The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   backcourt or play on? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/92774-backcourt-play.html)

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 30, 2012 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 860577)
All nice Mark, but the rule says it is only a violation of A was the last to touch the ball BEFORE it gains backcourt status. As an engineer, you should now that BEFORE is not equal to simultaneous. (i.e., < is not the same as = or <= ). Also, the rule doesn't depend on causing the ball to gain BC status.

In both of your plays who was the last to touch the ball before it gained backcourt status? B. No violation.


If your interpretation were right, a defender would only need to be in the frontcount and touch the ball in mid dribble if a dribbler were near the division line to give the ball FC status. If the dibble were continued, it would fit your interpretation and be a violation. Do you really think it should be an offensive violation for letting the defense merely touch the ball? Think about that...it doesn't make any sense. Why would it be any different if the time/distance between the touches were a bit larger?


Camron:

Its not my intepretation. It was the interpretation that was given to me at least 35 years ago. That said, I am, more or less, neutral in this debate; even though I feel very comfortable making the call using the interpretation I was given at least 35 years ago. Sadly, I never asked for a reason, i.e., rule basis for this interpretation so I can only surmise what it might have been. That said, I just got home from a courier run and have to get ready for a WCBOA rules/mechanics meeting tonight; Daryl "The Preacher" H. Long, Junior, and I are having dinner before the meeting (the dinner is a tax deduction, :D). And I am preparing a letter regarding a RULING in a new CB Play in the 2012-13 NFHS Casebook which is absolutely flat out wrong and cannot be defended by rule which will take come before this debate. But I do have something to add later to this debate.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Oct 30, 2012 08:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by APG (Post 860299)


Okay. I had forgot about this thread but it lays out my position and I will not disavow it. In fact, that is my story and I am sticking with it. Thank you APG for finding it for me. It means I do not have to type it out all over again.

MTD, Sr.

bainsey Mon Nov 26, 2012 02:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mdray (Post 860291)
A1, while dribbling in his/her frontcourt, has the ball tipped toward the backcourt by B1. A2, standing in the backcourt, catches the tipped ball before it contacts the playing court. Play on, correct? (rule is the same for both FED & NCAA, although each rulebook articulates a bit differently)

I'm not big on raising old threads from the dead, but...

Guess what question showed up on our closed-book rule exam last night!

I actually smiled when I saw it, because I thought of this thread, but it was the only question that caused confusion. Our interp had to advise us to "answer the question as it is."

I foresee an interesting discussion when the test gets handed back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1