![]() |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
I got that. But in the video when does player control start? I had this exact play earlier this year on a throw-in. It made my whistle a tick late as I asked myself whether the original touch at the top of the dribble was the start of player control. I said it was, much like this video. The touch was in the frontcourt, the ball bounced in the backcourt. Violation. |
Quote:
I think I must be missing something about the question. Edit: Maybe you are asking, suppose the same play happens during a throw-in, instead of during "playing action". In that case, I'd rule the same as in the "rebound question" asked in #19 and answered in #20 and #21 |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Bob, you said, "The first dribble the ball hit in the BC, so the three-points rule applies and A1 is in the BC." What difference does that make? If the dribble began when the ball was batted in the FC and stroke the floor in the BC, do we not have over/back when the dribble is again touched? That's what's confusing JAR and me. |
All the contact with the ball was in the front court. The ball touched the back court on after the first dribble attempt.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Is the start of a dribble considered during a dribble. I was leaning towards it not being a violation but I think I'm changing my mind. Consider the wording of the 3-points clause for backcourt violations where it mentions "during a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt". To me, that implies that the dribble was already underway in the backcourt. In this case, it is not. So I believe PC and TC have begun on the push towards the floor giving the ball frontcourt status and the and the exception doesn't apply since it is not a dribble from backcourt to frontcourt. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27am. |