![]() |
No time on Clock Free Throws
Ok, I have seen this happen so many times and have asked multiple people on this and I can never get a straight answer. How is it possible for a player to shoot a free throw with the clock reading 0:00?Assuming the clock when an official blows the whistle, then logicly it should be impossible for there to be free throws with no time on the clock, but time and time again I see this happening.
To me, there is 2 options that an official can do it this situation. 1. Count the foul, and put time back on the clock (even if its just .2) before administering the free throws. 2 Say foul was after the horn and move on with the game, or post game handshakes. Your thoughts.... |
Unless an official sees time on the clock when he blows his whistle, he cannot just put time on.
There is also the fact that when a foul occurs, it often takes a second to hit the whistle. And there are airborne shooters who could actually be fouled during a live ball after the horn sounds. And are you serious with #2? |
Off the cuff thought, what's important is when the foul occurred, not when the whistle sounded. So if the foul resulting in free-throws happened pre-horn, you're shooting regardless of time on the clock.
Unless you are using some kind of PTS system, there will be human delay time in stopping the clock, several tenths, and this is just an understood thing. Unless an official has definite knowledge of the time that should be on the clock, as a result of a visible count or such, no clock adjustment can be made. So if the official calls the foul, then looks to the clock, there is still a delay and there would be no definite knowledge of the clock at the time of the foul. I have a feeling that was rather unintelligible and I am about to be skewered though... |
After talking it over with your partner and the two or three of you decide the foul was commited before the horn then there shouldn't be 0:00 on the clock for the free throws. If you decide there should be 0:00 on the clock then the foul shouldn't of been counted because it was after the horn.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Did you read above posts?
Quote:
Quote:
|
Might be helpful to read the rules for this situation...
ART. 2 Each quarter or extra period ends when the signal illuminates or sounds indicating time has expired, as in 1-14. EXCEPTIONS: 1. If the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal, the quarter or extra period ends when the try or tap ends. 2. If a held ball or violation occurs so near the expiration of time that the clock is not stopped before time expires, the quarter or extra period ends with the held ball or violation. 3. If a foul occurs so near the expiration of time that the timer cannot get the clock stopped before time expires or after time expires, but while the ball is in flight during a try or tap for field goal. The quarter or extra period ends when the free throw(s) and all related activity have been completed. No penalty or part of a penalty carries over from one quarter or extra period to the next, except when a correctable error, as in 2-10, is rectified. No free throw(s) shall be attempted after time has expired for the fourth quarter or any extra period, unless the point(s) would affect the outcome of the game. 4. If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter or extra period, the next quarter or extra period is started by administering the free throws. This applies when the foul occurs after any quarter has ended, including the fourth quarter, provided there is to be an extra period. If there is no way to determine whether there will be an extra period until the free throws are administered, the free throws are attempted immediately, as if the foul had been part of the preceding quarter. |
Misty Water Color Memories ...
Old fashioned, mechanical, scoreboards could show 0:00 without the horn sounding. Check with the table to make sure that the automatic horn was turned on, and, if so, shoot the free throws with rebounders in place.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It's also contrary to the rules which state that this is not a "timer's error", but is an "allowed reaction time" (or whatever the specific words are) and cannot be corrected unless (a) you have a monitor or (b) one of the officials has definitive knowledge of the time involved. Here's a paragraph from the NCAA case book (but it applies to FED as well); Quote:
|
0:00 ...
Quote:
Or: How is it possible for a player to shoot a free throw with the clock reading 0:00? It's quite possible in the situation I stated. It's happened to me, more than once, in thirty-two years. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If a player yells "Timeout!" while saving an errant pass, do you still grant the timeout, even though you hit the whistle after he landed OOB? Of course you do. Same principle. It sounds like you're hung up on this and can't get past it. But believe us, every official who came before you is NOT wrong. You are. :) |
Quote:
|
Anybody ever see/call a foul after the horn committed against a player other that the shooter?
|
just another ref Anybody ever see/call a foul after the horn committed against a player other that the shooter?
Yup. Was working a game VG (2 man) earlier this year. End of regulation. Visitors make a free throw with 2 seconds left. To go up 2. Home team has already had their last time out, steps out of bounds scrambling to set a desperation play. Throws a half court pass to a healvily denied player at half moving away from Visitor goal. She catches and can barely maintain balance, no chance she's going to gather and heave in time. Home team defender bodies up and the home player goes down because of her lack of balance combined with the contact. Whistle blows, horn goes. We are in the penalty and home is shooting two with no time on the clock. Home kid makes both and sends it to OT. They lost in double in OT. SO not to hijack the OP, but if the foul is a DQ foul (5th, etc) can the coach get his/her 30 seconds before the free throw shooter takes shots? |
Quote:
Based on the description, it's unlikely I'd be bailing the home team out with a foul. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Technical fouls on coaches. Also had a T on a player after the horn sounded to end the game because he threw the ball at an opponent. Opponent made both free throws and sent it to OT. |
Quote:
|
Possibility?!
Couldn't a player take a last second shot 35 feet from the basket with .4 tenth of second remaining get fouled and miss the shot. He is entitled to the free throws although time has expires. IMO.
|
Had this last night. Game tied, A1 drives the lane, misses, A2 gets rebound goes up and gets hammered. Partner who is lead has a foul, almost at the same time as the horn going off. 00 on the clock, we clear the lane, makes first free throw. Game over.
I saw attempt, heard whistle, heard horn. No way of knowing how much time to put back on, if any. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24pm. |