The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slapping Backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93672-slapping-backboard.html)

OKREF Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 874366)
It's never misinterpreted in games I work. Once explained the rule to a complaining, a-hole AAU coach from Texas whose response was "I don't care what the rule is".

Same here. The bad thing is I get it right and coach gets mad and thinks I am wrong because someone else actually did get it wrong. Not that I care about him getting mad.


Funny thing is the girls coach was at scorers table with case book trying to find it and couldn't. I showed him after the game, some crazy momma told me I needed to get my rulebook out and read it. To funny.

maven Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 874359)
Varsity game this was.

http://farm5.staticflickr.com/4110/5...9811ed3f_m.jpg

Smitty Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 874366)
It's never misinterpreted in games I work. Once explained the rule to a complaining, a-hole AAU coach from Texas whose response was "I don't care what the rule is".

Everything's bigger in Texas. Even the a-hole AAU coaches. Summertime is fun around here on the weekends. ;)

#olderthanilook Fri Jan 25, 2013 12:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by adam (Post 874367)
had an entire varsity team (hc, acs, players, trainer, bus driver) stand and signal for a t on a play like this. I gave them a timeout.

lol. Awesome! :d

NDRef Fri Jan 25, 2013 02:43pm

"B2 slaps backboard pretty hard but not so hard that it shakes rim or causes ball to not go in."


Don't have books with me at work, but why is this part of the play even relevant? Doesn't the rule state "intentionally strike the backboard..."

shaking the rim or causes ball to not go in..the slapping of the backboard MUST be intentional, if not we play on and whatever happens as a result needs to be supported by rule...ie basket interference or goaltending; can't have goaltending without touching the ball, and the backboard is not part of the basket, hence no basket interference.

What am I missing?

NDRef Fri Jan 25, 2013 02:46pm

I apologize if "tone" may seem bad. I just wanted to take the discussion a bit further in regards to the slapping of the backboard.

OKREF Fri Jan 25, 2013 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by NDRef (Post 874403)
"B2 slaps backboard pretty hard but not so hard that it shakes rim or causes ball to not go in."


Don't have books with me at work, but why is this part of the play even relevant? Doesn't the rule state "intentionally strike the backboard..."

shaking the rim or causes ball to not go in..the slapping of the backboard MUST be intentional, if not we play on and whatever happens as a result needs to be supported by rule...ie basket interference or goaltending; can't have goaltending without touching the ball, and the backboard is not part of the basket, hence no basket interference.

What am I missing?

You're right, it doesn't matter. After I told him it wasn't a T, he wanted goaltending, which I explained it wasn't that either.

just another ref Fri Jan 25, 2013 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tio (Post 874342)
Haha... you gave him too much credit in your OP.

You did the right thing. I have been in the same boat and my response was: "Coach, by rule it is a legal play if the defender is attempting to block a shot." At that point, my dialog ends.

I shake my head, maybe. At that point, my dialog ends.

The_Rookie Fri Jan 25, 2013 02:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by badnewsref (Post 874366)
it's never misinterpreted in games i work. Once explained the rule to a complaining, a-hole aau coach from texas whose response was "i don't care what the rule is".

lmao...what a response from a coach...dumb a$$!

bainsey Fri Jan 25, 2013 03:01pm

Myths happen.

Last year, JVB, H-32 got frustrated and pounded the padding on the end line. My partner whacked him.

H-32 then untucks his jersey, as if he fouled out. (In a way, he did. Coach H has a rule that you're done if you get a T.) Coach V is right on me that untucking the jersey is a technical foul. While someone could make the case that it's an unsportsmanlike act, I didn't find it be, and it's certainly not an automatic T. My partner also figured it would be "double jeopardy" to nail him so quickly on the second one.

OKREF Fri Jan 25, 2013 03:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 874415)
Myths happen.

Last year, JVB, H-32 got frustrated and pounded the padding on the end line. My partner whacked him.

H-32 then untucks his jersey, as if he fouled out. (In a way, he did. Coach H has a rule that you're done if you get a T.) Coach V is right on me that untucking the jersey is a technical foul. While someone could make the case that it's an unsportsmanlike act, I didn't find it be, and it's certainly not an automatic T. My partner also figured it would be "double jeopardy" to nail him so quickly on the second one.

Isn't there a case play about this? I think it says it is an unsporting technical foul. If they are protesting a call, which doesn't seem to be the case here in your eyes.

Raymond Fri Jan 25, 2013 03:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The_Rookie (Post 874410)
lmao...what a response from a coach...dumb a$$!

It was the last time I spoke to him that game.

BillyMac Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:16pm

Misty Water Color Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by NDRef (Post 874403)
"B2 slaps backboard pretty hard but not so hard that it shakes rim or causes ball to not go in." ... why is this part of the play even relevant? ... shaking the rim ... What am I missing?

You're missing something that is ancient history. "Causing the rim to shake" used to be part of the rule about thirty years ago.

Note: I had a coach tell me tonight that I couldn't call a five second closely guarded violation against his dribbler because the dribbler broke the plane of the hash mark. I told him to show me the hash mark, and, of course, he couldn't, because it wasn't there anymore, and hasn't been in the rule book for about twenty years.

just another ref Fri Jan 25, 2013 10:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 874462)
You're missing something that is ancient history. "Causing the rim to shake" used to be part of the rule about thirty years ago.

The word shake was replaced by the word vibrate? Progress, I suppose.

AremRed Sat Jan 26, 2013 02:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 874462)
Note: I had a coach tell me tonight that I couldn't call a five second closely guarded violation against his dribbler because the dribbler broke the plane of the hash mark. I told him to show me the hash mark, and, of course, he couldn't, because it wasn't there anymore, and hasn't been in the rule book for about twenty years.

I had an pregame meeting with a coach (5th/6th CYO) a few weeks ago and he asked us if we were going to play this game using that rule. I had never heard of such a rule, but knew it was not in the book. We said no. The worst part: the coach was serious.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1