The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Warning? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93481-warning.html)

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 12, 2013 04:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 871820)
That's what we're here for.:D

What if they make the First FT, thus no lane violation? Do you assess the technical foul after the second attempt? Or do you bounce the ball to the player, then whistle a violation. The FT shooter will shoot thier second FT with the lanes cleared, then 2 tech FTs and then ball at mid court?
Or what if they are in the lanes for the first after a timeout but then decide to huddle for the second outside the 3-point line?

just another ref Sat Jan 12, 2013 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 871827)
What if they make the First FT, thus no lane violation? Do you assess the technical foul after the second attempt? Or do you bounce the ball to the player, then whistle a violation. The FT shooter will shoot thier second FT with the lanes cleared, then 2 tech FTs and then ball at mid court?
Or what if they are in the lanes for the first after a timeout but then decide to huddle for the second outside the 3-point line?

If I understand it correctly, (it happens sometimes) the RPP covers only the first free throw after a timeout. Obviously, if this free throw is successful, no further attempt of that free throw is necessary. Any other time, including the second free throw of this sequence, two players are ordered to occupy the spots, and if they don't, you assess the T.

PG_Ref Sat Jan 12, 2013 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 871830)
If I understand it correctly, (it happens sometimes) the RPP covers only the first free throw after a timeout. Obviously, if this free throw is successful, no further attempt of that free throw is necessary. Any other time, including the second free throw of this sequence, two players are ordered to occupy the spots, and if they don't, you assess the T.

Almost correct ... If the first FT is successful, you repeat the procedure. If either FT is unsuccessful, the shooter gets a substitute throw and then "B" must occupy their lane spaces or be assessed a tech.


9.1.2 SITUATION A:

Following a time-out by Team B, A1 is given the ball for the first of two free throws even though Team B is still huddling at the bench and the first marked spaces on each side of the lane are not occupied. In this case, the lead official uses the resumption-of-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, whereas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration. A1's first attempt is successful. The lead official then bounces the ball to A1 for the second attempt. Team B is still at the sideline. The official again gives the signal which indicates a violation by Team B if the attempt is missed. A1 misses the second free-throw attempt.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not *occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw. (4-38; 8-1-2; 10-1-5b)

Sharpshooternes Sun Jan 13, 2013 02:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 871834)
Almost correct ... If the first FT is successful, you repeat the procedure. If either FT is unsuccessful, the shooter gets a substitute throw and then "B" must occupy their lane spaces or be assessed a tech.


9.1.2 SITUATION A:

Following a time-out by Team B, A1 is given the ball for the first of two free throws even though Team B is still huddling at the bench and the first marked spaces on each side of the lane are not occupied. In this case, the lead official uses the resumption-of-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, whereas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration. A1's first attempt is successful. The lead official then bounces the ball to A1 for the second attempt. Team B is still at the sideline. The official again gives the signal which indicates a violation by Team B if the attempt is missed. A1 misses the second free-throw attempt.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not *occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw. (4-38; 8-1-2; 10-1-5b)

We are referring to if there is only to be one FT after a timeout and they don't have the low 2 blocks filled. If it is made, away we go. If it is missed they get a substitute and are ordered to fill the spaces. If they don't it is a T.

Again, I ask, how do you administer this? On the substitute or second FT, do you bounce the ball to the thrower and then immediatly whistle it dead? Thower shoots thier FT with the lane cleared and then 2 more by any player on the same team?

Camron Rust Sun Jan 13, 2013 03:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 871911)
We are referring to if there is only to be one FT after a timeout and they don't have the low 2 blocks filled. If it is made, away we go. If it is missed they get a substitute and are ordered to fill the spaces. If they don't it is a T.

Again, I ask, how do you administer this? On the substitute or second FT, do you bounce the ball to the thrower and then immediatly whistle it dead? Thower shoots thier FT with the lane cleared and then 2 more by any player on the same team?

No. When you are ready to administer the replacement shot and the defense is NOT occupying the spot, it is a T right then. No need to bounce it to the shooter.

(Edited to add the missing NOT)

Sharpshooternes Sun Jan 13, 2013 07:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 871922)
No. When you are ready to administer the replacement shot and the defense is occupying the spot, it is a T right then. No need to bounce it to the shooter.

You meant NOT occupying the spot, right?

DKremer Sun Jan 13, 2013 10:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PG_Ref (Post 871834)
Almost correct ... If the first FT is successful, you repeat the procedure. If either FT is unsuccessful, the shooter gets a substitute throw and then "B" must occupy their lane spaces or be assessed a tech.


9.1.2 SITUATION A:

Following a time-out by Team B, A1 is given the ball for the first of two free throws even though Team B is still huddling at the bench and the first marked spaces on each side of the lane are not occupied. In this case, the lead official uses the resumption-of-play procedure even though the first spaces are not occupied, whereas in other cases, the spaces would have to be properly occupied before the official would proceed with the free throw administration. A1's first attempt is successful. The lead official then bounces the ball to A1 for the second attempt. Team B is still at the sideline. The official again gives the signal which indicates a violation by Team B if the attempt is missed. A1 misses the second free-throw attempt.

RULING: The violation will result in A1 being given a substitute attempt. Team B will be assessed a technical foul if they delay further by not *occupying the first marked spaces on each side of the lane before the ball becomes live for the substitute throw. (4-38; 8-1-2; 10-1-5b)

Seems like the real penalty "should" be an intentional miss by the shooter followed by rebound & layup for 2 points instead of one while Team B is discussing dinner plans or foreign policy. I suspect that's why you might see a coach try not having players on the low block spaces for a first of 2 but not for a 2nd of 2.

Camron Rust Sun Jan 13, 2013 02:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 871925)
You meant NOT occupying the spot, right?

Yep


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1