![]() |
Illegal dribble or not..??
This question is getting different responses on another discussion board I frequent. I wanted to run this play by you guys to see what you think.
Player A1 while dribbling loses the dribble and the ball comes to a complete stop on the floor. Then player A1...with a open palm...hits the ball and makes it bounce off the floor and continues to dribble. Ruling: double dribble or not? |
Define "loses the dribble." How did he/she lose it?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Legal. None of the actions that end the dribble have occured and no other player has touched the ball. They may resume the dribble if they desire.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Better to know what you would or wouldn't call, I suppose, but this one is also in the "if this ever really happens, let us know" category.
|
Quote:
|
For Clarification Purposes ...
Quote:
a. The dribbler catches or causes the ball to come to rest in one or both hands. b. The dribbler palms/carries the ball by allowing it to come to rest in one or both hands. c. The dribbler simultaneously touches the ball with both hands. d. The ball touches or is touched by an opponent and causes the dribbler to lose control. e. The ball becomes dead. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
One thing which has not been mentioned: If the ball is truly resting on the floor, it is not that easy to start/resume a dribble by slapping it. A natural next step in the attempt to do so would be the use of a fist, which we all know is not allowed. |
A1 is dribbling, and B1 slaps it away, and A1 runs over and secures it with two hands. Can A1 still dribble?
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40pm. |