The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block/Charge End of Quarter (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93013-block-charge-end-quarter.html)

APG Sun Nov 25, 2012 02:00pm

Block/Charge End of Quarter
 
Block or charge or no call...how would you handle at whatever various levels you work (including if you're able to use replay)?

<iframe width="640" height="480" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/35Uq-sSIeyY" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 02:23pm

Close, he seems to move to his right after the shooter left the floor, but hard to tell at full speed. Probably call a charge. We don't use replay. Doesn't matter if the foul occurred after the horn in this case as you are still a shooter until you until you hit the floor, and any foul would count as long as the shot was released prior to the horn.

maven Sun Nov 25, 2012 02:27pm

NFHS:

I like a PC foul on the airborne shooter. The defender had LGP and had his spot (despite a little wiggle visible in super slo-mo) before the shooter went airborne.

The foul occurred before the horn, but by less than a second. At my level, we're not putting that little time back on the clock (and some clocks don't register tenths anyway). End of period.

Pantherdreams Sun Nov 25, 2012 04:57pm

Defensive player is repositioning body and feet laterally once the player is airborne. If I feel like contact happened before the clock expired and we've been calling everything on shooters/defenders all night. Then blocking on the defense.

My gut as a stand along play says its the end of quarter, the shot is off and airborne way before contact happens, so offense is not disadvantaged at all and contact isn't impacting play. No Call.

JugglingReferee Sun Nov 25, 2012 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by maven (Post 863346)
NFHS:

I like a PC foul on the airborne shooter. The defender had LGP and had his spot (despite a little wiggle visible in super slo-mo) before the shooter went airborne.

The foul occurred before the horn, but by less than a second. At my level, we're not putting that little time back on the clock (and some clocks don't register tenths anyway). End of period.

Ditto.

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 05:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863349)
Defensive player is repositioning body and feet laterally once the player is airborne. If I feel like contact happened before the clock expired and we've been calling everything on shooters/defenders all night. Then blocking on the defense.

My gut as a stand along play says its the end of quarter, the shot is off and airborne way before contact happens, so offense is not disadvantaged at all and contact isn't impacting play. No Call.

I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

Rooster Sun Nov 25, 2012 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 863355)
I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

+1

While this might not qualify as a train wreck, we've got two bodies on the floor. In my association (the HS level) we're told there has to be a whistle on this.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863349)
Defensive player is repositioning body and feet laterally once the player is airborne.

But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Pantherdreams Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:28pm

But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Says that the defensive player must occupy the position on the floor before the offensive player leaves the floor. If they move to occupy a space once the player is in the air they are responsible for illegal contact. I only picked it up on the slow mo though.

I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

So you are not considering time as a determining factor here. There will no rebound, there will be no chance to inbound/outlet the ball. The shot cannot be effected and nothing else can occur during the time period. I understand protecting the shooter but in this situation calling something doesn't impact the result of the play or the next play. Advantage/ disadvantage?

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 863360)
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

10.6.1 SITUATION C:

B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1.

RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is *awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 4-19-6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863361)
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Says that the defensive player must occupy the position on the floor before the offensive player leaves the floor. If they move to occupy a space once the player is in the air they are responsible for illegal contact. I only picked it up on the slow mo though.

I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

So you are not considering time as a determining factor here. There will no rebound, there will be no chance to inbound/outlet the ball. The shot cannot be effected and nothing else can occur during the time period. I understand protecting the shooter but in this situation calling something doesn't impact the result of the play or the next play. Advantage/ disadvantage?

Time doesn't matter. He is a shooter until he comes back to the floor. The shot was prior to the end of the period. If he is fouled by the defense in the same situation, you would shoot the free throws.

Sharpshooternes Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 863363)
Time doesn't matter. He is a shooter until he comes back to the floor. The shot was prior to the end of the period. If he is fouled by the defense in the same situation, you would shoot the free throws.

Can someone remind me the procedure for what to do if there is a foul on a shooter at the buzzer? With references would be appreciated so I can read up a little.

bob jenkins Sun Nov 25, 2012 07:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 863367)
Can someone remind me the procedure for what to do if there is a foul on a shooter at the buzzer? With references would be appreciated so I can read up a little.

Shoot the FTs with no one on the line. Teams must remain at their bench areas until the half ends (when the second FT ends).

Camron Rust Sun Nov 25, 2012 08:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863361)
But what is the rule? Does it say anything about such things?

Says that the defensive player must occupy the position on the floor before the offensive player leaves the floor. If they move to occupy a space once the player is in the air they are responsible for illegal contact. I only picked it up on the slow mo though.

Are you sure about that? Is that really what the rule says?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863361)
I disagree. It isn't a no call. He is airborne and still a shooter until he returns to the floor. Have to make some call on that.

So you are not considering time as a determining factor here. There will no rebound, there will be no chance to inbound/outlet the ball. The shot cannot be effected and nothing else can occur during the time period. I understand protecting the shooter but in this situation calling something doesn't impact the result of the play or the next play. Advantage/ disadvantage?

Nope...it is not about the rebounding advantage. It is about the advantage the shooter gained by taking a path to the shot that is through the defender...even if it is after the release.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 25, 2012 08:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 863362)
10.6.1 SITUATION C:

B1 is standing behind the plane of the backboard before A1 jumps for a lay-up shot. The forward momentum causes airborne shooter A1 to charge into B1.

RULING: B1 is entitled to the position obtained legally before A1 left the floor. If the ball goes through the basket before or after the contact occurs, the player-control foul cancels the goal. However, if B1 moves into the path of A1 after A1 has left the floor, the foul is on B1. B1's foul on the airborne shooter is a foul during the act of shooting. If the shot is successful, one free throw is *awarded and if it is unsuccessful, two free throws result. (4-19-1, 4-19-6; 6-7-4; 10 Penalty 2, 5a)

Note the entire phrase..."into the path". Movement itself is not necessarily illegal, it is where the movement takes the player.

Adam Sun Nov 25, 2012 08:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 863377)
Note the entire phrase..."into the path". Movement itself is not necessarily illegal, it is where the movement takes the player.

Exactly. Movement within the path is allowable, IMO.

Pantherdreams Sun Nov 25, 2012 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 863375)
Are you sure about that? Is that really what the rule says?

"He has the right to land on another place on the playing court provided that the landing place and the direct path between the take-off and landing place is not already occupied by an opponent(s) at the time of take-off.
If a player has taken off and landed but his momentum causes him to contact an opponent who has taken a legal guarding position beyond the landing place, the jumper is responsible for the contact.
An opponent may not move into the path of a player after that player has jumped into the air."

As I read this he cannot move into a position (move into the path) of a player after the player has jumped in the air that the player could rightfully land in or pass through.


Nope...it is not about the rebounding advantage. It is about the advantage the shooter gained by taking a path to the shot that is through the defender...even if it is after the release.


He didn't take that path to the shot. He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact.

If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.

Adam Sun Nov 25, 2012 08:56pm

If the defender ends up on the floor, that's displacement worthy of a foul. He's blocked that path and the shooter is obligated to not run him over. The pending dead ball does not change that. If I let this go as a pattern, I'd be working remedial ball for two years.

OKREF Sun Nov 25, 2012 09:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863380)
He didn't take that path to the shot. He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact.

If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.


Yes I would, if he was still airborne. He is a shooter until he comes back to the floor. If the defense is there and has a LGP prior to the shooter going airborne, and the shooter plows him, I have PC.

When watching the slow motion, it really looks like the defensive player moved into the path of the shooter. However at full speed it looks like a PC. If the ref calls a block on that exact same play, we have 2 shots.

Sharpshooternes Sun Nov 25, 2012 09:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 863370)
Shoot the FTs with no one on the line. Teams must remain at their bench areas until the half ends (when the second FT ends).

How do you decide when time goes back on the clock and when it doesn't?

BktBallRef Sun Nov 25, 2012 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 863343)
Block or charge or no call...how would you handle at whatever various levels you work (including if you're able to use replay)?

Block. Defender moves laterally into the shooter's path after he leaves the floor. Without the lateral movement, there would be very little contact on the play.

If you're officiating the defender and not ballhawking on the shooter, it's not a difficult call.

APG Sun Nov 25, 2012 09:18pm

For those wondering, the officials in the clip went the replay to verify that 1.) the foul occurred before the expiration of time, or 2.) that if the foul occurred after the horn, that the ball was released before 0:00.00 on the clock. After review, they determined the foul occurred with .3 on the clock. As both teams had already gone to their locker rooms, they came back out after halftime, put .3 on the clock...inbounded to end the 2nd quarter, then started the 3rd quarter immediately.

Adam Sun Nov 25, 2012 09:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 863386)
How do you decide when time goes back on the clock and when it doesn't?

If someone on the crew sees time on the clock at or after the whistle, you put that on. If not, you don't.

JugglingReferee Sun Nov 25, 2012 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 863388)
For those wondering, the officials in the clip went the replay to verify that 1.) the foul occurred before the expiration of time, or 2.) that if the foul occurred after the horn, that the ball was released before 0:00.00 on the clock. After review, they determined the foul occurred with .3 on the clock. As both teams had already gone to their locker rooms, they came back out after halftime, put .3 on the clock...inbounded to end the 2nd quarter, then started the 3rd quarter immediately.

Common sense does exist at times.

Camron Rust Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863380)
He didn't take that path to the shot.

He was going to get hit whether he moved or not. He was hit square in the chest and had only move his torso a few inches...no where near enough make the difference in contact or none. It may be a tough call but don't bail the shooter out just because the defender shifts...the rules only require that the defender be in the path and he met that requirement. It's an easy out that too many officials take when the defender twitches or moves a bit but it isn't by rule.
Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863380)
He's release his shot and still is airborne but will not be disadvantaged by contact. If a shot was blocked into the 3rd throw and then the collision happened that was caused by the defense would you call that on on the defense? Its about the nature of the play. If their is contact at any point but doesn't gain/create advantage/disadvantage then we no call. Isn't that the nature of no call? The contact isn't helping/hurting either players ability to do anything.

It is about the fact that the shooter elected to take a path that was occupied in order to get a more desirable shot than the defense was allowing. The advantage gained was in the path taken to the shot that carried him through the shooter.

Nevadaref Sun Nov 25, 2012 11:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 863396)
Common sense does exist at times.

Common sense tells you to finish the 2nd quarter after halftime?
I don't like the way that the crew did this. Why did they allow the teams to leave before finishing their video review of the play?

canuckrefguy Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 863387)
Block. Defender moves laterally into the shooter's path after he leaves the floor. Without the lateral movement, there would be very little contact on the play.

If you're officiating the defender and not ballhawking on the shooter, it's not a difficult call.

+1 defender does a quick hop to his right

bob jenkins Mon Nov 26, 2012 08:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 863386)
How do you decide when time goes back on the clock and when it doesn't?

Without replay you need to decide whether it was "a foul so close to the end of the period that the clock couldn't be stopped" or "a timing error" (or whatever the specific rules wordings are). There used to be a "1 second lag time" rule in the books.

Pantherdreams Mon Nov 26, 2012 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 863398)
He was going to get hit whether he moved or not. He was hit square in the chest and had only move his torso a few inches...no where near enough make the difference in contact or none. It may be a tough call but don't bail the shooter out just because the defender shifts...the rules only require that the defender be in the path and he met that requirement. It's an easy out that too many officials take when the defender twitches or moves a bit but it isn't by rule.


It is about the fact that the shooter elected to take a path that was occupied in order to get a more desirable shot than the defense was allowing. The advantage gained was in the path taken to the shot that carried him through the shooter.

I'm not sure we are going to agree on this one. I feel like (based on what I'm seeing in slo mo) that the defender moved his feet once the player was airborne to get into his path - where he wasn't previous with his feet and chest. That being said at game speed it looked good by the defender.

I understand why the contact and occured and who you are saying is responsible. If the same actions took place but the defense was much larger then the offense and their was little to no displacement. Then you would most likely no call it in any siutation. Almost certainly at the end of the quarter. In this case there is significant displacment but the displacement doesn't gain an advantage or put at a disadvantage the way it normally would because of the clock situation. I'm not arguing to routinely make a pattern of no calling this, but that in isolation the clock situation creates no call as it has no immediate impact on the play.

OKREF Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pantherdreams (Post 863417)
I'm not sure we are going to agree on this one. I feel like (based on what I'm seeing in slo mo) that the defender moved his feet once the player was airborne to get into his path - where he wasn't previous with his feet and chest. That being said at game speed it looked good by the defender.

I agree. At super slow motion, you see the defense move slightly to his right, however at full speed I have no problem with how this played was called.

tomegun Mon Nov 26, 2012 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 863387)
Block. Defender moves laterally into the shooter's path after he leaves the floor. Without the lateral movement, there would be very little contact on the play.

If you're officiating the defender and not ballhawking on the shooter, it's not a difficult call.

+1
Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 863388)
For those wondering, the officials in the clip went the replay to verify that 1.) the foul occurred before the expiration of time, or 2.) that if the foul occurred after the horn, that the ball was released before 0:00.00 on the clock. After review, they determined the foul occurred with .3 on the clock. As both teams had already gone to their locker rooms, they came back out after halftime, put .3 on the clock...inbounded to end the 2nd quarter, then started the 3rd quarter immediately.

:mad:
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 863399)
Common sense tells you to finish the 2nd quarter after halftime?
I don't like the way that the crew did this. Why did they allow the teams to leave before finishing their video review of the play?

+1 They should have kept the players on the court. The Slot did a good job of getting in that position on this play. I think it is odd that the Lead is a statue.

REFVA Mon Nov 26, 2012 02:50pm

The defender had position. Was at the spot regardless of slight movement he had the position. Charge is the right call. or at least that is what I would call. The official was in a great position to make the call. He was able to see both bodies..


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1