![]() |
False multiple foul w/ T first
2012 IAABO Refresher question 73
A-1 is in the act of shooting when B-2 is assessed a technical foul. A-1 continues the motion and is fouled by B-1. The try is successful. The official awards A-1 one free throw followed by administering the technical foul and awarding team A the ball at the division line opposite the scorer’s table. Is the official correct? rules reference given 4-19-12, 8-6-2 Answer sheet is no. I believe that it is because we administer the fouls in the order that they occur. Shoot the T first then administer 1 shot for personal foul. How would we administer the personal foul shot? lane cleared so that we would have a division line throw-in? or have players occupy the lane spaces and play off the miss or make? JP |
Door #1
|
According to the person who wrote the exam and IAABO's lead interpreter, you line the players up and play off the make or miss. The penalties are administered in the order in which they occur. Since there was a foul after the technical foul, the possession portion of the penalty is lost.
|
Thanks. Hope I never see this play!
JP |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
It is not logical that a team is spared part of the penalty for a foul by committing another foul.
|
Live Long And Prosper ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
What is there to fix? I haven't seen anything written which supports this particular interpretation. |
Quote:
|
What would you do if the op was changed so the second foul was a PC on A1?
|
Quote:
|
8-6-2: If there is a multiple throw and both a single personal and single technical foul are involved, the tries shall be attempted in the order in which the related fouls occurred, and IF (emphasis added) the last try is for a single technical foul... the ball shall be put in play by a throw-in.
Now, what would we do if the fouls were simultaneous? |
Quote:
This is also a False Multiple foul. I have simply put more lag between the two fouls in order to make it clearer what the proper admin is. Obviously, Team A loses the throw-in at the division line when the penalty for the foul by B2 is enforced. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
A didn't lose the throw-in. The ball was put in play. Nothing says the throw-in has to end any certain way. As to your other scenario, I refuse to consider the possibility of a personal foul during a technical free throw. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
And, since the definition of double fouls and multiple fouls and SIMULTANEOUS fouls include "at approximately the same time" can a T and a PF that occur during the same act of shooting (which in all but extreme cases is a failry short period of time), be considered "simultaneous?" |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:50am. |