jeremy341a |
Thu Jan 03, 2013 01:03am |
perhaps just more poor wording
Pg 1. Of the NFHS preseason guide talks about team-control rule change refined and underneath is list a few plays. Play #2 says A1 has the ball for a throw-in at the division line. A2, who is standing in the frontcourt, tips the ball to the backcourt. A3 retrieves the ball in the backcourt before anyone else touches it.
Ruling #2 Legal play. There is no backcourt violation since player control had not yet been established in Team A's frontcourt.
I think we all agree this is legal but it seems strange to mee that they use the phrase no player control in Team A's frontcourt. They did not say not player control inbounds. This seems to be more in alignment with the rulebook which says must have player control in the frontcourt. Probably just poor wording again but i found it interesting.
|