the disqualified player.

I meant B7, who reported after the other subs already became players.

Tony, how did I get my name inserted in place of Billy's :eek:

AremRed Sat Jan 26, 2013 08:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 874504)
By rule, may the official beckon A7 into the game, or must the official wait until after the first free throw to beckon B7 into the game?

I don't see a reason why not. The rule says to let those in who have legally reported. The rule does not say by when the substitutes have to report.

During free-throws with no disqualification, one team will send in a player, and we will beckon him in. The other team sees this sub, and immediately counters with their sub. As long as the 2nd sub gets to the table before we administer the free-throw, we let him in, and all is fine. Why would this situation be any different?

BktBallRef Sat Jan 26, 2013 09:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanwestref (Post 874644)
I don't see a reason why not. The rule says to let those in who have legally reported. The rule does not say by when the substitutes have to report.

Actually, it does say when they have to report if they want to enter before the first of a multiple FT. (3-3-1c)

Quote:

During free-throws with no disqualification, one team will send in a player, and we will beckon him in. The other team sees this sub, and immediately counters with their sub. As long as the 2nd sub gets to the table before we administer the free-throw, we let him in, and all is fine. Why would this situation be any different?
We're talking about bringing players in BEFORE the FIRST of TWO free throws.

If A7 replaces fouled out A1, only the players who have reported prior to A7 entering the game may enter before the FIRST free throw.

By rule, when B7 reports after A7 has entered, he must now wait until after the first free throw to enter.

As someone stated, the entire situation is meaningless, since nothing is going to happen during the first free throw that places Team B at any type of disadvantage.

AremRed Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 874651)
As someone stated, the entire situation is meaningless, since nothing is going to happen during the first free throw that places Team B at any type of disadvantage.

I presume this means that the counter-sub can simply enter before the final free throw? Or in a 1 and 1 situation where the first is missed, the counter-sub has to wait until the next dead ball?

just another ref Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanwestref (Post 874657)
I presume this means that the counter-sub can simply enter before the final free throw? Or in a 1 and 1 situation where the first is missed, the counter-sub has to wait until the next dead ball?

On a 1 and 1 all subs can enter before the first free throw.

Adam Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanwestref (Post 874657)
I presume this means that the counter-sub can simply enter before the final free throw? Or in a 1 and 1 situation where the first is missed, the counter-sub has to wait until the next dead ball?

The entire scenario doesn't apply to one and one free throws.

AremRed Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 874663)
The entire scenario doesn't apply to one and one free throws.

So, back the the OP situation, the replacement can enter before the 1st free throw, but the counter-sub has to wait until the next available opportunity. Yes, this does seem meaningless, but does anyone have an idea why the rulebook is sticky on this situation?

Adam Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanwestref (Post 874665)
So, back the the OP situation, the replacement can enter before the 1st free throw, but the counter-sub has to wait until the next available opportunity. Yes, this does seem meaningless, but does anyone have an idea why the rulebook is sticky on this situation?

For the same reason they decided not to normally allow subs before the first of two free throws, to speed the game up.

BktBallRef Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by seanwestref (Post 874665)
So, back the the OP situation, the replacement can enter before the 1st free throw, but the counter-sub has to wait until the next available opportunity. Yes, this does seem meaningless, but does anyone have an idea why the rulebook is sticky on this situation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 874667)
For the same reason they decided not to normally allow subs before the first of two free throws, to speed the game up.

Allow it and you get another counter and another counter, etc......when it's meaningless to do so because we will have at least one and possibly two more opportunities to bring in subs.

Now, if they'll just adopt the volleyball sub rule where ALL subs have to enter at the same time, I'll be happy!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1