![]() |
non-shooters on free throw
Have had two partners (Varsity officials) recently move non-shooters on a free throw who are standing outside the 3 pt arc and just above the free throw line extended to a position above the top of the key. Did I miss a rule change?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
8-1-5 is still the same. |
Ask them to show you the rule reference. If you're not comfortable with them, blame a skeptical "friend."
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
When someone in a game tells you something that seems suspect, I would check the rule book as soon as possible after the game.
|
Quote:
I've had officials constantly push them behind half court as well... |
Quote:
Above the FT line extended and beyond the 3-point line. |
Quote:
|
Why
One practical way to think about it:
Free throws with the lane vacated seems to be a time used by coaches to gather his players in front of the bench for a quick meeting. Nothing at all wrong with that. But that's a right both coaches deserve. Those who require all players to move beyond the division line deprive one of the coaches of this opportunity. And if it's the first half and the intentional foul involved one of his players, I want to give him the opportunity to speak to him in this brief stoppage in play. Make sense? |
There is no rule which says that they must be behind the half court line, it is something we do. Just seems to settle every thing down, with the non administrating official watching these players to make sure nothing goes on.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
For some, you could violate the rule and not be in the field of vision. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
This happened last night. I gave a kid a T in the first half and stayed right in front of the coach. He had already asked me what the kid did and I told him. He was talking to his players in front of his bench too. They were fine so I didn't have to move them. From what you posted is it correct to say you do two-man? |
I do both. The only classes in OK that re 3-man are 5A and 6A. Sure, if the coach wants to talk to him, by all means we stay and talk. This is not a set in stone mechanic. Just something we do here.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Calling official stays and talks to coach during the free throws, and goes cross court for the inbound. |
Hey Chris Whitten ...
... have your partners call the Mythbusters:
Players, other than the shooter, and the players in the designated lane spaces, are to remain behind the free throw line extended and behind the three point arc, and may not penetrate the free throw line extended and the three point arc until the ball hits rim or backboard. During a free throw, no opponent, including bench personnel, may disconcert the free thrower. For free throws when there are no rebounders in the marked lane spaces, i.e. technical fouls and intentional fouls, the nine nonshooters shall remain behind the free throw line extended and behind the three point arc. http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6230/6...473e048e_m.jpg |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39pm. |