The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 26, 2012, 12:44pm
NFHS Official
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,734
4-15-2

During a dribble the ball may be batted into the air provided it is permitted to strike the floor before the ball is touched again with the hand(s).

Case Book
4-15-4
While dribbling (a) A1 bats the ball over the head of an opponent, runs around the opponent, bats the ball to the floor and continues to dribble; (b) the ball bounces away but A1 is able to get to it and continues to dribble; (c) the ball hits A1's foot and bounces away but A1 is able to overtake and pick it up; or (d) A1 fumbles the ball in ending the dribble so that A1 must run to recover it.



Ruling: Violation in (a), because the ball was touched twice by A1's hand(s) during a dribble, before it touched the floor. In (b), even though the dribble was inerruped it has not ended and A1 may continue the dribble. In (c), the dribble ended when A1 caught the ball; and it ended in (d) when it was fumbled. Even thuogh the dribble has ended in (c) and (d), A1 may recover the ball not dribble again. (9-5)

Last edited by OKREF; Mon Nov 26, 2012 at 12:53pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1