![]() |
False multiple foul w/ T first
2012 IAABO Refresher question 73
A-1 is in the act of shooting when B-2 is assessed a technical foul. A-1 continues the motion and is fouled by B-1. The try is successful. The official awards A-1 one free throw followed by administering the technical foul and awarding team A the ball at the division line opposite the scorer’s table. Is the official correct? rules reference given 4-19-12, 8-6-2 Answer sheet is no. I believe that it is because we administer the fouls in the order that they occur. Shoot the T first then administer 1 shot for personal foul. How would we administer the personal foul shot? lane cleared so that we would have a division line throw-in? or have players occupy the lane spaces and play off the miss or make? JP |
Door #1
|
According to the person who wrote the exam and IAABO's lead interpreter, you line the players up and play off the make or miss. The penalties are administered in the order in which they occur. Since there was a foul after the technical foul, the possession portion of the penalty is lost.
|
Thanks. Hope I never see this play!
JP |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It is not logical that a team is spared part of the penalty for a foul by committing another foul.
|
Live Long And Prosper ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
What is there to fix? I haven't seen anything written which supports this particular interpretation. |
Quote:
|
What would you do if the op was changed so the second foul was a PC on A1?
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59pm. |