The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Purdue v. Michigan Backcourt violation (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93656-purdue-v-michigan-backcourt-violation.html)

stiffler3492 Sat Jan 26, 2013 03:32pm

I'd love to hear what the announcers are saying, especially when they circled the C.

Camron Rust Sat Jan 26, 2013 03:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 874574)
Do you think the T might have held up on making the call because he saw the C giving a tip signal? I ask because the ball was in the C's primary at the start. The ball starts heading towards BC and the T isn't sure why. He sees the tip signal and freezes up.

Again, just a theory. Not foolproof given A1 ended up bringing the ball into the backcourt anyway but just a thought.

Not relevant as the only tip the C could have been signaling was before the next contact by the offense as the signal was already past by the time the offensive player contact the the ball in the FC. When the offense then touched the ball again, the T had everything he needed to know. I've seen too many cases where it is only one official involved where they still don't call that a violation. Some just don't understand the rule...they think that a defensive tip absolves the offense from a backcourt violation regardless of what else happens. That, I believe, is the case in the NBA, but not NCAA or NFHS.

APG Sat Jan 26, 2013 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 874578)
Not relevant as the only tip the C could have been signaling was before the next contact by the offense as the signal was already past by the time the offensive player contact the the ball in the FC. When the offense then touched the ball again, the T had everything he needed to know. I've seen too many cases where it is only one official involved where they still don't call that a violation. Some just don't understand the rule...they think that a defensive tip absolves the offense from a backcourt violation regardless of what else happens. That, I believe, is the case in the NBA, but not NCAA or NFHS.

In the NBA, a tip by the defense ends team control...thus why this isn't a violation in the NBA and why at other levels, officials will catch grief for (correctly) calling this a violation.

Raymond Sat Jan 26, 2013 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 874601)
In the NBA, a tip by the defense ends team control...thus why this isn't a violation in the NBA and why at other levels, officials will catch grief for (correctly) calling this a violation.

At the FED and NCAA levels if this were a long rebound would we consider A1 to be in PC when he dribbled the ball into the backcourt?

APG Sat Jan 26, 2013 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 874604)
At the FED and NCAA levels if this were a long rebound would we consider A1 to be in PC when he dribbled the ball into the backcourt?

I wouldn't split hairs that closely if this was off a rebound. I'd have A1 gaining player control in the backcourt.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 26, 2013 05:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 874605)
I wouldn't split hairs that closely if this was off a rebound. I'd have A1 gaining player control in the backcourt.

Agreed. THe first dribble the ball hit in the BC, so the three-points rule applies and A1 is in the BC.

BktBallRef Sat Jan 26, 2013 07:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 874612)
Agreed. THe first dribble the ball hit in the BC, so the three-points rule applies and A1 is in the BC.

Huh?

Player control, and thus team control, doesn't begin until the first dribble hits the floor? :confused:

Doesn't the 3 points rule apply coming from BC to FC and not visa versa? :confused:

wyo96 Sat Jan 26, 2013 08:02pm

expand please...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 874570)
Yep. And, given that it happend in the middle of a rotation, either official could have made the call.

I try not to give the "tip" signal until the ball gets to the BC -- until then it doesn't mean anything and might just confuse.

I generally signal the "tip" as soon as it looks possible the ball will end up in the BC. While I don't want to confuse anybody, my thought is it gives the other official; "C" or "T"; info that prevents the IW or incorrect call.

Can you expand on why you wait until the ball is in BC?

JetMetFan Sat Jan 26, 2013 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stiffler3492 (Post 874575)
I'd love to hear what the announcers are saying, especially when they circled the C.

Since you asked...

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/mISa6z54q-Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

BktBallRef Sat Jan 26, 2013 10:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by wyo96 (Post 874634)
Can you expand on why you wait until the ball is in BC?

You're the C, I'm the T.

You signal tip, I whistle BC violation.

Now we have a miss, no different than a blarge.

This is why I don't use the "tip" signal on BC situations or blocked shots. If I ever use this signal, it's on an OOB play on my line after the ball is dead.

zm1283 Sun Jan 27, 2013 01:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 874638)
Since you asked...

<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/mISa6z54q-Y" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

LOL.

"We don't know our a** from a hole in the ground but they pay us to sit here and convince everyone we know what we're talking about".

Idiots.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 27, 2013 02:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 874633)
Huh?

Player control, and thus team control, doesn't begin until the first dribble hits the floor? :confused:

Doesn't the 3 points rule apply coming from BC to FC and not visa versa? :confused:

I can see where bob is coming from.

PC, TC, and the dribble all start at the same time since there was never a catch so he is considering that the entire play is during a a dribble and subject to the 3-points rule. I can buy that as there really isn't anything to say that there any one is considered to have happened first.

just another ref Sun Jan 27, 2013 02:46am

Even if the 3 point rule did apply, this would still be a violation. All 3 points must cross the line before location changes. They did in this case. In no case is it necessary that all 3 points are in the place of origin.

Forksref Sun Jan 27, 2013 07:28am

I don't give the tip signal. In this case it may have caused confusion.

What is interesting here, and it happens to me sometimes, is that the L was flexing during this play and the C didn't see it happen. And rightly so since he was concentrating on the play in his primary. If I miss a flex by the L it is usually because I am the C and locked in on the ball.

SAJ Sun Jan 27, 2013 11:07am

One could say he was the T not the C. The L rotated into the play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:26am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1