The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Illegal dribble or not..?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93419-illegal-dribble-not.html)

rpirtle Sun Jan 06, 2013 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 870378)
I'm wondering about the reasoning for those claiming it's illegal.

It is the fact that the ball is laying on the ground part (essentially "coming to rest") that I'm having trouble with. Also, an important part of the definition of a dribble is missing which includes" ball movement".

rpirtle Sun Jan 06, 2013 03:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 870380)
Better to know what you would or wouldn't call, I suppose, but this one is also in the "if this ever really happens, let us know" category.

This scenario was supposedly witnessed by the official that posted it. The officials allowed it.

rpirtle Sun Jan 06, 2013 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 870417)
Did you look in the rule book to determine when the dribble ends?

Yes, I did. Thank you for the information. ;-)

just another ref Sun Jan 06, 2013 03:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rpirtle (Post 870435)
This scenario was supposedly witnessed by the official that posted it. The officials allowed it.

I had read this before as a hypothetical. I thought that was what we were dealing with here.

One thing which has not been mentioned: If the ball is truly resting on the floor, it is not that easy to start/resume a dribble by slapping it. A natural next step in the attempt to do so would be the use of a fist, which we all know is not allowed.

chicodork Sun Jan 06, 2013 04:09pm

A1 is dribbling, and B1 slaps it away, and A1 runs over and secures it with two hands. Can A1 still dribble?

BktBallRef Sun Jan 06, 2013 04:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rpirtle (Post 870438)
Yes, I did. Thank you for the information. ;-)

Then you should have your answer. The dribble did not end.

Quote:

Originally Posted by chicodork (Post 870453)
A1 is dribbling, and B1 slaps it away, and A1 runs over and secures it with two hands. Can A1 still dribble?

Did you look in the rule book to determine when the dribble ends?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1