The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA official ruling question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93271-ncaa-official-ruling-question.html)

Metjets69 Mon Dec 17, 2012 09:14pm

NCAA official ruling question
 
Happened in a game tonight. Was curious on what happens in the situation. Player on offense is dribbling, gets hard reach in foul on defense. Words exchange, offensive player throws ball at defensive player and gets a technical. The official call was a defensive foul with a technical on the offense. What occurs in that situation in regards to foul shoots? (NCAA rules btw)

Lotto Mon Dec 17, 2012 09:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Metjets69 (Post 867372)
Happened in a game tonight. Was curious on what happens in the situation. Player on offense is dribbling, gets hard reach in foul on defense. Words exchange, offensive player throws ball at defensive player and gets a technical. The official call was a defensive foul with a technical on the offense. What occurs in that situation in regards to foul shoots? (NCAA rules btw)

2 FT for the T first, then resume at POI with either out of bounds or FTs for the "defensive foul."

Metjets69 Mon Dec 17, 2012 10:47pm

Refs gave offensive team 2 shots and the ball as well, which didn't seem correct at the time.

JRutledge Mon Dec 17, 2012 11:31pm

Here is a possibility.

Dead ball contact in NCAAM is two shots and the ball at the division line. Is it possible that they called a T for dead ball contact and not a regular technical foul? I am only asking because if they did consider it that way then they got it right. Otherwise, all Ts would be POI administration.

Peace

twocentsworth Tue Dec 18, 2012 02:12pm

imho, this is a "Deadball Contact Technical Foul". Assess the common foul (bonus FT's may need to be shot, if so, you shoot with the FT lane cleared). Then assess the Deadball Contact Technical foul - 2 FT's AND ball awarded to the offended team at the division line opposite the scorer's table.

Because the penaly for this type of T includes possession of the ball, the penalties MUST be assessed in the order in which they occurred.

Adam Tue Dec 18, 2012 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 867389)
Here is a possibility.

Dead ball contact in NCAAM is two shots and the ball at the division line. Is it possible that they called a T for dead ball contact and not a regular technical foul? I am only asking because if they did consider it that way then they got it right. Otherwise, all Ts would be POI administration.

Peace

As written, though, they gave the ball to the wrong team.

I think. :confused:

Raymond Tue Dec 18, 2012 03:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 867553)
As written, though, they gave the ball to the wrong team.

I think. :confused:

As written he said the offensive player committed a technical foul and that the offensive team shot the free throws and that the offensive team received the ball afterwards.

So something was not written correctly, me thinks.

JRutledge Tue Dec 18, 2012 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 867560)

So something was not written correctly, me thinks.

Yep.

Peace

Lotto Wed Dec 19, 2012 05:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 867389)
Here is a possibility.

Dead ball contact in NCAAM is two shots and the ball at the division line. Is it possible that they called a T for dead ball contact and not a regular technical foul? I am only asking because if they did consider it that way then they got it right. Otherwise, all Ts would be POI administration.

Peace

I don't see how throwing the ball at another player could be considered a contact dead ball technical. This would be a class A technical (NCAAM) or a player/substitute technical (NCAAW).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1