![]() |
Trailblazers v. Bobcats: Block/Charge
<iframe width="853" height="480" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/IsduxTtYfsU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>
For the level you work: Block or charge? Incidental/marginal contact? Does the RA apply? If it does, does the contact on the play warrant a foul? |
NFHS, no RA. If I called anything, it would have been a block. In my opinion, the defense turns his torso to the side. If he stays still it is a charge. He was almost trying to avoid it, and didn't get all the way sideways.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Stand in there and take it? Ouch! Easier said than done. |
NFHS
It's either a charge or nothing. Defender is there waiting in plenty of time, but steps away from the contact. I lean toward no call. |
No call. Contact is marginal and has no effect on the play.
|
Quote:
|
In NCAA-M, that's a blocking foul...secondary defender on and/or in RA. Pretty easy call.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
4-23-3 says: After the initial legal guarding position is obtained: a. The guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status. b. The guard is not required to continue facing the opponent. c. The guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, *provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. d. The guard may raise hands or jump within his/her own vertical plane. e. The guard may turn or duck to absorb the shock of imminent contact. Peace |
Christmas Is Coming, Charge It ...
NFHS: Charge. (As an official I wouldn't have a problem with a no call. As one of the coaches in the gymnasium, I definitely would have a problem with a no call.)
|
Could the RA not apply under NCAA rules because this after an offensive rebound where the dribbler made an immediate move to the basket?
|
Quote:
Peace |
I personally think this is a good no call at all levels. Defender is legal under NFHS rules, but bails out and makes what would have been illegal contact into marginal contact. NBA, this is a good no call IMO as well...RA applies since the play originated outside the lower defensive box, but even though the defender had his heels in the RA, the contact is marginal and doesn't warrant a foul.
|
Quote:
Would any of you be more likely to rule this a charge if it 10 feet further from the basket and a floater lay up instead of a dunk? |
Marginal contact because he dunked it? Aldridge turned and was still knocked to the floor. NBA, with heels on the RA line - block.
In NFHS, it's a train wreck: PC. Go Blazers!! |
Quote:
|
PC or nothing are the only to options...I got nothing as the defender got out of the way instead of being knocked out of the way.
|
Team B can move to absorb the contact. For that reason, I would never have a block on this play.
The only two options are a PC or a no call. My call would be a strong lean towards a no call. Contact had little to do with the play. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11pm. |