The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Four on the floor (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/93000-four-floor.html)

Rooster Fri Nov 23, 2012 05:17pm

Four on the floor
 
Third year guy here: Some officials whom I respect and I were discussing a situation where there were four players on the court during a live ball and how the practical applications should go down. I would swear that I read somewhere that it's a T to only have four on the court, but I can't find it anywhere (hence this post).

My first year I had this happen. Boys freshman game: Following a time out and after making eye contact and not counting the players well enough, we put the ball in play. You know that feeling when people starting hootin' and hollerin' because something isn't right but you don't know what it is yet? :o After checking to see if my fly was open I finally figured it out and when the team with four got the ball and action stalled I blew it dead and asked the coach to send in the fifth player. Everyone kinda chuckled, I was embarrassed, and we moved on without any discussion or argument.

I have looked and looked and the best I can come up with is 3-1-1. I thought I saw it in the Official's Manual but whiffed when I went back to find it. Anyone know where I can find the rule on this one?

Thanks.

Adam Fri Nov 23, 2012 05:30pm

The T is for not having the players all return from a TO at approximately the same time. It's generally not called unless the last returning player gains an advantage by the play.

BillyMac Fri Nov 23, 2012 05:39pm

Casebook Play ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 863236)
The T is for not having the players all return from a TO at approximately the same time. It's generally not called unless the last returning player gains an advantage by the play.

10.1.9 SITUATION: Following a charged time-out Team B is still with their
coach on the sideline when the official sounds the whistle to indicate play will
resume. Four players of B return to the court just in time to play defense as A1
attempts an unsuccessful three-pointer. B1 rebounds and throws a long pass to
B5 who enters the court just in time to catch the pass. RULING: A technical foul
is immediately charged to Team B for failing to have all players return to the court
at approximately the same time following a time-out or intermission. While it is
true the entire team may be off the court while the procedure is being used, once
a team responds, all players must enter the court at approximately the same time.

What if B5 returns at a time when no obvious advantage is gained? He just walks onto the court and joins his four teammates, either during a live ball, or during dead ball, and is observed by an official walking onto the court. Citation please.

Rooster Fri Nov 23, 2012 05:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 863236)
It's generally not called unless the last returning player gains an advantage by the play.

That's kinda what were thinking but then added the proposition of the opposing coach (a) insisting on a T and (b) losing his stuffing because we didn't call a T.

On the other front is there any citation where this is explicitly stated, unrelated to following a time-out?

APG Fri Nov 23, 2012 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863238)
That's kinda what were thinking but then added the proposition of the opposing coach (a) insisting on a T and (b) losing his stuffing because we didn't call a T.

On the other front is there any citation where this is explicitly stated, unrelated to following a time-out?

There's no T for having less than 5 players on the court (save for what's already been brought up). Now if you were working an NBA game, then go ahead and T away for less than 5 on the court. ;)

Adam Fri Nov 23, 2012 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863238)
That's kinda what were thinking but then added the proposition of the opposing coach (a) insisting on a T and (b) losing his stuffing because we didn't call a T.

On the other front is there any citation where this is explicitly stated, unrelated to following a time-out?

Not that I recall. But nor is there any rule that tells you it's a T for playing with four.

As for the opposing coach, if he doesn't accept a quick explanation, and proceeds to be an a$$hat, go ahead and call a T. Just not the one he wanted.

Rooster Fri Nov 23, 2012 06:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 863239)
There's no T for having less than 5 players on the court (save for what's already been brought up). Now if you were working an NBA game, then go ahead and T away for less than 5 on the court. ;)

By "working an NBA game" you mean selling lemonade in the stands, right? I don't think I'd have that authority. :D

APG Fri Nov 23, 2012 06:08pm

[QUOTE=The Rooster;863242]
Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 863240)
Not that I recall. But nor is there any rule that tells you it's a T for playing with four.

Ach. Must've "learned" it in that dream I have where I officiate without pants on. Oh well, thanks for the effort.

Perhaps you saw it in an NBA game where it IS a T for having less than five players on the court..and perhaps that's where the coach was getting the idea from as well.

Adam Fri Nov 23, 2012 06:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863242)
Ach. Must've "learned" it in that dream I have where I officiate without pants on. Oh well, thanks for the effort.

:) No worries. For more of us than we'd like to admit, the first few years of officiating are filled with corrections for rules we knew that just aren't so.

And don't let coaches get you to second guess yourself during a game. Feel free to hit the book to double check something afterwards, but don't let the coach influence your calls.

And I just had that dream.

Rooster Fri Nov 23, 2012 06:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 863243)

Perhaps you saw it in an NBA game where it IS a T for having less than five players on the court..and perhaps that's where the coach was getting the idea from as well.

Sounds about right. I make an effort to avoid cross-contamination but doesn't look like the effort is study enough yet.

grunewar Fri Nov 23, 2012 06:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 863240)
As for the opposing coach, if he doesn't accept a quick explanation, and proceeds to be an a$$hat, go ahead and call a T. Just not the one he wanted.

His head would probably explode and he would absolutely go ballistic. Nice!

Freddy Fri Nov 23, 2012 08:11pm

Ot
 
Rooster: become a more regular contributor here 'cuz I like how you talk. There's something fresh and constructively cocky about the phraseology of your posts. :cool:

Nevadaref Fri Nov 23, 2012 09:03pm

There is a caseplay which says that it is a T following a time-out or intermission, but not following an extended substitution process in which there was confusion.

Rooster Sat Nov 24, 2012 06:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 863251)
Rooster: become a more regular contributor here 'cuz I like how you talk. There's something fresh and constructively cocky about the phraseology of your posts. :cool:

OK, but be careful what you wish for... :)

26 Year Gap Sat Nov 24, 2012 07:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863282)
OK, but be careful what you wish for... :)

Roosters aren't the same thing as eagles.

Freddy Sat Nov 24, 2012 07:38pm

Where Is He Now Anyway?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 863286)
Roosters aren't the same thing as eagles.

Good point. Rooster, you are a "floor official", aren't you? :D

Rooster Sun Nov 25, 2012 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy (Post 863287)
Good point. Rooster, you are a "floor official", aren't you? :D

I am indeed, although some coaches might disagree. :D

On the other hand, I DID graduate from a CHS, just not in that part of the country. We were the Cowboys... (It always cracked me up when our girls' teams played. They were the Lady Cowboys. Wait, whut?)

Sharpshooternes Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863305)
I am indeed, although some coaches might disagree. :D

On the other hand, I DID graduate from a CHS, just not in that part of the country. We were the Cowboys... (It always cracked me up when our girls' teams played. They were the Lady Cowboys. Wait, whut?)

Much better than the "Dude Cowgirls." That would be a site. :D

BillyMac Mon Nov 26, 2012 12:52pm

There Is Nothing You Can Name That Is Anything Like A Dame ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863305)
The Lady Cowboys. Wait, what?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 863431)
Much better than the "Dude Cowgirls."

My local high school mascot is the Blue Knights. Girls teams are called the Lady Blue Knights. Why can't the girls teams also be called the Blue Knights? Females can be knights, right? How about Joan of Arc? Wasn't she a knight? How about the Blue Dames? Isn't a dame the female version of a knight in Great Britain?

MD Longhorn Mon Nov 26, 2012 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863238)
That's kinda what were thinking but then added the proposition of the opposing coach (a) insisting on a T and (b) losing his stuffing because we didn't call a T.

On the other front is there any citation where this is explicitly stated, unrelated to following a time-out?

Let him lose his stuffing - playing with 4 is not illegal.

BillyMac Mon Nov 26, 2012 01:16pm

Five Speed Automatic Transmission With Overdrive ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 863435)
Playing with 4 is not illegal.

Sure? Can a team play with only four when five are available? I know a team that has only five available players due to disqualifications, injuries, blood, etc., can "bypass" the "rule" about having to "sit a tick" in order to have five players on the court. I would like to see this discussed in further detail.

Rooster Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:42pm

Sand in the gears...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 863435)
Let him lose his stuffing - playing with 4 is not illegal.

Maybe not illegal, but is it permissible? I offer the following below only as cud.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 863437)
Sure? Can a team play with only four when five are available? I know a team that has only five available players due to disqualifications, injuries, blood, etc., can "bypass" the "rule" about having to "sit a tick" in order to have five players on the court. I would like to see this discussed in further detail.



3.1.1 SITUATION:
After six players have been disqualified, Team A has only four who are eligible to continue in the game as players. In a gesture of fair play, the coach of Team B indicates a desire to withdraw a player so that each team will have four players on the court.
RULING: This is not permissible. Team B must have five players participating as long as it has that number available. If no substitute is available, a team must continue with fewer than five players. When only one player remains to participate, that team shall forfeit the game unless the referee believes this team still has an opportunity to win the game.

APG Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:47pm

One situation has a coach trying to purposefully play with less than 5 players. One situation has a team inadvertently playing with less than 5 players.

Nevadaref Mon Nov 26, 2012 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Rooster (Post 863492)
Maybe not illegal, but is it permissible?

Can you put this to rest now?

10.3.2 SITUATION B:
After a lengthy substitution process involving multiple
substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains
there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even
though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into
A’s frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The
coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches
up with the play.
RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5’s return to
the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage

on the court.

Rooster Mon Nov 26, 2012 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 863437)
...I would like to see this discussed in further detail.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 863495)
Can you put this to rest now?



Consider it in the barn.

My 3.1.1 reference was more a response to BillyMac's request to discuss in further detail. I had no intention to be a bother to anyone.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1